Android 5.0 Favorite Features, Release November 3rd? – XDA TV

Google Confirms Android 5.0 Lollipop for November 3rd! That and much more … more

Prepare Your Build Machines: Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn Now Official

Today is an important day for any and all Linux enthusiasts. One of the … more

Track the Time You Waste on Social Media with Socials Addict

When you use your phone, you often don’t even realize how much time you … more

Document the Story of Your Social Life with 8tory

The different forms of social media are growing every day. It’s hard to imagine a day … more
Post Reply

I need confirmation, please.

OP B767

3rd May 2014, 05:02 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Hi to all. Thanks for this community, my problem is: I have Samsung Galaxy S5 Verizon SM-G900V but I use it for different carrier and I have a problem notification message Phone activation: This SIM card is from an unknown source. Can anybody confirm is it just my phone have a problem or any Verizon phone with different carriers. Thank you.
3rd May 2014, 05:17 AM   |  #2  
Account currently disabled
Flag Broken Arrow
Thanks Meter: 288
 
250 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Donate to Me
More
Verizon is a world phone. Your sim card is from another gsm carrier. It's just warning you that the sim card doesn't belong to verizon. GSM will work just fine. All verizon LTE phones are unlocked

Follow Me @Bash_array
3rd May 2014, 05:36 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by das7982

Verizon is a world phone. Your sim card is from another gsm carrier. It's just warning you that the sim card doesn't belong to verizon. GSM will work just fine. All verizon LTE phones are unlocked

Follow Me @Bash_array

Yes it's working fine but i have small problems. I cant send IMEI code it says Connection problem or invalid MMI code. I can turn on native hotspot (I know provider is allowed me tethering) it says Mobile number not found. I really want to hear from people with same model and different carrier if they have same problem. Because if not I can still change my phone. Thank you.
3rd May 2014, 05:42 AM   |  #4  
ks3rv3rg's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 587
 
824 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by B767

Yes it's working fine but i have small problems. I cant send IMEI code it says Connection problem or invalid MMI code. I can turn on native hotspot (I know provider is allowed me tethering) it says Mobile number not found. I really want to hear from people with same model and different carrier if they have same problem. Because if not I can still change my phone. Thank you.

If I were you I'd change my phone. The Verizon variant is probably the least ideal for your situation. Go with t-mobile or possibly even international version. That way you can actually root it and you may even avoid these issues as Verizon phone is pretty specific to Verizon, world phone or not.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
3rd May 2014, 05:48 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by ks3rv3rg

If I were you I'd change my phone. The Verizon variant is probably the least ideal for your situation. Go with t-mobile or possibly even international version. That way you can actually root it and you may even avoid these issues as Verizon phone is pretty specific to Verizon, world phone or not.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

I am looking forward because sometimes I travel to Ukraine and they don't have good internet on GSM even 3G just 2G. On CDMA version I can have better dial cell number and better internet.
3rd May 2014, 06:42 AM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lodaserves

Yeah for real The Verizon variant is probably the least ideal for your situation

I don't understand why? I can wait for root it not critical for me and later use like CDMA in Ukraine. Is it T-Mobile and international can work like CDMA. Sorry for my dumb question because transfer from iPhone and new with Android and phones with OS.
3rd May 2014, 08:00 AM   |  #7  
Account currently disabled
D.K
Thanks Meter: 12
 
238 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
I am also wait for announcement.
19th June 2014, 03:13 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Is this possible? Can I put another ROM version (like international) and "transform" the SM-G900V to SMG900H for example? A friend mine have a Verizon version and is living in Brazil... The Verizon version dont have the portuguese language... And the carrier Verizon isnt present there...
24th July 2014, 04:05 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Phone I have an S5 in Brazil from Vereizon
I got my S5 to work in Brazil, 4g network and all the only problem i still have is this message of THE SIM CARD IS FROM AN UNKNOWN SOURCE but so far have not noticed any problems with the funcions on it!!!!

Can i get this message away?

And i can relate with the person on the last post, the phone does not have Portuguese as a language to choose...
for me is ok but I understand that this is a fluke by Samsung(all phones should have most languages already in it)
Last edited by Rawandre; 24th July 2014 at 05:01 PM. Reason: addition

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon Galaxy S 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank