Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more

Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more

Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more
Post Reply

best way to root for n00b?

OP TeleFragger

4th June 2014, 02:54 AM   |  #1  
TeleFragger's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Williamstown
Thanks Meter: 4
 
326 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
so this phone has been around for a while... I never did root it but since I have a note 3 I would like to turn my epic 4g into a music/game player....
I have never rooted an android device. what is the latest instructions idiot proofed? i want to be able to uninstall bloatware and turn into a gps speedometer for my mud truck. maybe play games or movies... so essentially an ipod...hahahha
5th June 2014, 02:25 AM   |  #2  
TeleFragger's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Williamstown
Thanks Meter: 4
 
326 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
i posted this because I have been googling and searching here and coming up with instructions with dead links... can anyone help me?
64 views and no replies... please someone....
5th June 2014, 08:56 PM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2006687

I assume if you googled it, you would at least know how to root. As far as dead links well that's a different story...which links were you referring to?
6th June 2014, 12:20 PM   |  #4  
TeleFragger's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Williamstown
Thanks Meter: 4
 
326 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by spartasr

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2006687

I assume if you googled it, you would at least know how to root. As far as dead links well that's a different story...which links were you referring to?

pretty sure that was the link i went too plus others on other sites... the 5.0.2.7 link was dead. At work and all lockdown so cant download from here. Will try again this weekend and reply back here to see if anyone has the files and can hook me up..
6th June 2014, 12:44 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Hmm the files are downloading for me, yea maybe try when you get home
13th June 2014, 02:01 AM   |  #6  
TeleFragger's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Williamstown
Thanks Meter: 4
 
326 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by spartasr

Hmm the files are downloading for me, yea maybe try when you get home

yup downloading now.. been soo busy.. yes that busy!!!!!
13th June 2014, 02:27 AM   |  #7  
TeleFragger's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Williamstown
Thanks Meter: 4
 
326 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
so this is for a epic.. not 4g touch...

but i got odin to go... then it says to hold vol down.. camera then power... umm where is the camera button on the epic 4g touch???
13th June 2014, 02:26 PM   |  #8  
DaKillaWilla's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 91
 
365 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeleFragger

so this is for a epic.. not 4g touch...

but i got odin to go... then it says to hold vol down.. camera then power... umm where is the camera button on the epic 4g touch???

Our epic is the d700. Yours is the d710. Check out there foruma for root. And don't use our files, you'll brick your device.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using Tapatalk 2
3rd August 2014, 07:34 PM   |  #9  
btvolta's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tampa Bay
Thanks Meter: 1,752
 
2,227 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
I am currently running the Note 3 and have been rooting and flashing since the S2 epic 4g touch. I just dusted off my old epic 4g and rooted it with the fc09 stock rooted rom, and activated sprint for my brother. I didn't have any issues until after flashing. When I go into recovery now, nothing will mount, so I am unable to perform any actions in cwm. The stock rooted rom runs fine. I haven't ever had this happen before. Does anyone know of a solution? I even installed a 16 GB SD card that I had from my S2, and still get the errors in cwm.

Sent from my SM-N900P using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
Last edited by btvolta; 3rd August 2014 at 07:37 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes