Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,356 Members 40,187 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Unable to mount system to RW

Tip us?
 
garreth83@gmail.com
Old
#1  
garreth83@gmail.com's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Singapore
Question [Q] Unable to mount system to RW

Hi,

No matter what I do, I can't remount "/system" and "/" to RW.

Does anyone know how to resolve this issue?

I am running on KK 4.4.2 version 14.3.A.0.757.

My Current File System Status

root@C6833:/ # mount
rootfs / rootfs ro,relatime 0 0
tmpfs /dev tmpfs rw,seclabel,nosuid,relatime,mode=755 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts rw,seclabel,relatime,mode=600 0 0
none /dev/cpuctl cgroup rw,relatime,cpu 0 0
proc /proc proc rw,relatime 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs rw,seclabel,relatime 0 0
selinuxfs /sys/fs/selinux selinuxfs rw,relatime 0 0
debugfs /sys/kernel/debug debugfs rw,relatime 0 0
none /sys/fs/cgroup tmpfs rw,seclabel,relatime,mode=750,gid=1000 0 0
securityfs /sys/kernel/security securityfs rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime 0 0
none /acct cgroup rw,relatime,cpuacct 0 0
tmpfs /mnt/asec tmpfs rw,seclabel,relatime,mode=755,gid=1000 0 0
tmpfs /mnt/obb tmpfs rw,seclabel,relatime,mode=755,gid=1000 0 0
tmpfs /tmp tmpfs rw,seclabel,nosuid,relatime,mode=755 0 0
/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/system /system ext4 ro,seclabel,relatime,discard,data=ordered 0 0
/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/userdata /data ext4 rw,seclabel,nosuid,nodev,relatime,discard,noauto_d a_alloc,data=ordered 0 0
/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/cache /cache ext4 rw,seclabel,nosuid,nodev,relatime,data=ordered 0 0
/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/apps_log /mnt/idd ext4 rw,seclabel,nosuid,nodev,noexec,noatime,discard,no barrier,data=ordered 0 0
tmpfs /storage/remote tmpfs rw,seclabel,relatime,size=1024k,nr_inodes=256,mode =750,gid=1028 0 0
/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/LTALabel /lta-label ext4 ro,seclabel,nosuid,nodev,noexec,noatime,nobarrier, data=ordered 0 0
/dev/fuse /mnt/shell/emulated fuse rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,user_id=1023,group _id=1023,default_permissions,allow_other,allow_uti me_grp 0 0
/dev/fuse /storage/sdcard1 fuse rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,user_id=1023,group _id=1023,default_permissions,allow_other,allow_uti me_grp 0 0
tmpfs /storage/emulated tmpfs rw,seclabel,nosuid,nodev,relatime,mode=050,gid=102 8 0 0
/dev/block/vold/179:65 /mnt/media_rw/sdcard1 vfat rw,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,uid=1023,g id=1023,fmask=0007,dmask=0007,allow_utime=0020,cod epage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
/dev/fuse /storage/emulated/0 fuse rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,user_id=1023,group _id=1023,default_permissions,allow_other,allow_uti me_grp 0 0
/dev/fuse /storage/emulated/0/Android/obb fuse rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,user_id=1023,group _id=1023,default_permissions,allow_other,allow_uti me_grp 0 0
/dev/fuse /storage/emulated/legacy fuse rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,user_id=1023,group _id=1023,default_permissions,allow_other,allow_uti me_grp 0 0
/dev/fuse /storage/emulated/legacy/Android/obb fuse rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,user_id=1023,group _id=1023,default_permissions,allow_other,allow_uti me_grp 0 0
root@C6833:/ #
 
LordManhattan
Old
#2  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 5,658
Posts: 15,002
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kepler-34b
You obviously do not have the permission to do that, so the question is, are you rooted, and if so root again and be sure to have the latest SuperSU installed with updated binaries.

Sent from my Z Ultra
 
garreth83@gmail.com
Old
#3  
garreth83@gmail.com's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Singapore
Quote:
Originally Posted by LordManhattan View Post
You obviously do not have the permission to do that, so the question is, are you rooted, and if so root again and be sure to have the latest SuperSU installed with updated binaries.

Sent from my Z Ultra
Yes, I am able to gain root access but unable to boot into recovery

Sent from my C6833 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
blueether
Old
#4  
blueether's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,151
Posts: 2,653
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Te Awamutu, New Zealand

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by garreth83@gmail.com View Post
Yes, I am able to gain root access but unable to boot into recovery

Sent from my C6833 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
What kernel are you on?

How did you get root?

Bootloader unlocked?
Charles
Alcatel One Touch "easy" -> Nokia 1110i -> Alcatel ame-408 -> Motorola Razr v3 -> Huawei u8100 -> Sony Xperia Z-Ultra

ROM:- Carbon
Kernel:- Pimped Kernel

Thankyou to all those that have donated to me over 2014.
 
garreth83@gmail.com
Old
#5  
garreth83@gmail.com's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Singapore
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueether View Post
What kernel are you on?

How did you get root?

Bootloader unlocked?

My kernel version is 3.40-perf jackie099@ubuntu #1 and bootloader is unlocked.

I gained root by downgrading my firmware to .532 version and install rooting using a program called Root_with_Restore_by_Bin4ry_v33. After rooting is successful, install dualrecovery and upgrade my firmware to .757 version by flashing a specific zip file via recovery followed by flash FTF with Flashtool.

Am I doing it correctly? Is there a better way to do it?
 
blueether
Old
#6  
blueether's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,151
Posts: 2,653
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Te Awamutu, New Zealand

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by garreth83@gmail.com View Post
My kernel version is 3.40-perf jackie099@ubuntu #1 and bootloader is unlocked.

I gained root by downgrading my firmware to .532 version and install rooting using a program called Root_with_Restore_by_Bin4ry_v33. After rooting is successful, install dualrecovery and upgrade my firmware to .757 version by flashing a specific zip file via recovery followed by flash FTF with Flashtool.

Am I doing it correctly? Is there a better way to do it?
I would try to reflash supersu and see if that fixes it
Charles
Alcatel One Touch "easy" -> Nokia 1110i -> Alcatel ame-408 -> Motorola Razr v3 -> Huawei u8100 -> Sony Xperia Z-Ultra

ROM:- Carbon
Kernel:- Pimped Kernel

Thankyou to all those that have donated to me over 2014.
 
MidnightHarvester
Old
(Last edited by MidnightHarvester; 17th June 2014 at 08:54 AM.)
#7  
MidnightHarvester's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 147
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: In the VAST
I'm not sure. I'm having the same issue, sort of. I can mount /system to read write easily but can't mount back to read only. Getting "resource busy" message. Running a 4.4.2 LG G2 ROM. Could it have anything to do with how /system is formatted within TWRP recovery? Idk.. Luckily not being able to mount as read only isn't exactly an issue but more of a nuisance.

Edit:: Found a solution minutes after posting.

Code:
su
mount -o remount,rw /system # works fine
mount -o remount,ro /system # resource busy error
mount -o remount ro /system # works fine without comma
With this knowledge I can go through and fix a few scripts that have the comma between remount and ro. Not sure why this is as it's always worked fine ever since my OG DROID.
 
EvilMember
Old
#8  
EvilMember's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 105
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Delhi
Any updates ??
Phone:Sony Xperia T2 Ultra
Kernel:
Stock

ROM:Stock
Android Version:4.4.2
 
nedooo
Old
#9  
nedooo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 279
Posts: 1,221
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilMember View Post
Any updates ??
As blueether said flaah latest supersu...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Paid Android App Developers Will Soon Have to Provide Physical Address

Google has now changed its policies regarding paid app developers. … more

Windows Developers Rejoice! Dev Program’s $99 Yearly Fee is No More!

Microsoft rule in the mobile market, much like the giant dinosaurs … more

Add the Xperia Z2 Lock Screen to Your Favorite KitKat ROM

Almost every OEM adds its own unique flair to their stock firmwares. While some of … more

Android App Review: Control Your Phone with Quick Control Panel – XDA Developer TV

Your Android smart device has many features that you … more