Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,807,458 Members 48,068 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] archos 79 xenon freezing at the start-up logo

Tip us?
 
pat2211
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Apr 2014
Unhappy [Q] archos 79 xenon freezing at the start-up logo

I tried to root my 79 xenon using frama root, it worked but a few days later my 79xe keeps freezing on the start-up logo " archos entertainment your way". I contacted the store where I bought this tablet and they told me that they need the stock firmware to fix this problem. I have searched but nothing found, also no reponse from archos customer service. I would be greatfull to you if anyone can provide me the stock rom of Archos 79 xenon.
 
theadenter
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 71
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Kirov
http://www.archos.com/ru/support/sup...dates_fwm.html
A list of official firmwares available.
Archos 101G9 1Gb Turbo 1.5GHz
 
pat2211
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Apr 2014
I hope the firmware will availble soon . Can I extract the firmware from the others ?
 
theadenter
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 71
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Kirov
Quote:
Originally Posted by pat2211 View Post
I hope the firmware will availble soon . Can I extract the firmware from the others ?
No, you can brick your device easily by doing that. The only ways to bring it to work is to send it to the authorized Archos service or to ask support for assistance.
Archos 101G9 1Gb Turbo 1.5GHz
 
star1304
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default Recovering from start up freeze.

I bought this tablet and root it using kingo root. The tablet froze at the welcoming display the next day and the only solution I discovered is to boot into then recovery (vol up + power on) and execute a factory reset. It boots OK and kept the root.
Now it is the 2nd day and I am keeping my fingers cross.
Have anybody found the reason why? And anybody with a link to a recent stock firmware.

Derek
 
iCoder79
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Mar 2013
I know the thread is a little bit old, but hopefully this would help someone someday. I did fall into a bootloop with the Archos 79 Xenon while I was trying to deodex its ROM.

Here's the link to the firmware of the Archos 79 Xenon as provided by their support. I'm downloading it currently, so I can't really tell if it is the original 4.2 or an updated one.

http : // update. archos. com/ AFMv1/ storage/ / files/ full/ a79xe/ 20140708.134233/ update.zip (542MB) [remove spaces, sorry, but the forum rules prevent me from sharing external links, yet ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Play Music on Android Wear with Stellio Music Player

Android Wear smartwatchesare growing inpopularity every day. Some devices have already … more

Schedule is up for xda:devcon ’14

With xda:devcon ’14 just around the corner, and the venue close to selling out, there is a lot … more

aLogcat Returns Thanks to XDA Love

The developers of Android, that is Google, gave users several great debugging tools that can be used in … more

And the Winners in the XDA Pebble Development Challenge Are…

Almost two months ago, we set out with Pebble to findthree amazing … more