FORUMS

Xposed Modules to Modify Email – XDA Xposed Tuesday

Even though we have Dropbox and other ways to share files, people still want … more

Google Teaches You to Use Wear Gestures

Now that the Watch Urbane is out with the latest firmware, we have new information regarding the … more

Samsung Galaxy Alpha (SM-G850) Gets Android 5.0

An Android 5.0 Lollipop update is finally available to download for the Samsung Galaxy … more

Do You Use 4:3 or 16:9 in the Camera App?

Every person has their own method of taking the best photos on their devices, but which aspect … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Droid Ultra Straight Talk

6th January 2014, 03:41 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Circleville, OH
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I read some threads some droids it can be done to I didn't see any for the Ultra. Can it be done? I know its unlocked international but not US I guess not sure. Verizon says it not but I know they don't want me to leave their high prices. I know I got a global setting in the mobile networks settings. I was told if I used straight talk all I have would be talk and text which it be ok for now but I guess I can change the APN setting give me 3G now with the Sim card it a nano or mirco chip? I want to make sure I can do this...if I have no data it ok I got WiFi everywhere I go... Please help with this I'm new at this I'm learning lol...any info I would really appreciate it. Thank you..
 
 
7th January 2014, 09:16 PM |#2  
nathanalanlister's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
I am using a droid MAXX now and GSM SIMs are no longer recognized. Using retail non developer edition and unroofed

Sent from my XT1080 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to nathanalanlister For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th January 2014, 02:50 PM |#3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 41
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eek88dj

I read some threads some droids it can be done to I didn't see any for the Ultra. Can it be done? I know its unlocked international but not US I guess not sure. Verizon says it not but I know they don't want me to leave their high prices. I know I got a global setting in the mobile networks settings. I was told if I used straight talk all I have would be talk and text which it be ok for now but I guess I can change the APN setting give me 3G now with the Sim card it a nano or mirco chip? I want to make sure I can do this...if I have no data it ok I got WiFi everywhere I go... Please help with this I'm new at this I'm learning lol...any info I would really appreciate it. Thank you..

I'm running a stock 4.2.2 Maxx from Verizon, which is essentially the same phone as the Ultra, and it works fine with my Straight Talk SIM, no modification required (no LTE though of course). Every 4G LTE phone Verizon sells now is actually required by law to be GSM unlocked, including for carriers in the US, and I know multiple reviewers online have confirmed it works on AT&T as well
The Following User Says Thank You to kuz142 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th January 2014, 03:55 PM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Flag Circleville, OH
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kuz142

I'm running a stock 4.2.2 Maxx from Verizon, which is essentially the same phone as the Ultra, and it works fine with my Straight Talk SIM, no modification required (no LTE though of course). Every 4G LTE phone Verizon sells now is actually required by law to be GSM unlocked, including for carriers in the US, and I know multiple reviewers online have confirmed it works on AT&T as well

Thank you so much!! You guys are the best!!
10th January 2014, 01:34 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Flag Circleville, OH
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by kuz142

I'm running a stock 4.2.2 Maxx from Verizon, which is essentially the same phone as the Ultra, and it works fine with my Straight Talk SIM, no modification required (no LTE though of course). Every 4G LTE phone Verizon sells now is actually required by law to be GSM unlocked, including for carriers in the US, and I know multiple reviewers online have confirmed it works on AT&T as well

I went AT&T today bought pre pay $60 and nano Sim card it worked. Thank u so much...people u can use AT&T network on the Droid Ultra have 3G.....it great....Verizon try to tell me the phone wasn't unlocked but my buddy here told me it was it worked....XDA U ROCK!!!
19th May 2014, 08:08 AM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Angry yes!!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by eek88dj

I read some threads some droids it can be done to I didn't see any for the Ultra. Can it be done? I know its unlocked international but not US I guess not sure. Verizon says it not but I know they don't want me to leave their high prices. I know I got a global setting in the mobile networks settings. I was told if I used straight talk all I have would be talk and text which it be ok for now but I guess I can change the APN setting give me 3G now with the Sim card it a nano or mirco chip? I want to make sure I can do this...if I have no data it ok I got WiFi everywhere I go... Please help with this I'm new at this I'm learning lol...any info I would really appreciate it. Thank you..

You can bring the ultra over, I am on my ultra now and on at&t H+ I had a little problem with MMS at first but its working now
18th August 2014, 11:06 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lawlessd63

You can bring the ultra over, I am on my ultra now and on at&t H+ I had a little problem with MMS at first but its working now

So my droid ultra will work fine and have 4g with at&t if I SWAPO out the nano Sim behind the volume key?
19th August 2014, 01:16 AM |#8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by switchkilla28

So my droid ultra will work fine and have 4g with at&t if I SWAPO out the nano Sim behind the volume key?

yes indeed.
19th August 2014, 01:21 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrwinkle

yes indeed.

Nice! Looks like I will be ordering the nano Sim. Thanks for the fast response
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes