Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,412 Members 45,206 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

LG G3 Chromecast

Tip us?
 
maschenazi
Old
#71  
maschenazi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 42
Posts: 348
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Telford
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwd3885 View Post
this could be the key. Crashing because of the volume slider in notification tray. It would make sense why the S5 works (brightness but no volume) but the Tab Pro and Tab S don't work (volume slider present).
Hiding the sliders doesn't help with the crash here, unfortunately.
 
RicoonDK
Old
#72  
RicoonDK's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 42
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Under your bed
They claim this mod fixes the crash

http://forum.xda-developers.com/lg-g...h-fix-t2813095
 
Lennyuk
Old
#73  
Lennyuk's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1380
Posts: 5,654
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Essex, England

 
DONATE TO ME
This it the third time (including myself) that someone has posted my mod thread link in this post.

Fyi it does work, its not just a claim its a fact

Sent from my LG-D855 using Tapatalk
I am some sort of dev and a writer for LandofDroid. I am also a member of HTC Elevate. Was a member of the now defunct "Team Villain" aka VillainRom.

Guide to Unroot LG G3 for OTA
Chromecast System UI Crash Fix

http://forum.xda-developers.com/signaturepics/sigpic2315688_1.gif

Device info:
 
Current: LG G3, Google LG Nexus 5, Chromecast, Acer C720 Chromebook
Retired: HTC One, Google LG Nexus 4, Google Asus Nexus 7 Samsung Galaxy Note II Samsung Galaxy S III, Advent Vega (Tablet), Samsung Galaxy S II, Samsung Galaxy S, HTC Desire Z, HTC Desire HD, HTC Desire, HTC Hero

www.lennyuk.co.uk
Twitter | Google+
Like what I do? help me have a coffee<----- This is a link
 
maschenazi
Old
#74  
maschenazi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 42
Posts: 348
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Telford
I have been trying to log a call with LG about this problem for three days now
Quote:
We're sorry. The submission form is temporarily unavailableWe regret to inform you that this function is temporarily unavailable, due to scheduled site maintenance. Thank you for your understanding. In the meantime, if you have other tasks at hand, you can visit ourhome page or check out the links below.
 
maschenazi
Old
(Last edited by maschenazi; 17th July 2014 at 10:35 PM.)
#75  
maschenazi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 42
Posts: 348
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Telford
Switched back to Dalvik from ART and although casting from apps like youtube still crashes the phone, casting the mobile screen to chromecast started working

Also, I finally managed to log a call with LG about this and...

Quote:
Thank you for your query regarding the LG G3.

We have received several e-mails in regards to this and we are collecting reports and looking into this as of current. I would also like to thank you for providing us with the adequate amount of information to be able to log this as a potential bug that needs fixing. Hopefully we will be able to fix this in a rapid time and push an update to the phones to fix this issue.
I remember logging a call to Samsung support with what was a clear firmware bug on my Galaxy S3 (2 years ago) and spending the better part of two months trying to convince them that a factory reset doesn't help, nor sending my phone for repairs. They just refused to admit their firmware was with bugs
I was gearing up for another battle with LG this time, but surprise.
I'm sure it will take them couple of months to fix things, but at least they didn't try to fob me off. Is not all doom and gloom after all.
 
maschenazi
Old
#76  
maschenazi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 42
Posts: 348
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Telford
After the v10e update I'm happy to repport that chromecast has started working as it should.

Sent from my LG-D855 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to maschenazi For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
farhanito
Old
#77  
farhanito's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 222
Posts: 851
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Jakarta
Quote:
Originally Posted by maschenazi View Post
After the v10e update I'm happy to repport that chromecast has started working as it should.

Sent from my LG-D855 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
That's good news
______________________________________
Spyder --> EndeavorU --> Mako --> d802
 
appelflap
Old
#78  
appelflap's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 798
Posts: 4,084
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Utrecht
Quote:
Originally Posted by maschenazi View Post
After the v10e update I'm happy to repport that chromecast has started working as it should.

Sent from my LG-D855 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Yep, I can confirm this (European v10e update)
 
raw2000j
Old
#79  
raw2000j's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 152
Posts: 1,158
Join Date: Aug 2007
I dont have problems with my chromecast

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes