FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

what is the correct command for ADB PUSH on the LG?

191 posts
Thanks Meter: 7
 
By JoeProcopio, Senior Member on 24th April 2014, 08:51 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
trying to push file but not having success.

are there any different commands than the regular commands for the G2?

adb push update.zip /sdcard

is there something i'm missing?

CWM puts you in ADB mode on launch right?
 
 
24th April 2014, 08:55 PM |#2  
JoeProcopio's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
adb devices shows phone attached recovery

adb push update.zip /sdcard returns nothing

am i missing a command? do I need to open a shell? or let it sit for awhile as it is a 1gb+ file
24th April 2014, 09:12 PM |#3  
acejavelin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bismarck, ND
Thanks Meter: 696
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeProcopio

adb devices shows phone attached recovery

adb push update.zip /sdcard returns nothing

am i missing a command? do I need to open a shell? or let it sit for awhile as it is a 1gb+ file

You would need to specify the correct path... /sdcard is not a real path (its a symbolic link), try

adb push update.zip /data/media/0
24th April 2014, 10:44 PM |#4  
JoeProcopio's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
that could be an issue, lol
hadn't done pushes for a long time so i haven't used the command
24th April 2014, 10:51 PM |#5  
acejavelin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bismarck, ND
Thanks Meter: 696
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeProcopio

that could be an issue, lol
hadn't done pushes for a long time so i haven't used the command

Actually, the more I think about, that is incorrect as well, you have to specify the filename of the destination too...

adb push update.zip /data/media/0/update.zip

would be more correct.
24th April 2014, 10:52 PM |#6  
JoeProcopio's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
once i hit enter, what should i see? should i see a progress bar? the file is 1.3GB, will it take a while?
24th April 2014, 11:21 PM |#7  
JoeProcopio's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
yup....took awhile! trying the flash now
The Following User Says Thank You to JoeProcopio For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th July 2014, 10:26 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Flag San Francisco, CA
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeProcopio

yup....took awhile! trying the flash now

I'm having a similar issue - seems like adb is set up correctly, but I'm unsure if the push command is working. About how long did you have to wait? Did you have any notifications on progress, etc?

Thanks!

---------- Post added at 10:26 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:08 AM ----------

Nvm! Worked out - just took some time like the OP's.

For future reference - it took mine about 15-20 minutes to transfer a file that was about 1.3gb (similar to the OP's) and the terminal window (using OSX) showed a blank line after submitting the push command. The blank line was replaced by a summary of the file transfer (speed, time, and size) once the transfer was completed.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes