Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,633 Members 37,846 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How to: Enable installations from "Unknown Sources"

Tip us?
 
troby86
Old
#11  
troby86's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 914
Posts: 1,070
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Camp Pendleton, CA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImCoKeMaN View Post
plug in a keyboard and/or a mouse to the usb port
Lol, thanks.


DEVICE: HTC One (T-Mobile)
ROM: United SSA v1.0.0 (Official TMOUS Sense 6)
RECOVERY: TWRP 2.7.0.0
 
fireTVnews.com
Old
(Last edited by fireTVnews.com; 23rd July 2014 at 12:53 AM.)
#12  
fireTVnews.com's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 70
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hrodriguez77 View Post
Just read this article and it has me worried. http://www.aftvnews.com/top-ways-to-brick-your-fire-tv/ I followed your exact instructions. Should I be worried?
You shouldn't worry if you followed the instructions above. SQLite Editor seems to be one of the good apps. I haven't been able to pinpoint exactly which SQL app is causing issues, but several people have reported using SQLite Editor without issues.
 
davekaz
Old
#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 162
Join Date: Oct 2013
it does not work anymore I guess with new firmware update as that file is no longer there
Settings storage etc
I'm rooted and even went into es explorer and enabled show hidden files and couldnt find it in there either.maybe i could search for setting db file
my wife threw me off so ill try tomorrow

---------- Post added at 01:13 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:22 AM ----------

Forget it. I didn't look in data.

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
 
ILLESTNOIZE
Old
#14  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by elmerohueso View Post
I'm sure you all know that Amazon locked down the ability to install apps from "Unknown Sources", which is why the only current method of sideloading apps is to do so over ADB. The following will let you enable "Unknown Sources", by directly changing the entry in /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db, so you can perform app installations directly on the FTV (which will come in very handy for installed Xposed modules and other things).

The FTV doesn't have sqlite3 installed, or else this would be much simpler. These steps show you how to change the setting using the SQLite Editor app.

Note: Navigating the SQLite Editor app may require a mouse
  1. Root your FireTV according to the steps here
  2. Install SQLite Editor via ADB
  3. Launch SQLite Editor, granting it SU access
  4. Select "Settings Storage"
  5. Select "settings.db"
  6. Select the "global" table
  7. Highlight the record "install_non_market_apps"
  8. Hit the Menu button and select "Edit Record"
  9. Change the Value to "1" and save the record
  10. Reboot
Hi,

Every one the settings apk does work and you can check the unknown sources box to allow installation of any apk without sideloading!!
You need the settings.apk and you have to tweak a system app. Will provide a tutorial for all XDA community members in the near future. Right now looking to raise money for charity through paypal donations. It works I can install apks from any market, drop box or even when downloading from a web browser.

Fire TV is the stuff!!! Hope fire tv 2.0 offers HD audio and 4k compatibility and of course more memory
 
inwisso
Old
#15  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 10
Join Date: Sep 2010
Confirmed I just downloaded Settings Apk from AFTnew and it allowed me to check unknown sources and make it easier to install apk without sideloading

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
JJ-KwiK
Old
#16  
JJ-KwiK's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 228
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by inwisso View Post
Confirmed I just downloaded Settings Apk from AFTnew and it allowed me to check unknown sources and make it easier to install apk without sideloading

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Does the ktv launcher need to be frozen first?
 
inwisso
Old
#17  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 10
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJ-KwiK View Post
Does the ktv launcher need to be frozen first?
It's work only by installing with terminal this settings apk, from AFTnew article about wiimote nothing else was frozen or needed ✌

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Add Timestamps to Xposed Installer Logs with… Xposed!

If talking about the most interesting projects in the last few years, we must … more

Secrecy Goes Open Source, Assures File Encryption

As some of you may remember, a while back we spoke about Secrecy, an effective file … more

[APK] Google News and Weather Gets Material Design Makeover, Minor Maps Updates

Although Google has somewhat gotten out of the habit of their … more

Software Build Automation with Jenkins – XDA Developer TV

Many members of the XDA community come to learn and begin in the exciting … more