Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,670 Members 44,020 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Dialer BUG in Android 4.4 KitKat

Tip us?
 
peslap
Old
#1  
peslap's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 103
Join Date: Nov 2011
Default Dialer BUG in Android 4.4 KitKat

Hello!

I've seen the following problem in two Motorola Moto Gs.
I disliked the inbuilt dialer from Android 4.4, so I put a custom dialer instead.

First time it asked me what app I want to use for dialing. I've selected the custom dialer and I've selected the ALWAYS option.
But, when I have a missed call and I want to call back that number from the notification bar, it still ask me what dialer should I choose. Everytime.

If I disable / freeze the inbuilt caller, I can't receive calls.

So, do you have any suggestions?
 
peslap
Old
#2  
peslap's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 103
Join Date: Nov 2011
No one?
 
centavar
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 54
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago
This is a known bug in KitKat, the "always" option reset itself sometimes for various apps. Just give the default dialer a chance, once you get used to it it's actually very good
 
slavehunter105
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 96
Join Date: Nov 2012
i know this thread is only for moto g, but i just installed cm11 for s4 mini duos, and it has the same dialer default issue, only happens when i click on the miscalls in the notification bar. The maximum i could do is install complete action plus xposed module to remove the always and once option which is very annoying, so next time the selection comes, i just have to click the dialer i want rather even clicking always too. Btw this bug is only for the missed calls, other defaults are fine.

I thought its just a bug in the android 4.4.2 , i updated my cm11 to 4.4.3 hoping its gone but no luck.
 
peslap
Old
#5  
peslap's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 103
Join Date: Nov 2011
For those who updated to 4.4.4, the bug is still present?
 
peslap
Old
#6  
peslap's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 103
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by peslap View Post
Hello!

I've seen the following problem in two Motorola Moto Gs.
I disliked the inbuilt dialer from Android 4.4, so I put a custom dialer instead.

First time it asked me what app I want to use for dialing. I've selected the custom dialer and I've selected the ALWAYS option.
But, when I have a missed call and I want to call back that number from the notification bar, it still ask me what dialer should I choose. Everytime.

If I disable / freeze the inbuilt caller, I can't receive calls.

So, do you have any suggestions?
For those who updated to 4.4.4, the bug is still present?
 
jbanti
Old
#7  
jbanti's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 51
Posts: 178
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Aurangabad
Quote:
Originally Posted by peslap View Post
For those who updated to 4.4.4, the bug is still present?
NOOOO... its been 1 month.. Working fine don't have any bugs...

Sent from my XT1033
 
peslap
Old
#8  
peslap's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 103
Join Date: Nov 2011
Please read the post above you and confirm that bug it's not present.
 
peslap
Old
(Last edited by peslap; 5th August 2014 at 08:30 AM.)
#9  
peslap's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 103
Join Date: Nov 2011
Bump

Quote:
Originally Posted by peslap View Post
Hello!

I've seen the following problem in two Motorola Moto Gs.
I disliked the inbuilt dialer from Android 4.4, so I put a custom dialer instead.

First time it asked me what app I want to use for dialing. I've selected the custom dialer and I've selected the ALWAYS option.
But, when I have a missed call and I want to call back that number from the notification bar, it still ask me what dialer should I choose. Everytime.

If I disable / freeze the inbuilt caller, I can't receive calls.

So, do you have any suggestions?
For those who updated to 4.4.4, the bug is still present?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes