Vikaura Screen: Use Your Android to Customize Your World

Vikaura is another hot Kickstarter item building momentum online. This time the idea … more

Neon’s Colors Theme For Android L

This CyanogenMod 12 theme by XDA Recognized Themernitinvaidbrings some really nice looking colors to … more

Galaxy Note Edge Panel Themes

Follow this link to find themes from your favorite sports teams, video games, companies, and more for your lock … more

Official MEGA Layers Overlays Collection

The Layers Overlays is getting more popular every day and is a nice alternative to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] How to unlock?

OP Bronando

9th June 2014, 08:17 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
I want to use a tmobile SIM on the captivate but it asks me for a code. How do I get one? I searched up guides on how to unlock it but all of them seem outdated. I upgraded from 2.2 to 2.3.5 to CM11 4.4.2 latest snapshot and rooted. I've tried the sgs unlock tool on the play store but doesn't work. Help would be appreciated, thanks.
Last edited by Bronando; 9th June 2014 at 08:30 PM.
9th June 2014, 10:40 PM   |  #2  
BWolf56's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Outaouais
Thanks Meter: 1,710
 
3,910 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bronando

I want to use a tmobile SIM on the captivate but it asks me for a code. How do I get one? I searched up guides on how to unlock it but all of them seem outdated. I upgraded from 2.2 to 2.3.5 to CM11 4.4.2 latest snapshot and rooted. I've tried the sgs unlock tool on the play store but doesn't work. Help would be appreciated, thanks.

Did you see this? http://www.xda-developers.com/androi...-without-code/
13th August 2014, 07:37 PM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
I have almost the exact same question, except I mistakenly sold my phone before doing the unlocking. Now the guy I sold it to needs to get it working on a nonAT&T network. He has a sim card.

Can anyone confirm a way to get CM11 (nightly in late July) unlocked? I don't have to revert him to stock 2.1 to unlock do I? From what I read, I don't want this guy to keep trying, as it may become unlockable after a five or so different attempts. Is this still true?

Obviously, I'd prefer free. This guy is seriously unhelpful with providing his comfort level or understanding of root/brick/unlock, etc.

e-unlocker.com is one site I found. Is this legit?
13th August 2014, 08:25 PM   |  #4  
BWolf56's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Outaouais
Thanks Meter: 1,710
 
3,910 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by orangezero

I have almost the exact same question, except I mistakenly sold my phone before doing the unlocking. Now the guy I sold it to needs to get it working on a nonAT&T network. He has a sim card.

Can anyone confirm a way to get CM11 (nightly in late July) unlocked? I don't have to revert him to stock 2.1 to unlock do I? From what I read, I don't want this guy to keep trying, as it may become unlockable after a five or so different attempts. Is this still true?

Obviously, I'd prefer free. This guy is seriously unhelpful with providing his comfort level or understanding of root/brick/unlock, etc.

e-unlocker.com is one site I found. Is this legit?

There's a few way, gotta look around the forum to find it.

You'll have to be on stock firmware though, Froyo I believe (2.2) but GB (2.3) might work. The guide should mention it.
13th August 2014, 09:11 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWolf56

There's a few way, gotta look around the forum to find it.

You'll have to be on stock firmware though, Froyo I believe (2.2) but GB (2.3) might work. The guide should mention it.

Thanks for the quick reply. I'm not sure if he's capable of reverting to stock 2.2...

Is requesting an unlock code from AT&T a no go? I talked with a rep and she seemed to think it was do-able. I'm still current and paid up with Att so that isn't a problem. I need the IMEI, but no need to waste time on that if it doesnt' work.

I currently use another phone with ATT.



thanks
13th August 2014, 09:14 PM   |  #6  
BWolf56's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Outaouais
Thanks Meter: 1,710
 
3,910 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by orangezero

Thanks for the quick reply. I'm not sure if he's capable of reverting to stock 2.2...

Is requesting an unlock code from AT&T a no go? I talked with a rep and she seemed to think it was do-able. I'm still current and paid up with Att so that isn't a problem. I need the IMEI, but no need to waste time on that if it doesnt' work.

I currently use another phone with ATT.



thanks

It should work with the unlock code. I haven't unlocked a Cappy in a very long time so I'm not sure if it needs the stock dialer. That being said, if he gets the pop-up box to enter the code, it should work.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes