Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,920 Members 42,243 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ROM][4.4.4][KTU84P] SlimKat - mondrianwifi - [Build 6.9][+ Weeklies]

Tip us?
 
arrrghhh
Old
#101  
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 3380
Posts: 11,042
Join Date: Feb 2007

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by cloud71 View Post
Coming from 6.6, do I have to wipe anything?
No, you should be able to dirty flash. I would always recommend taking a backup so you can at least try to clean flash if you have issues to rule that out.
 
JaylanPHNX
Old
#102  
JaylanPHNX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1090
Posts: 2,267
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by arrrghhh View Post
No, you should be able to dirty flash. I would always recommend taking a backup so you can at least try to clean flash if you have issues to rule that out.
To add to that, you can do a semi dirty flash, where you wipe cache, dalvik, and manually wipe system before flashing ROM and Gapps. This leaves your data okay, but clears any backup scripts like the ones that preserve your Gapps during dirty flash.

From my Tab Pro 8.4
 
cloud71
Old
#103  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 134
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaylanPHNX View Post
To add to that, you can do a semi dirty flash, where you wipe cache, dalvik, and manually wipe system before flashing ROM and Gapps. This leaves your data okay, but clears any backup scripts like the ones that preserve your Gapps during dirty flash.

From my Tab Pro 8.4
What do you mean by manually wipe system? Also do I have to flash gapps again?

Sent from my SM-T320 using Tapatalk
The Cloudman
---------------------

Samsung Galaxy TabPro 8.4
Rooted / Modded


Apple IPAD 2
JailBroke / Modded
 
arrrghhh
Old
#104  
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 3380
Posts: 11,042
Join Date: Feb 2007

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by cloud71 View Post
What do you mean by manually wipe system? Also do I have to flash gapps again?

Sent from my SM-T320 using Tapatalk
If you manually wipe system, you will have to flash gapps again.

Depends if you use TWRP or CWM, but both have an option to do advanced wipe where you can choose which partition is wiped (cache, system, sd card etc)
 
cloud71
Old
#105  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 134
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by arrrghhh View Post
If you manually wipe system, you will have to flash gapps again.

Depends if you use TWRP or CWM, but both have an option to do advanced wipe where you can choose which partition is wiped (cache, system, sd card etc)
If I wipe system, will I have to redo slim settings? Or are they in the data file?

Sent from my SM-T320 using Tapatalk
The Cloudman
---------------------

Samsung Galaxy TabPro 8.4
Rooted / Modded


Apple IPAD 2
JailBroke / Modded
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes