Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,782,632 Members 36,632 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Three button headsets?

Tip us?
 
jimmyhauser
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 55
Join Date: May 2006
Default [Q] Three button headsets?

Does anyone know if the G3 will work with three button headsets? As much as I loved my Moto X, the lack of three button functionality killed it for me. I really want to get a G3, but if it won't support 3 buttons, that's a deal breaker for me.

I know stock and stock-ish android doesn't support it, while the skinned versions like touchwiz generally do (all my galaxy and HTC phones did) so I am hoping LG's does.
 
mingkee
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 245
Posts: 1,753
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmyhauser View Post
Does anyone know if the G3 will work with three button headsets? As much as I loved my Moto X, the lack of three button functionality killed it for me. I really want to get a G3, but if it won't support 3 buttons, that's a deal breaker for me.

I know stock and stock-ish android doesn't support it, while the skinned versions like touchwiz generally do (all my galaxy and HTC phones did) so I am hoping LG's does.
Forget those designed for iPhone (volume buttons won't work), but there's a chance Samsung stereo headset with volume buttons will fully work according to past experience with LG phones (OT, L9).
 
KR LUCKY GOLDSTAR
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmyhauser View Post
Does anyone know if the G3 will work with three button headsets? As much as I loved my Moto X, the lack of three button functionality killed it for me. I really want to get a G3, but if it won't support 3 buttons, that's a deal breaker for me.

I know stock and stock-ish android doesn't support it, while the skinned versions like touchwiz generally do (all my galaxy and HTC phones did) so I am hoping LG's does.

It seems to be same g2. Its name quadbeat2 is written on package. You can find review by googling
 
jimmyhauser
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 55
Join Date: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by mingkee View Post
Forget those designed for iPhone (volume buttons won't work), but there's a chance Samsung stereo headset with volume buttons will fully work according to past experience with LG phones (OT, L9).
I know the iphone headphones won't work. But the made for android 3-button headsets worked with my GS3, GS4, HTC One X, as well as my windows phones.
None of the android 3button headsets worked with my Nexus or Moto X. I have never had an LG phone so I was just wondering.
 
stunt_101
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 65
Posts: 81
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmyhauser View Post
Does anyone know if the G3 will work with three button headsets? As much as I loved my Moto X, the lack of three button functionality killed it for me. I really want to get a G3, but if it won't support 3 buttons, that's a deal breaker for me.

I know stock and stock-ish android doesn't support it, while the skinned versions like touchwiz generally do (all my galaxy and HTC phones did) so I am hoping LG's does.
The QuadBeats 2 that comes with the phone have three buttons on them. and i'm assuming that they should work perfectly with the phone. i'll test them out tonight and report back.
 
akash.mahadeshwar
Old
#6  
akash.mahadeshwar's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 143
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Mumbai
Smile use these

well u can use this.. They are built for g3.. http://www.phonearena.com/news/LG-in...Kardon_id56237
Kernel :- Kowalski Kernel
Rom :- CM 11 tonyp
Bootloader:- New Bootloader
Thanks tonyp, pengus77, rugglez, mivv, bippi79, MetaIIica n all the other DEVS
 
pvine
Old
#7  
pvine's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Syracuse
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmyhauser View Post
Does anyone know if the G3 will work with three button headsets? As much as I loved my Moto X, the lack of three button functionality killed it for me. I really want to get a G3, but if it won't support 3 buttons, that's a deal breaker for me.

I know stock and stock-ish android doesn't support it, while the skinned versions like touchwiz generally do (all my galaxy and HTC phones did) so I am hoping LG's does.
Apatronix earbuds work, all three buttons I just tried them out. They were about 16 bucks on Amazon. Sound quality won't change your life give it is solid for a $16 pair of buds.
 
czechu01
Old
#8  
czechu01's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 140
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London
There's an xposed module which allows you to assign those 3 buttons to different actions, I used it for iphone-designed headphones with HTC One and it worked. http://forum.xda-developers.com/xpos...l-1-8-t2620777

@jimmyhauser
@mingkee

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Moto G 4G Receives Official CyanogenMod 11 Love

When theMoto Gwas initially released to the world in November of last year,very few actually … more

Get Your Tasks Organized on Android Wear with Agenda Wear

Having a checklist of things you need to do is something we all can find useful at … more

Top 5 LG G3 MODs – XDA Developer TV

The LG G3 has been LG’s breakout hit of the summer. Using their knowledge frombuilding some … more

Make Your Calendar Widget Beautiful with Month

For some of us, summer vacation is alreadyover. For those getting ready to school, work, or … more