Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,290 Members 46,527 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Phone as Remote control OUTSIDE of XBMC

Tip us?
 
skrowl
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 92
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Question [Q] Phone as Remote control OUTSIDE of XBMC

Yatse works great for controlling my FireTV via my Android Phone (Galaxy Note 3) as long as I'm in XBMC.

However, I'd like to use my phone as a remote for the Fire TV main menu, inside Netflix, etc.

Anyone know of a good way to accomplish this?
 
Edvard_Greig
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 202
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Denver
I'm trying to do the same with Tablet Remote, but it appears to rely on registering itself as a system input device on the FTV, once we're able to adjust the input device it should work.

Sent from my LG-V500 using Tapatalk
Current: Verizon LG G2
Retired: HTC Rezound, HTC Thunderbolt, Droid Charge, Jailbroken iPhone 3G, Blackberry Curve 8320, HTC Tilt, HTC 8525, HTC 8125
 
skrowl
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 92
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edvard_Greig View Post
I'm trying to do the same with Tablet Remote, but it appears to rely on registering itself as a system input device on the FTV, once we're able to adjust the input device it should work.
It would be a shame if we had to have root + access to input devices to do something as simple as remote control via phone/tablet, but I guess I'll take it any way I can get it at this point!
 
cloudbyday90
Old
#4  
cloudbyday90's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 23
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Indianapolis
I'm looking for an answer on this question. Wondered if there is a fix for this yet, or someone was able to figure this out?
 
Hrodriguez77
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 49
Join Date: May 2013
Try droidmote, works perfect for me.
 
cloudbyday90
Old
#6  
cloudbyday90's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 23
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Indianapolis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hrodriguez77 View Post
Try droidmote, works perfect for me.

Thank you. Just need to figure out how to get Google Play to work now!
 
Hrodriguez77
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 49
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by cloudbyday90 View Post
Thank you. Just need to figure out how to get Google Play to work now!
You need to be rooted to install google play. Once rooted, use the directions on this link and you should be good to go. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2790207
 
jainanshal
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 98
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Toronto
Limitless remote, may be not as good as droid mote but its free.

Tags
netflix, remote control, xbmc
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes