FORUMS

SuperSU Beta Updates With Minor Fix For Galaxy S6

ChainFire’s root permissions app SuperSU has updated to v.2.49 to fix audits on … more

LG G4 Day Event Coverage: Specs, Features, Design & More!

LG has been teasing us with a countdown for a while now, and today it reached … more

Xposed Modules to Modify Email – XDA Xposed Tuesday

Even though we have Dropbox and other ways to share files, people still want … more

Google Teaches You to Use Wear Gestures

Now that the Watch Urbane is out with the latest firmware, we have new information regarding the … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

best way to root for n00b?

4th June 2014, 02:54 AM |#1  
TeleFragger's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Williamstown
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
so this phone has been around for a while... I never did root it but since I have a note 3 I would like to turn my epic 4g into a music/game player....
I have never rooted an android device. what is the latest instructions idiot proofed? i want to be able to uninstall bloatware and turn into a gps speedometer for my mud truck. maybe play games or movies... so essentially an ipod...hahahha
 
 
5th June 2014, 02:25 AM |#2  
TeleFragger's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Williamstown
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
i posted this because I have been googling and searching here and coming up with instructions with dead links... can anyone help me?
64 views and no replies... please someone....
5th June 2014, 08:56 PM |#3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2006687

I assume if you googled it, you would at least know how to root. As far as dead links well that's a different story...which links were you referring to?
6th June 2014, 12:20 PM |#4  
TeleFragger's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Williamstown
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by spartasr

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2006687

I assume if you googled it, you would at least know how to root. As far as dead links well that's a different story...which links were you referring to?

pretty sure that was the link i went too plus others on other sites... the 5.0.2.7 link was dead. At work and all lockdown so cant download from here. Will try again this weekend and reply back here to see if anyone has the files and can hook me up..
6th June 2014, 12:44 PM |#5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Hmm the files are downloading for me, yea maybe try when you get home
13th June 2014, 02:01 AM |#6  
TeleFragger's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Williamstown
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by spartasr

Hmm the files are downloading for me, yea maybe try when you get home

yup downloading now.. been soo busy.. yes that busy!!!!!
13th June 2014, 02:27 AM |#7  
TeleFragger's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Williamstown
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
so this is for a epic.. not 4g touch...

but i got odin to go... then it says to hold vol down.. camera then power... umm where is the camera button on the epic 4g touch???
13th June 2014, 02:26 PM |#8  
DaKillaWilla's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 92
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeleFragger

so this is for a epic.. not 4g touch...

but i got odin to go... then it says to hold vol down.. camera then power... umm where is the camera button on the epic 4g touch???

Our epic is the d700. Yours is the d710. Check out there foruma for root. And don't use our files, you'll brick your device.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using Tapatalk 2
3rd August 2014, 07:34 PM |#9  
btvolta's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tampa Bay
Thanks Meter: 1,857
 
More
I am currently running the Note 3 and have been rooting and flashing since the S2 epic 4g touch. I just dusted off my old epic 4g and rooted it with the fc09 stock rooted rom, and activated sprint for my brother. I didn't have any issues until after flashing. When I go into recovery now, nothing will mount, so I am unable to perform any actions in cwm. The stock rooted rom runs fine. I haven't ever had this happen before. Does anyone know of a solution? I even installed a 16 GB SD card that I had from my S2, and still get the errors in cwm.

Sent from my SM-N900P using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
Last edited by btvolta; 3rd August 2014 at 07:37 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes