Post Reply

[Q] Kernal help

OP Tyler.Boston1

20th June 2014, 08:13 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
251 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Hi i need to find a kernal with usb debugging and adb setting in developer settings automatically ticked because my phone screen is completely broken and im using a program that requires the two settings to be on. Please help if you can thank you!
20th June 2014, 04:31 PM   |  #2  
serio22's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 777
 
2,355 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
I don't think a kernel can enable those, only the user can.. You can probably flash a ROM that has them enabled or a script

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
12th August 2014, 12:59 AM   |  #3  
brokenchains's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 120
 
163 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by serio22

I don't think a kernel can enable those, only the user can.. You can probably flash a ROM that has them enabled or a script

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk

I also broke my screen and was looking for this exact thing. It's Android Control and I need adb enabled. I tried various ways I found while searching to try to enable adb through TWRP and an adb shell on my PC, but it wouldn't work ( kept getting a "~ # ?[6n" prompt and "not found" when entering "su" ).

Then I found this kernel kitchen. In that thread the dev says you can make the ramdisk insecure and make adb mode persistent. Anybody able to help me out?
13th August 2014, 10:17 PM   |  #4  
ShinySide's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag IHB
Thanks Meter: 2,304
 
1,997 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brokenchains

I also broke my screen and was looking for this exact thing. It's Android Control and I need adb enabled. I tried various ways I found while searching to try to enable adb through TWRP and an adb shell on my PC, but it wouldn't work ( kept getting a "~ # ?[6n" prompt and "not found" when entering "su" ).

Then I found this kernel kitchen. In that thread the dev says you can make the ramdisk insecure and make adb mode persistent. Anybody able to help me out?

What version? Mdl mk2 or nb4? Probably already insecure boot.img unless you're running stock tho

Debugging in dev options would be a different story tho. I might be able to figure out how to enable it thru command line tho

And now that I think about it, I don't even know what would work since you're dual booting.
Last edited by ShinySide; 13th August 2014 at 10:23 PM.
13th August 2014, 11:19 PM   |  #5  
brokenchains's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 120
 
163 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShinySide

What version? Mdl mk2 or nb4? Probably already insecure boot.img unless you're running stock tho

Debugging in dev options would be a different story tho. I might be able to figure out how to enable it thru command line tho

And now that I think about it, I don't even know what would work since you're dual booting.

I figured out how to get adb shell working, but I had to switch TWRP out for CWM non-touch. That let me use adb correctly through recovery and I found a way to enable adb in the ROM that way by pulling settings.db and editing the "adb_enabled" setting there. Now I'm just caught because I can't see the screen to authorize my PC to use adb... I tried to manually put the adb key from my PC's file into the adb_keys file on the phone but that didn't work and I'm pretty sure I did it right. That process is described here for anyone curious.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes