Forums Added for the Oppo R5, Oppo N3, and Xiaomi Redmi Note

Just yesterday, Oppo unveiled a pair of rather unique smartphones, the Oppo … more

How to Play Music From Android Wear – XDA TV

Yesterday, we showed you how to do some advanced things with your Moto 360 quite easily … more

Google Updates Play Games, Wallet, Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drive, Google+, and Camera

While we haven’t really had much in the way of … more

Google Execs Talk to Ars About Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is right around the corner, and it’s expected to hit AOSP … more
Post Reply

[Q] Three button headsets?

OP jimmyhauser

4th June 2014, 01:38 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
More
Does anyone know if the G3 will work with three button headsets? As much as I loved my Moto X, the lack of three button functionality killed it for me. I really want to get a G3, but if it won't support 3 buttons, that's a deal breaker for me.

I know stock and stock-ish android doesn't support it, while the skinned versions like touchwiz generally do (all my galaxy and HTC phones did) so I am hoping LG's does.
4th June 2014, 02:05 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Brooklyn, NY
Thanks Meter: 264
 
1,817 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmyhauser

Does anyone know if the G3 will work with three button headsets? As much as I loved my Moto X, the lack of three button functionality killed it for me. I really want to get a G3, but if it won't support 3 buttons, that's a deal breaker for me.

I know stock and stock-ish android doesn't support it, while the skinned versions like touchwiz generally do (all my galaxy and HTC phones did) so I am hoping LG's does.

Forget those designed for iPhone (volume buttons won't work), but there's a chance Samsung stereo headset with volume buttons will fully work according to past experience with LG phones (OT, L9).
4th June 2014, 09:24 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmyhauser

Does anyone know if the G3 will work with three button headsets? As much as I loved my Moto X, the lack of three button functionality killed it for me. I really want to get a G3, but if it won't support 3 buttons, that's a deal breaker for me.

I know stock and stock-ish android doesn't support it, while the skinned versions like touchwiz generally do (all my galaxy and HTC phones did) so I am hoping LG's does.


It seems to be same g2. Its name quadbeat2 is written on package. You can find review by googling
4th June 2014, 11:27 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mingkee

Forget those designed for iPhone (volume buttons won't work), but there's a chance Samsung stereo headset with volume buttons will fully work according to past experience with LG phones (OT, L9).

I know the iphone headphones won't work. But the made for android 3-button headsets worked with my GS3, GS4, HTC One X, as well as my windows phones.
None of the android 3button headsets worked with my Nexus or Moto X. I have never had an LG phone so I was just wondering.
5th June 2014, 09:49 AM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 66
 
83 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmyhauser

Does anyone know if the G3 will work with three button headsets? As much as I loved my Moto X, the lack of three button functionality killed it for me. I really want to get a G3, but if it won't support 3 buttons, that's a deal breaker for me.

I know stock and stock-ish android doesn't support it, while the skinned versions like touchwiz generally do (all my galaxy and HTC phones did) so I am hoping LG's does.

The QuadBeats 2 that comes with the phone have three buttons on them. and i'm assuming that they should work perfectly with the phone. i'll test them out tonight and report back.
6th June 2014, 12:59 PM   |  #6  
akash.mahadeshwar's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 20
 
148 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Smile use these
well u can use this.. They are built for g3.. http://www.phonearena.com/news/LG-in...Kardon_id56237
13th August 2014, 03:36 PM   |  #7  
pvine's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Syracuse
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmyhauser

Does anyone know if the G3 will work with three button headsets? As much as I loved my Moto X, the lack of three button functionality killed it for me. I really want to get a G3, but if it won't support 3 buttons, that's a deal breaker for me.

I know stock and stock-ish android doesn't support it, while the skinned versions like touchwiz generally do (all my galaxy and HTC phones did) so I am hoping LG's does.

Apatronix earbuds work, all three buttons I just tried them out. They were about 16 bucks on Amazon. Sound quality won't change your life give it is solid for a $16 pair of buds.
13th August 2014, 04:38 PM   |  #8  
czechu01's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 37
 
167 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
There's an xposed module which allows you to assign those 3 buttons to different actions, I used it for iphone-designed headphones with HTC One and it worked. http://forum.xda-developers.com/xpos...l-1-8-t2620777

@jimmyhauser
@mingkee

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in G3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank