Post Reply

Boost Mobile APN fix for any ROM

OP vitokes

13th June 2014, 04:01 AM   |  #41  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
154 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bstrong9211

Yeah, going back to 6.6 I didn't get any data either.


Sent from my Moto G using Tapatalk

That's why it didn't work! You won't be able to send mms without data..

Sent from my Moto G using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Deathtoflesh For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th June 2014, 06:09 AM   |  #42  
vitokes's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Grand Junction, CO
Thanks Meter: 32
 
150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathtoflesh

That's why it didn't work! You won't be able to send mms without data..

Sent from my Moto G using Tapatalk

Sorry guys forgot to check up. But yeah c-rom has broken data on xt1031 for the moment so that's why you can't send data. Probably won't work until then.

Sent from my Moto G using Tapatalk
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to vitokes For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th June 2014, 06:14 AM   |  #43  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
154 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by vitokes

Sorry guys forgot to check up. But yeah c-rom has broken data on xt1031 for the moment so that's why you can't send data. Probably won't work until then.

Sent from my Moto G using Tapatalk

No prob, that's what I concluded as well.

Sent from my Moto G using Tapatalk
25th July 2014, 02:30 AM   |  #44  
Moped_Ryder's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Columbus
Thanks Meter: 545
 
799 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Haha! The things you find when one googles your profile. Small world indeed.

If you want a link to the folder I keep the fixes in use this: (copy to OP if wanted)

Boost LTE fix

R2 is basically a install binary update.

Here is some back story / info on the 'fix':

The primary goal I set out to do was to get lte working on our phones with CM / AOSP ROMs(I have a G3 Virgin Mobile phone). Secondary, if able was to get MMS to work. MMS is still a challenge to say the least. In order to get LTE / MMS to work on Sprints network you need to identify yourself as Boost / Virgin on the Sprint network...with correct settings and at times credentials. The APN settings I made actually is a combo of both Sprint and Virgin/Boost settings.

Beyond the APN settings I made a simple bash script to 'find and replace', or if not found input the settings required. It also adds a eri.xml for the phone to identify itself as Boost / Virgin.

Getting MMS to work on LTE made me pull my hair out. Virgin mobile(Boost) working on Sprint networks when it comes to MMS messages is an over complicated issue caused the providers. When attempting to receive MMS on LTE networks with stock MMS or some 3rd party MMS apps it returns with a "HTTP error: Authorization Required". When trying it on 3G its no problem. Seems they required "Authorization" for MMS on LTE but not 3G - go figure. Hangouts basically works for all because the app itself doesn't use the phones APN settings. It tries (and does) to attain what carrier you are on and use its settings. In our case it will identify you are on the Sprint network and use those APN settings. Why don't we set our phones to the Sprint settings?...no LTE then.

For Samsung phones (My S3) TW ROMs use a system called chameleon to attain both LTE and SMS/MMS ability. The chameleon system will not work in AOSP / CM ROMs. The system "shows" itself as Virgin Mobile for phone/network but Sprint for MMS.

I have also found this fix doesn't seem to work on MIUI ROMs either. Haven't figured out why. For some reason every S3 sprint MIUI ROM wont even boot on my phone.

For my fix - if anyone wants to use / edit / repost it I say go for it. Open source at its finest. Best way to learn IMO is to reverse engineer something....just be careful

As for the code if anyone wants to see it without unzipping:

The reason this is capable of flashing on multiple phones is partition specific blocks are not used.

Code:
mount("ext4", "EMMC", "/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/system", "/system");
Is used and not something like:

Code:
mount("ext4", "EMMC", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p14", "/system");

Script I made for the build.prop edits:
Code:
#!/sbin/sh
#For APNs fix D2LTE Build ROMs
#Written by Moped_Ryder
#Update to handle universal lte builds
busybox mount -o remount,rw /system
cp /system/build.prop /system/build.prop-bak
if grep -q "ro.cdma.home.operator" "/system/build.prop"; then  
	sed -i 's/ro.cdma.home.operator.numeric.*$/ro.cdma.home.operator.numeric=311870/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/ro.cdma.home.operator.alpha.*$/ro.cdma.home.operator.alpha=Boost Mobile/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/ro.product.locale.region=.*$/ro.product.locale.region=US/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/gsm.sim.operator.alpha.*$/gsm.sim.operator.alpha=Boost Mobile/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/gsm.sim.operator.numeric.*$/gsm.sim.operator.numeric=311870/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/gsm.operator.alpha.*$/gsm.operator.alpha=Boost Mobile/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/gsm.operator.numeric.*$/gsm.operator.numeric=311870/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/gsm.sim.operator.iso-country=.*$/gsm.sim.operator.iso-country =US/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/gsm.operator.iso-country=.*$/gsm.operator.iso-country=US/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/ro.telephony.default_network=.*$/ro.telephony.default_network=8/' /system/build.prop
else  
	echo "####Adding the Boost Mobile APN fixes####" >> /system/build.prop
	echo "ro.cdma.home.operator.numeric=311870" >> /system/build.prop
	echo "ro.cdma.home.operator.alpha=Boost Mobile" >> /system/build.prop
	echo "ro.telephony.default_network=8" >> /system/build.prop
	echo "telephony.slteOnCdmaDevice=1" >> /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/ro.product.locale.region=.*$/ro.product.locale.region=US/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/gsm.sim.operator.iso-country=.*$/gsm.sim.operator.iso-country =US/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/gsm.operator.iso-country=.*$/gsm.operator.iso-country=US/' /system/build.prop
fi
if grep -q "moped_ryder" "/system/build.prop"; then
	echo "its there"
else
	echo "#moped_ryder carrier edit completed" >> /system/build.prop
fi
Like I said nothing too complicated

The APN Settings used are:
Code:
	<!-- BOOST MOBILE CUSTOM APNS -->
	<apn carrier="APN1 Boost Internet LTE" numeric="310120" mcc="310" mnc="120" apn="n.boost.ispsn" user="" server="" password="" proxy="null" port="null" mmsproxy="68.28.31.7" mmsport="80" mmsprotocol="null" mmsc="http://mm.myboostmobile.com" type="default,supl,mms,fota,dun" bearer="14" /> 
	<apn carrier="APN2 Boost Internet EHRPD" numeric="310120" mcc="310" mnc="120" apn="n.boost.ispsn" user="" server="" password="" proxy="null" port="null" mmsproxy="68.28.31.7" mmsport="80" mmsprotocol="null" mmsc="http://mm.myboostmobile.com" type="default,supl,mms,fota,dun" bearer="13" /> 
	<!-- END BOOST MOBILE CUSTOM APNS-->
Credit where due > My work may not have been possible without junkie2100 from android forums. You ever see him - give him a like / thanks please

...as said in the OP flash at own risk. Sorry so long
Last edited by Moped_Ryder; 4th August 2014 at 12:40 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Moped_Ryder For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Moto G Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank