Post Reply

[Q] S5 Soft bricked (activation lock on) won't boot after factory reset

28th May 2014, 12:12 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
The current problem is this: I installed Chainfire 3d on the S5. After rebooting, it got stuck at the logo screen. I haven't installed Clockworkmod Recovery so the recovery is still the stock one. I tried factory resetting and wiping the cache but it's still stuck at the logo. I assume this is because Chainfire 3d is in the /system. I turned on the activation lock too so I can't use Odin to flash a new ROM or zip. What can I do??

Thanks for any help!
28th May 2014, 01:11 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
81 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
I had issues after flashing back to stock. US Cellular version. What I had to do was REMOVE the sim card, reboot, then it would get into the system. From there you can do what you need to do (especially over wifi as you'll only have wifi). I then rebooted again (completed activation with sim card removed) and this time I had the sim card inserted. This worked for me. MAYBE it will work for you. I had an issue nobody would help me with.
28th May 2014, 02:01 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlewis312010

I had issues after flashing back to stock. US Cellular version. What I had to do was REMOVE the sim card, reboot, then it would get into the system. From there you can do what you need to do (especially over wifi as you'll only have wifi). I then rebooted again (completed activation with sim card removed) and this time I had the sim card inserted. This worked for me. MAYBE it will work for you. I had an issue nobody would help me with.

Sadly, that did not make a difference but thanks anyway!
28th May 2014, 09:35 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
T0r0nt0!
Thanks Meter: 37
 
252 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Is there any way to flash a custom recovery through the stock recovery? That might allow you to boot into a custom recovery and then flash a custom ROM or stock firmware.
10th August 2014, 06:22 AM   |  #5  
Rickinsav's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Savannah, GA
Thanks Meter: 10
 
103 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Did you ever get this resolved?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy S 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank