5,815,095 Members 38,170 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Google Maps won't speak street names

Tip us?
 
skatingrocker17
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 53
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Toledo
Default Google Maps won't speak street names

So I've done some research on this and know it has to do with the TTS service. The problem is, when I go to Language and Keyboard -> Text-to-Speak output, everything is grayed out. At the bottom, it is stuck at "Default language status" and it says "checking...". This problem occurs when I install a different TTS service too.

I am running the Venom 1.6 rom. Any help is appreciated. Thank you.
 
grentuu
Old
#2  
grentuu's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 149
Posts: 524
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Just outside of Manchester UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by skatingrocker17 View Post
So I've done some research on this and know it has to do with the TTS service. The problem is, when I go to Language and Keyboard -> Text-to-Speak output, everything is grayed out. At the bottom, it is stuck at "Default language status" and it says "checking...". This problem occurs when I install a different TTS service too.

I am running the Venom 1.6 rom. Any help is appreciated. Thank you.
Take a look here. Lots of reasons why this might happen and there are lots of posts around about it, but this one does appear to offer a number of solutions

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2466895&page=2


I UPGRADED TO A 5GHZ CABLE HUB FOR THIS???


IF I DON'T HELP YOU, IT'S NOT BECAUSE I DON'T GIVE A TOSS. I JUST DON'T KNOW THE ANSWER.
IF I DO, PLEASE HIT THE THANKS BUTTON.
 
jaythenut
Old
#3  
jaythenut's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,511
Posts: 5,132
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by skatingrocker17 View Post
So I've done some research on this and know it has to do with the TTS service. The problem is, when I go to Language and Keyboard -> Text-to-Speak output, everything is grayed out. At the bottom, it is stuck at "Default language status" and it says "checking...". This problem occurs when I install a different TTS service too.

I am running the Venom 1.6 rom. Any help is appreciated. Thank you.
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...a.tts&hl=en_GB
try this its way better anyway
 
skatingrocker17
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 53
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Toledo
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaythenut View Post
I've actually done that too. I think the problem is with Android for me. See my screenshot. No matter what TTS I have, everything on this menu screen stays grayed out.

 
jaythenut
Old
#5  
jaythenut's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,511
Posts: 5,132
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by skatingrocker17 View Post
I've actually done that too. I think the problem is with Android for me. See my screenshot. No matter what TTS I have, everything on this menu screen stays grayed out.

when you installed rom was there a opinion in aroma that was to remove text to speak if so just do a dirty flash and dont remove it
 
skatingrocker17
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 53
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Toledo
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaythenut View Post
when you installed rom was there a opinion in aroma that was to remove text to speak if so just do a dirty flash and dont remove it
Okay I'll try that. But I wouldn't of removed it, and it's on there now. When I install IVONA, it shows up there too but it's grayed out just like Google TTS. Google Play shows Google TTS is installed too. I've also tried removing it and reinstalling.
 
gautamrao
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jun 2008
I actually had that too, but just pressing (clicking!) on the greyed out Preferred engine option somehow made it green again and things worked afterwards. So weird.
 
Datatekniker
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Apr 2011
Thumbs up TTS greyed out

Quote:
Originally Posted by gautamrao View Post
I actually had that too, but just pressing (clicking!) on the greyed out Preferred engine option somehow made it green again and things worked afterwards. So weird.
That worked for me as well, THANKS...

Tags
google maps, htc one (m8), text to speech, tts, venom
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes