Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,670 Members 44,987 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Heartbleed update - remove root?

Tip us?
 
weely_XD
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jun 2014
Question [Q] Heartbleed update - remove root?

Hello!
A few weeks ago, HTC sends me an update to fix the Heartbleed Bug from Android 4.1. On my device I have root and Xposed. If I install the update, would it remove my root and Xposed? It's my first Android Update after rooting

Thanks,
Weely_XD
 
havv
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 10
Join Date: Aug 2013
I think you have to go back to full stock (Rom,recovery,bootloader locked) to update, so yes update remove root.
 
Etiennef
Old
#3  
Etiennef's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jul 2014
Could someone that installed this confirm if root was lost or not?

Thanks!
 
romy25
Old
(Last edited by romy25; 5th August 2014 at 08:05 PM.)
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 37
Join Date: Sep 2012
I will not be changed
 
realCyphox
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 70
Posts: 380
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bayreuth, Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by romy25 View Post
I will not be changed
of course not, but what about your phone, LOL
 
Etiennef
Old
#6  
Etiennef's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jul 2014
Well, I went ahead and installed the stock recovery and this OTA-update.
Everything seemed fine so I re-installed a new copy of TWRP (same version number as I had before)... Confused me totally. It was asking me to root again as soon as I quit recovery, which I did a few times... But I could never finish the installation of SuperSU. It always failed...
I was messing around with this for 2 days, until I for some reason tried to install TWRP from another "old" file I found on my computer (the exact same file I used when i rooted my phone the first time).

Now everything worked fine...
I guess the other recovery image was corrupt, incorrect, or something else...

Well, the mess was sorted out at least, and I still have root, did not have to reset my phone, and everything else seems to be OK.

Thanks!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Make Text Entry More Efficient with Macro Text Expansion

One of the best things about the modern day smartphone is its ability to save us … more

Fix KitKat WiFi Drops on Your Own

Despite introducing many useful features and overall great performance and enhancements,Android 4.4 KitKat … more

Bring Back Tablet UI on KitKat

Google presented their brand new UI for tablets alongsidethe release of Android 3.0 Honeycomb back in early … more

Give Your Notification Shade a Facelift with these Modding Guides

Modification has always been one of the strong suits of Android, due in … more