Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more

Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Modify the Look of Your Volume Control – XDA TV

How many screenshots have you seen with a volume status bar in the … more

Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more
Post Reply

[Q] Unable to mount system to RW

4th May 2014, 02:09 PM   |  #1  
garreth83@gmail.com's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Hi,

No matter what I do, I can't remount "/system" and "/" to RW.

Does anyone know how to resolve this issue?

I am running on KK 4.4.2 version 14.3.A.0.757.

My Current File System Status

root@C6833:/ # mount
rootfs / rootfs ro,relatime 0 0
tmpfs /dev tmpfs rw,seclabel,nosuid,relatime,mode=755 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts rw,seclabel,relatime,mode=600 0 0
none /dev/cpuctl cgroup rw,relatime,cpu 0 0
proc /proc proc rw,relatime 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs rw,seclabel,relatime 0 0
selinuxfs /sys/fs/selinux selinuxfs rw,relatime 0 0
debugfs /sys/kernel/debug debugfs rw,relatime 0 0
none /sys/fs/cgroup tmpfs rw,seclabel,relatime,mode=750,gid=1000 0 0
securityfs /sys/kernel/security securityfs rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime 0 0
none /acct cgroup rw,relatime,cpuacct 0 0
tmpfs /mnt/asec tmpfs rw,seclabel,relatime,mode=755,gid=1000 0 0
tmpfs /mnt/obb tmpfs rw,seclabel,relatime,mode=755,gid=1000 0 0
tmpfs /tmp tmpfs rw,seclabel,nosuid,relatime,mode=755 0 0
/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/system /system ext4 ro,seclabel,relatime,discard,data=ordered 0 0
/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/userdata /data ext4 rw,seclabel,nosuid,nodev,relatime,discard,noauto_d a_alloc,data=ordered 0 0
/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/cache /cache ext4 rw,seclabel,nosuid,nodev,relatime,data=ordered 0 0
/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/apps_log /mnt/idd ext4 rw,seclabel,nosuid,nodev,noexec,noatime,discard,no barrier,data=ordered 0 0
tmpfs /storage/remote tmpfs rw,seclabel,relatime,size=1024k,nr_inodes=256,mode =750,gid=1028 0 0
/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/LTALabel /lta-label ext4 ro,seclabel,nosuid,nodev,noexec,noatime,nobarrier, data=ordered 0 0
/dev/fuse /mnt/shell/emulated fuse rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,user_id=1023,group _id=1023,default_permissions,allow_other,allow_uti me_grp 0 0
/dev/fuse /storage/sdcard1 fuse rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,user_id=1023,group _id=1023,default_permissions,allow_other,allow_uti me_grp 0 0
tmpfs /storage/emulated tmpfs rw,seclabel,nosuid,nodev,relatime,mode=050,gid=102 8 0 0
/dev/block/vold/179:65 /mnt/media_rw/sdcard1 vfat rw,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,uid=1023,g id=1023,fmask=0007,dmask=0007,allow_utime=0020,cod epage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
/dev/fuse /storage/emulated/0 fuse rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,user_id=1023,group _id=1023,default_permissions,allow_other,allow_uti me_grp 0 0
/dev/fuse /storage/emulated/0/Android/obb fuse rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,user_id=1023,group _id=1023,default_permissions,allow_other,allow_uti me_grp 0 0
/dev/fuse /storage/emulated/legacy fuse rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,user_id=1023,group _id=1023,default_permissions,allow_other,allow_uti me_grp 0 0
/dev/fuse /storage/emulated/legacy/Android/obb fuse rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,user_id=1023,group _id=1023,default_permissions,allow_other,allow_uti me_grp 0 0
root@C6833:/ #
4th May 2014, 02:15 PM   |  #2  
Account currently disabled
Flag Kepler-34b
Thanks Meter: 5,659
 
15,002 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
You obviously do not have the permission to do that, so the question is, are you rooted, and if so root again and be sure to have the latest SuperSU installed with updated binaries.

Sent from my Z Ultra
4th May 2014, 02:50 PM   |  #3  
garreth83@gmail.com's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LordManhattan

You obviously do not have the permission to do that, so the question is, are you rooted, and if so root again and be sure to have the latest SuperSU installed with updated binaries.

Sent from my Z Ultra

Yes, I am able to gain root access but unable to boot into recovery

Sent from my C6833 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
4th May 2014, 07:17 PM   |  #4  
blueether's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Thanks Meter: 1,177
 
2,687 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by garreth83@gmail.com

Yes, I am able to gain root access but unable to boot into recovery

Sent from my C6833 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

What kernel are you on?

How did you get root?

Bootloader unlocked?
5th May 2014, 03:34 AM   |  #5  
garreth83@gmail.com's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueether

What kernel are you on?

How did you get root?

Bootloader unlocked?


My kernel version is 3.40-perf jackie099@ubuntu #1 and bootloader is unlocked.

I gained root by downgrading my firmware to .532 version and install rooting using a program called Root_with_Restore_by_Bin4ry_v33. After rooting is successful, install dualrecovery and upgrade my firmware to .757 version by flashing a specific zip file via recovery followed by flash FTF with Flashtool.

Am I doing it correctly? Is there a better way to do it?
5th May 2014, 05:13 AM   |  #6  
blueether's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Thanks Meter: 1,177
 
2,687 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by garreth83@gmail.com

My kernel version is 3.40-perf jackie099@ubuntu #1 and bootloader is unlocked.

I gained root by downgrading my firmware to .532 version and install rooting using a program called Root_with_Restore_by_Bin4ry_v33. After rooting is successful, install dualrecovery and upgrade my firmware to .757 version by flashing a specific zip file via recovery followed by flash FTF with Flashtool.

Am I doing it correctly? Is there a better way to do it?

I would try to reflash supersu and see if that fixes it
17th June 2014, 08:44 AM   |  #7  
MidnightHarvester's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag In the VAST
Thanks Meter: 79
 
147 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
I'm not sure. I'm having the same issue, sort of. I can mount /system to read write easily but can't mount back to read only. Getting "resource busy" message. Running a 4.4.2 LG G2 ROM. Could it have anything to do with how /system is formatted within TWRP recovery? Idk.. Luckily not being able to mount as read only isn't exactly an issue but more of a nuisance.

Edit:: Found a solution minutes after posting.

Code:
su
mount -o remount,rw /system # works fine
mount -o remount,ro /system # resource busy error
mount -o remount ro /system # works fine without comma
With this knowledge I can go through and fix a few scripts that have the comma between remount and ro. Not sure why this is as it's always worked fine ever since my OG DROID.
Last edited by MidnightHarvester; 17th June 2014 at 08:54 AM.
15th August 2014, 11:33 AM   |  #8  
EvilMember's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Delhi
Thanks Meter: 26
 
105 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Any updates ??
20th August 2014, 02:18 AM   |  #9  
nedooo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 286
 
1,254 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilMember

Any updates ??

As blueether said flaah latest supersu...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes