Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,781,011 Members 47,776 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Bricked? RSDLite won't work

Tip us?
 
rocketrazr99
Old
#11  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 67
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocketrazr99 View Post
It was actually more than just that. I cant remember but saw a thread about it saying that it had an old firmware and a present firmware and it needs a newer firmware, but I am onm the newest one already so I have to wait for one to get pushed out, idk. Now i can get as far as flashing process 17/21, which is the system flash, when te phone returns a fail. i will try a few tricks i learned from prior luck
OK, Rik was right, I didnt have to wait for a new firmware release. I kept trying to flash the most recent version of 4.1.2 and kept hitting a wall at 17/21, which is the flashing of the system image. Occasionally it would fail before that at 16/21, which is CDROM files. That always happened the first attempt after I unhooked the phone and restarted everything, so I started thinking, what is causing the flash to fail for no apparent reason. Then it finally hit me....it was as if my phone was running out of storage space. But that just isnt possible when you are flashing with RSDLite since it wipes out everything first. So I then remembered that my PC has very little room left on its hard drive. Could it be that RSDLite needed more space to work? Hmmmmm, so I deleted a few videos and moved the firmware file to that area (it may or may not help) of the drive and tried again. After the initial fail at 16/21 I was met with a successful flash, although it took a very long time to flash the system image, which I attribute to low disk space. So there you have it.... of course I had to modify the XML file and remove the "getvar" line, and realized I had forgot a golden rule.... all programs and apps need a certain amount of disk drive space in order to operate, and RSDLite is no exception! So now my locked phone will get the carrier unlock edit and Safestrap installed with an extra ROM in slot 1, then it goes on eBay, lol. I have my other RAZR M in semi retirement, it has the BL unlocked as well as the carrier, but I couldnt pass up a new Nexus 5 for $250, but I will surely be swapping the SIM card back and forth because I really miss my RAZR M already. Wish they would make a RAZR M with the processing power of the Nexus 5. Anyhow, PLEASE CLOSE THIS THREAD, TY.
The Following User Says Thank You to rocketrazr99 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ImDroidxpert
Old
#12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Waterville, ME. 04901
Use this I used it when I bricked mine

Sent from my XT907 using Tapatalk
 
ImDroidxpert
Old
#13  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Waterville, ME. 04901
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2249773

Sent from my XT907 using Tapatalk
 
H0LT3R
Old
#14  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 28
Join Date: Nov 2013
I'm having a similar problem with my xt907. The phone will boot and loop on the boot loader. I have tried to restore with rsd lite bit haven't had any luck. Any suggestions, I know it may not be enough information. If you ask I might be able to give you more details.

---------- Post added at 10:33 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:28 PM ----------

Also I can't get into recovery.
 
rocketrazr99
Old
#15  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 67
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImDroidxpert View Post
The Reason why it doesn't accept the Us GSM edit Is because the Motorola Droid Razr M is not a gsm phone it is a CDMA phone with LTE. Thus it will not work on any GSM providers unless that provider is like straight talk with multiple networks supported otherwise the phone is stuck on verizon wireless or any other carrier you bought it from. Have A Good Day. By the way my two old accounts got banned for no reason. if you want to know what experience i have look at my devices on the accounts Droidxpert and Droidxpert1. Thanks
I am sorry to say that you are uninformed and the XT907 CAN have van NV edit which allows it to be used on GSM networks. The phone is already setup to be comparable with GSN since Verizon made it a "global" handset, but....they also blocked any GSM capabilities in the U.S., until of course you do the NV edit. So please remove your post.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Forums Added for the LG G Watch R and Samsung Gear S

A little over a week ago, LG “inadvertently” let the world know about the … more

Secrecy App Goes Open Source, New LG Android Wear Device! – XDA Developer TV

Secrecy encryption app goes open source! That and much … more

Pushbullet Updated with SMS Send Ability

Pushbullet is one of thoseapplications that every Android lover should have installed on his or … more

[OTA] Nvidia Shield Tablet Receives its First Update

The Nvidia Shield Tabletis the latest toy from one of the largest desktop graphics … more