Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,782,032 Members 52,749 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] CM11S turn 64G OPO into 16G OPO?

Tip us?
 
Trent23
Old
#21  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default 4846

Any updates here? haha I kind of screw myself up the same way as well
 
tiny4579
Old
#22  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 4,133
Posts: 7,720
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trent23 View Post
Any updates here? haha I kind of screw myself up the same way as well
fastboot format userdata

To put it into a command. This will wipe your storage though. Read entropy512's post. No one seemed to follow it though. He is correct.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
 
Trent23
Old
#23  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by tiny4579 View Post
fastboot format userdata

To put it into a command. This will wipe your storage though. Read entropy512's post. No one seemed to follow it though. He is correct.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk

I read his post I do not quite understand how to do it. Is it possible to provide me with a step by step instructions? I'm really poor at this. I have email him as well. I don't know exactly how to reformat user data((
 
tiny4579
Old
#24  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 4,133
Posts: 7,720
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trent23 View Post
I read his post I do not quite understand how to do it. Is it possible to provide me with a step by step instructions? I'm really poor at this. I have email him as well. I don't know exactly how to reformat user data((
Look up how to use fastboot. It will help you more in the end.

If you do a factory reset with the standard recovery, it should format data and get your space back.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
 
Trent23
Old
#25  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by tiny4579 View Post
Look up how to use fastboot. It will help you more in the end.

If you do a factory reset with the standard recovery, it should format data and get your space back.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
So in summary I need to fastboot format user data using command prompt right? That's the whole point?
 
tiny4579
Old
#26  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 4,133
Posts: 7,720
Join Date: Jan 2011
Yep. Back up anything from data or sdcard that you want to save first and make sure fastboot / adb work. Then run that command to wipe userdata.

Sent from my One using Tapatalk
 
Trent23
Old
#27  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jun 2014
thanks all i manage change it back to 64gb
 
tiny4579
Old
#28  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 4,133
Posts: 7,720
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trent23 View Post
thanks all i manage change it back to 64gb
Good to here. What did you end up doing to fix it?

Sent from my One using Tapatalk
 
Sam_in_PGH
Old
#29  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 75
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Entropy512 View Post
Check the post I made in that thread. Go into TWRP and do a FULL userdata format. (You can "fastboot boot" TWRP without flashing it if you wish, or you can flash it.)

Wipe->Advanced Wipe->Data

(the standard factory reset will just remove all files outside of /data/media without reformatting the partition.)

Based on your description of what you did to flash it, I'm fairly certain that your partition table is OK (since it doesn't look like you altered that), but you flashed a premade 16GB userdata image to a 64GB partition.

I flashed PA rom, now back on CM 11S and now getting this issue. I just went into TWRP and flash Data and still showing as 16GB when I boot back into CM. Am I doing anything wrong?
 
tsang_alan
Old
#30  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 28
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam_in_PGH View Post
I flashed PA rom, now back on CM 11S and now getting this issue. I just went into TWRP and flash Data and still showing as 16GB when I boot back into CM. Am I doing anything wrong?
Please try using fastboot (already mentioned couple times in the thread)
- boot into fastboot mode, type command

fastboot format userdata

All should be good!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes