Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,836 Members 43,511 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Convert Verizon M8 to International...Is it possible?

Tip us?
 
mukeshd
Old
#21  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 26
Join Date: Jan 2012
this shouldn't pose a problem if someone is using it outside Verizon band i.e. global mode right?

Sent from my HTC6525LVW
 
AmbitiousDonut
Old
#22  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 22
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Vienna / Paris
Quote:
Originally Posted by mukeshd View Post
this shouldn't pose a problem if someone is using it outside Verizon band i.e. global mode right?

Sent from my HTC6525LVW
Did you ever end up with a longer explanation as to why this wouldn't work? I too live outside the US but have a VZW m8. I won't be using CDMA here. Ever.
Is it the hardware in it (CDMA receiver) that makes this conversion impossible even if I were to flash the international RUU and firmware on to it? so far, I've just used the international ROMs and it's been mostly fine. It got my data working on my tiny, crappy, provider here too when it wouldn't in stock global mode from VZW.
 
Shadow Death
Old
#23  
Shadow Death's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 323
Posts: 1,132
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Killeen, TX
I don't understand why it wouldn't be possible considering it is a global phone that supports volte.


HTC One M8 - NuSenseSIX RC 1.2
Galaxy Nexus (Second Owner) - Whatever rom I feel like.
HTC Thunderbolt (Dead)
 
motumbo
Old
#24  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 259
Join Date: Aug 2010
I just flashed arhd 8.1 and now my phone works perfectly in gsm networks all over Latin America including LTE. So if you are planning to use your phone in a gsm network don't worry it works perfect at least 3.5G, lte whenever bands are compatible.
 
Dark Reality
Old
#25  
Dark Reality's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 190
Posts: 786
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North Carolina
SIM lock, that's why.

I've been in the smartphone game for 4 years, and I always thought CDMA was CDMA was CDMA and no two ways about it. I knew LTE was GSM, but I thought that was only for data. Now I'm hearing from the US Cellular crowd (they're a regional CDMA operator) that their phones can be SIM unlocked and can be used on AT&T and T-Mobile. As in, voice as well as data. Naturally, I called BS, but supposedly, they're doing it. Thing is, you have to be out of your contract. And then go into the carrier and ask them to unlock the SIM. If you're still on contract, they'll tell you to go pound sand. It used to be illegal to do it at all, but President Obama signed a bill that legalized carrier/SIM unlocking. So now they can do it. Whether they will or not... that might be a problem. But US Cellular, for their faults, is a 'friendly' carrier and they tend to look out for customers... sometimes... so I guess some of their customers are having good luck with that. Sounds like BS; I agree. But that's what they're saying.
HTC One M8 / Verizon / CleanROM
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Get Better Debug Data with Crash Report SDK

Developing an application is a hard and often times ungratifying task. It also requires quite a … more

Navigate to Your Favorite Places with LocationDetector

If you’re enjoying an active way of life, you probablytravel a lot, go fishing, … more

LifeStats Automatic Journal Keeps Tabs of Your Day

Most of us live very active lives. This is after all why we’re fans of mobile … more

Android App Review: Hide Your Files with Androignito – XDA Developer TV

Stop right now, look at your phone, and see how many pictures, … more