Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,858 Members 36,634 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] HTC One (M7) can't flash recovery | "target reported max download size.."

Tip us?
 
EvilLilMonster
Old
#11  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Melbourne
Default 235

Quote:
Originally Posted by bored_stupid View Post
Download this one openrecovery-twrp-2.6.3.3-m7.img

http://techerrata.com/file/twrp2/m7/...2.6.3.3-m7.img

Put the recovery in your adb/fastboot folder and connect your phone to the PC
Reboot to bootloader, the press shift/right mouse button and open command window here.

type fastboot devices
if a serial no is displayed type

fastboot flash recovery openrecovery-twrp-2.6.3.3-m7.img

fastboot erase cache

fastboot reboot-bootloader

enter recovery
I have tried that recovery verison as well, since I know it works on the device. I get the same results
 
bored_stupid
Old
#12  
bored_stupid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 182
Posts: 667
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hereford
Do you have a working rom at the moment?
 
SaHiLzZ
Old
#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 417
Posts: 1,724
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilLilMonster View Post
This is the response I get with fastboot methods;

target reported max download size of 1496092672 bytes
sending 'recovery' (9434 KB)...
OKAY [ 1.287s]
writing 'recovery'...
OKAY [ 0.726s]
finished. total time: 2.016s


Help! How can I fix this issue and get it back to stock? Thanks in advance for the help.
I dont see a problem here... What is the problem ?
 
EvilLilMonster
Old
#14  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Melbourne
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaHiLzZ View Post
I dont see a problem here... What is the problem ?
The recovery doesn't run, I can't boot into recovery
 
EvilLilMonster
Old
#15  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Melbourne
Quote:
Originally Posted by bored_stupid View Post
Do you have a working rom at the moment?
No, the ROM I have doesn't go through the initial setup, it simply stops responding. I have had other ROM's installed before.
 
alray
Old
#16  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,098
Posts: 2,841
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilLilMonster View Post
The recovery doesn't run, I can't boot into recovery
did you erased cache after flashing the recovery?

Code:
fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
fastboot erase cache
fastboot reboot-bootloader
then boot in recovery
If I've helped you, please hit the ''tanks'' button
If you want a reply, quote or mention me using @alray

Useful links for the HTC One:
nkk71's SuperGUIDE to returning 100% back to stock
Flashing requirements chart by nkk71
HTC1Guru.com by crushalot
 
EvilLilMonster
Old
#17  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Melbourne
Quote:
Originally Posted by alray View Post
did you erased cache after flashing the recovery?

Code:
fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
fastboot erase cache
fastboot reboot-bootloader
then boot in recovery
I have tried that yes, same issue...
 
SaHiLzZ
Old
#18  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 417
Posts: 1,724
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilLilMonster View Post
I have tried that yes, same issue...
Next step will be to post the output of your fastboot getvar all (remove IMEI) and get a stock recovery and flash, and then try to get in the recovery.

If still not working, then get the firmware.zip matching your device's current main version, and flash it in RUU mode with a locked bootloader
 
EvilLilMonster
Old
#19  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Melbourne
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaHiLzZ View Post
Next step will be to post the output of your fastboot getvar all (remove IMEI) and get a stock recovery and flash, and then try to get in the recovery.

If still not working, then get the firmware.zip matching your device's current main version, and flash it in RUU mode with a locked bootloader
I have posted a getvar

I have also tried to flash an RUU with limited success, it failed due to s-on, I have tried to get s-off, but ADB is not seeing the device.
 
Benetatos
Old
#20  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Aug 2014
Default Tried this

I tried this, after I do it I get "Active cmdline overflow!". What should I do?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Schedule Is Up for xda:devcon ’14

With xda:devcon ’14 just around the corner, and the venue close to selling out, there is a lot … more

aLogcat Returns Thanks to XDA Love

The developers of Android, that is Google, gave users several great debugging tools that can be used in … more

And the Winners in the XDA Pebble Development Challenge Are…

Almost two months ago, we set out with Pebble to findthree amazing … more

MediaTek Releases Full Kernel Source for First Android One Devices

Those who might have thought that MediaTek wouldnever release working … more