Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,619 Members 52,350 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Tab 8.4 pro new firmware update ND3 to NE3

Tip us?
 
nkolsen
Old
#31  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 64
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Odense
Quote:
Originally Posted by tangcla View Post
Installed and all seems to be going well! CF-Root worked.
Ok, I might try it out then [emoji4]
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ ___________________

Android Phones:
SE X10i, LG OPTIMUS 2X, SAMSUNG Galaxy S2, SAMSUNG Galaxy S3, SAMSUNG Galaxy S4.

Android Tablets:
Asus Transformer TF101, Samsung Galaxy Tab PRO 8.4.
 
tangcla
Old
#32  
tangcla's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 191
Posts: 1,565
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkolsen View Post
Ok, I might try it out then [emoji4]
In addition - NG firmware seems to have removed the lag when I unlock the tablet and it gets stuck in that magazine UX page.
 
cj1171
Old
#33  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 101
Join Date: Jun 2008
So I'm a bit confused here.
Experienced with Android but not Samsung devices...and we're throwing around a lot of different firmware names here.
I'm running ND3 on my wifi 8.4. Looking at that linked firmware site, I see the NG2 firmware but two regions. And these regions both differ from the one that ND3 is listed under. Am I going to screw up my device or is it just firmware released in a different country/default language and I just have to change that at first run?

Thanks!
 
nkolsen
Old
#34  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 64
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Odense
Quote:
Originally Posted by cj1171 View Post
So I'm a bit confused here.
Experienced with Android but not Samsung devices...and we're throwing around a lot of different firmware names here.
I'm running ND3 on my wifi 8.4. Looking at that linked firmware site, I see the NG2 firmware but two regions. And these regions both differ from the one that ND3 is listed under. Am I going to screw up my device or is it just firmware released in a different country/default language and I just have to change that at first run?

Thanks!
Well they all are wifi only models, so I really can't see what you can mess up.
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ ___________________

Android Phones:
SE X10i, LG OPTIMUS 2X, SAMSUNG Galaxy S2, SAMSUNG Galaxy S3, SAMSUNG Galaxy S4.

Android Tablets:
Asus Transformer TF101, Samsung Galaxy Tab PRO 8.4.
 
locutusx
Old
#35  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 41
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkolsen View Post
Well they all are wifi only models, so I really can't see what you can mess up.
i thought that the google play store is "locked" to the country of the firmware?

so if you put a Singapore firmware on, you get .sg's play store, which may be missing apps that are in the USA play store, etc.
 
tangcla
Old
#36  
tangcla's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 191
Posts: 1,565
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by locutusx View Post
i thought that the google play store is "locked" to the country of the firmware?

so if you put a Singapore firmware on, you get .sg's play store, which may be missing apps that are in the USA play store, etc.
I believe - and I could be wrong - the Play Store region is based on your Google account.
 
milkk
Old
#37  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 189
Join Date: Sep 2012
What does the Open Line mean on the new Philippines (Open Line) firmware?
--------------------------------------------------------------
Google Nexus 7 32GB
[ROM] [4.4.4] [GROUPER] Mahdi-Rom 2.7
[Kernel] [4.4] M-Kernel - a69 [WiFi/3G]
--------------------------------------------------------------
Asus Infinity TF700 32GB
[ROM] Stock
[Kernel]10.6.1.14.10-that10-oc
--------------------------------------------------------------
Samsung Galaxy Tab Pro 8.4
[ROM] Stock Rooted
[Kernel] Stock
--------------------------------------------------------------
 
tangcla
Old
#38  
tangcla's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 191
Posts: 1,565
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by milkk View Post
What does the Open Line mean on the new Philippines (Open Line) firmware?
I think it's a telco in Philippines.
 
notalent-assclowns
Old
(Last edited by notalent-assclowns; Yesterday at 03:33 AM.)
#39  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 13
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkolsen View Post
Well they all are wifi only models, so I really can't see what you can mess up.
Except for the LTE model (SM-T325) of course.

Edit: Sorry, I'm an idiot and didn't realize the link only had the firmware for the wifi version.
 
milkk
Old
#40  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 189
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by tangcla View Post
I think it's a telco in Philippines.
Ah ok. As I was searching I also found this article (link below) and tons of Philippines openline (open line) videos/posts etc so it seems a lot of mobile stuff in Philippines are locked. Not sure why a wifi tab would be locked in the first place that it would need to be open lined.

http://www.ehow.com/how_6076987_open...ell-phone.html
--------------------------------------------------------------
Google Nexus 7 32GB
[ROM] [4.4.4] [GROUPER] Mahdi-Rom 2.7
[Kernel] [4.4] M-Kernel - a69 [WiFi/3G]
--------------------------------------------------------------
Asus Infinity TF700 32GB
[ROM] Stock
[Kernel]10.6.1.14.10-that10-oc
--------------------------------------------------------------
Samsung Galaxy Tab Pro 8.4
[ROM] Stock Rooted
[Kernel] Stock
--------------------------------------------------------------

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...