Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,126 Members 42,914 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Guide to use the Sprint LG G2 (LS980) with AT&T or Tmobile

Tip us?
 
theclash150
Old
#251  
Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 69
Join Date: Nov 2013
Does anyone know how to get gps working? When the phone is in CDMA mode, GPS works fine. Switching from CDMA to GSM, GPS still works fine. However, when I reboot the phone in GSM mode, GPS can't see any sats. Does anyone have any insight?
 
3rdcoasttx
Old
#252  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 39
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by theclash150 View Post
Does anyone know how to get gps working? When the phone is in CDMA mode, GPS works fine. Switching from CDMA to GSM, GPS still works fine. However, when I reboot the phone in GSM mode, GPS can't see any sats. Does anyone have any insight?

I am too waiting to hear a reply on this one. I switched the phone to be used with Cricket (GSM) and i use cloudy g3 rom. Cant get a signal from any sat, so def no way to get a lock. any workaround or thoughts on this one would be awesome.
 
jsergio123
Old
#253  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 286
Join Date: Sep 2008
It's most likely an issue with cloudy's ROM and you should ask in his rom thread.

Sent from my LG-LS980 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
knickerblogger
Old
#254  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 56
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by gatolsf View Post
9-Use Radio Switcher to check and set what radio to use. I use LTE\GSM\WCDMA
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d....radioswitcher

10-Use Tweakker MMS APN app to set APN
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...d=com.tweakker


Sent from my LG-LS980 using Tapatalk
I try downloading the Radio Switcher app, but it doesn't work, it gives me a message that is not compatible with my phone![/QUOTE]

Thanks for the information, can you or anyone else please describe your experience after completing these step.
What kind of speeds do you get?
Call quality?
Battery life?
HTC One S(S4) I CM11 latest I CWM 6.0.4.5 I HBOOT - 2.15 I S-OFF | SuperCID | Confused
 
supernoman
Old
(Last edited by supernoman; 25th July 2014 at 12:47 AM.)
#255  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 145
Join Date: Mar 2008
Testing with a coworker's sim since he's on Tmo Nexus 4. He gets 18Mbs down while I get only 5Mbs. Using CloudyG3 rom and signal bars is showing H and radio app also does say HSPAP. Any idea or info to try to get same speed as Nexus 4? I compared supported bands on Nexus 4 and they match the G2 for GSM bands.

ZVC baseband if that matters.

Thanks.
 
brandonbarlow
Old
#256  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 122
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by supernoman View Post
Testing with a coworker's sim since he's on Tmo Nexus 4. He gets 18Mbs down while I get only 5Mbs. Using CloudyG3 rom and signal bars is showing H and radio app also does say HSPAP. Any idea or info to try to get same speed as Nexus 4? I compared supported bands on Nexus 4 and they match the G2 for GSM bands.

ZVC baseband if that matters.

Thanks.
The Sprint lg980 does not get T-Mobile lte. We only get the 4g and 2g speeds.
 
supernoman
Old
(Last edited by supernoman; 25th July 2014 at 07:03 PM.)
#257  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 145
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandonbarlow View Post
The Sprint lg980 does not get T-Mobile lte. We only get the 4g and 2g speeds.
Neither does an unmodded Nexus 4. Coworkers connects hspa+ just like the Sprint LG G2.

I'm trying a Cloudy G3 factory reset with a Tmo SIM inserted to see if that helps. Will test again once coworker comes in.

Same "slowness." I had him install Radio Switcher and I matched by setting radio to WCDMA preferred but that didn't really improve results.
 
theclash150
Old
#258  
Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 69
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsergio123 View Post
It's most likely an issue with cloudy's ROM and you should ask in his rom thread.

Sent from my LG-LS980 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
It's the exact same on all ROMs (aosp included). Switching to cdma makes gps work but booting in GSM mode makes in non-functional
 
jsergio123
Old
#259  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 286
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by theclash150 View Post
It's the exact same on all ROMs (aosp included). Switching to cdma makes gps work but booting in GSM mode makes in non-functional
I haven't ran into this issue yet and I have unlocked 10+ LS980's but a few I did have difficulties with. Maybe you could try starting fresh by flashing ZVC with the LG tool and following my guide.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2798566
 
brandonbarlow
Old
#260  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 122
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by supernoman View Post
Neither does an unmodded Nexus 4. Coworkers connects hspa+ just like the Sprint LG G2.

I'm trying a Cloudy G3 factory reset with a Tmo SIM inserted to see if that helps. Will test again once coworker comes in.

Same "slowness." I had him install Radio Switcher and I matched by setting radio to WCDMA preferred but that didn't really improve results.
Apparently, T-Mobile uses the 1700 band for hspa+ as well, this phone doesn't have that band. Here is the T-Mobile bands, our phone, and the nexus 4.

T-Mobile offers*WCDMA*(UMTS) with*HSPA+*3G*voice and data over most of their network, using the 1700*MHz(AWS) and 1900 MHz (PCS) bands. Their*4G*LTE*network also uses the 1700 MHz (AWS) band. They also offerGSM/EDGE*2G*service in the 1900 band.

Ls980
EDGE, GPRS Class 10, UMTS, HSPA+, WCDMA, LTE Bands 25/26/41*

GSM 850/900/1800/1900 MHz, UMTS 2100*

Nexus 4
GSM/EDGE/GPRS*(850, 900, 1800, 1900*MHz)[1]
3G*UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSPA+(850, 900, 1700, 1900, 2100*MHz)

HSDPA*42*Mbps

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes