Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,768,167 Members 44,370 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

what is the correct command for ADB PUSH on the LG?

Tip us?
 
JoeProcopio
Old
#1  
JoeProcopio's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 188
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default what is the correct command for ADB PUSH on the LG?

trying to push file but not having success.

are there any different commands than the regular commands for the G2?

adb push update.zip /sdcard

is there something i'm missing?

CWM puts you in ADB mode on launch right?
Motorola Droid
HTC Incredible
Samsung Fascinate
Samsung Galaxy Nexus
Motorola Droid RAZR MAXX
LG G2
 
JoeProcopio
Old
#2  
JoeProcopio's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 188
Join Date: Jan 2010
adb devices shows phone attached recovery

adb push update.zip /sdcard returns nothing

am i missing a command? do I need to open a shell? or let it sit for awhile as it is a 1gb+ file
Motorola Droid
HTC Incredible
Samsung Fascinate
Samsung Galaxy Nexus
Motorola Droid RAZR MAXX
LG G2
 
acejavelin
Old
#3  
acejavelin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 431
Posts: 1,473
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bismarck, ND

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeProcopio View Post
adb devices shows phone attached recovery

adb push update.zip /sdcard returns nothing

am i missing a command? do I need to open a shell? or let it sit for awhile as it is a 1gb+ file
You would need to specify the correct path... /sdcard is not a real path (its a symbolic link), try

adb push update.zip /data/media/0
Current Personal Phone: Google Nexus 4 on Cricket/Aio (Beanstalk 4.4.4 with hells-Core Kernel)
Current Work Phone: LG G2 VS980 on VZW (Official Beanstalk)
Current Tablet: iPad 4 and Samsung Galaxy Note Pro 12.2
Other phones "in the family": HTC DNA, HTC One (M7), Motorola Moto G GPE
Previous/Retired Android Devices: HTC Aria, HTC Incredible 2, HTC Rezound, Samsung Stratosphere, Samsung Galaxy S2 Skyrocket, Nextbook 8P
 
JoeProcopio
Old
#4  
JoeProcopio's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 188
Join Date: Jan 2010
that could be an issue, lol
hadn't done pushes for a long time so i haven't used the command
Motorola Droid
HTC Incredible
Samsung Fascinate
Samsung Galaxy Nexus
Motorola Droid RAZR MAXX
LG G2
 
acejavelin
Old
#5  
acejavelin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 431
Posts: 1,473
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bismarck, ND

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeProcopio View Post
that could be an issue, lol
hadn't done pushes for a long time so i haven't used the command
Actually, the more I think about, that is incorrect as well, you have to specify the filename of the destination too...

adb push update.zip /data/media/0/update.zip

would be more correct.
Current Personal Phone: Google Nexus 4 on Cricket/Aio (Beanstalk 4.4.4 with hells-Core Kernel)
Current Work Phone: LG G2 VS980 on VZW (Official Beanstalk)
Current Tablet: iPad 4 and Samsung Galaxy Note Pro 12.2
Other phones "in the family": HTC DNA, HTC One (M7), Motorola Moto G GPE
Previous/Retired Android Devices: HTC Aria, HTC Incredible 2, HTC Rezound, Samsung Stratosphere, Samsung Galaxy S2 Skyrocket, Nextbook 8P
 
JoeProcopio
Old
#6  
JoeProcopio's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 188
Join Date: Jan 2010
once i hit enter, what should i see? should i see a progress bar? the file is 1.3GB, will it take a while?
Motorola Droid
HTC Incredible
Samsung Fascinate
Samsung Galaxy Nexus
Motorola Droid RAZR MAXX
LG G2
 
JoeProcopio
Old
#7  
JoeProcopio's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 188
Join Date: Jan 2010
yup....took awhile! trying the flash now
Motorola Droid
HTC Incredible
Samsung Fascinate
Samsung Galaxy Nexus
Motorola Droid RAZR MAXX
LG G2
The Following User Says Thank You to JoeProcopio For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
turtledude558
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Francisco, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeProcopio View Post
yup....took awhile! trying the flash now
I'm having a similar issue - seems like adb is set up correctly, but I'm unsure if the push command is working. About how long did you have to wait? Did you have any notifications on progress, etc?

Thanks!

---------- Post added at 10:26 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:08 AM ----------

Nvm! Worked out - just took some time like the OP's.

For future reference - it took mine about 15-20 minutes to transfer a file that was about 1.3gb (similar to the OP's) and the terminal window (using OSX) showed a blank line after submitting the push command. The blank line was replaced by a summary of the file transfer (speed, time, and size) once the transfer was completed.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Forums Added for the Nvidia Shield Tablet and Sharp Aquos Crystal

Just a few days ago, wetook an in depth look at theNvidia Shield Tabletand … more

[OTA Captured] Android 4.4.3 Lands on European HTC One M7

The secound release of the Android L Developer Previewmay be the new hotness for … more

Take a Perfectly Stable Shot with Open Camera

The camera app on our Android smartphones and tablets isn’t something we focus on all … more

Motorola Droid X Receives Almost Fully Functional KitKat Port

While we are all wondering when Google will decide to officially release … more