MultiROM Once Again Available for the Galaxy S4

Multiboot, or the ability to select betweenmultiple operating systems on a single device at … more

Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more
Post Reply

[Q] Can't access ReLunch settings and TestCenterService

10th June 2014, 12:31 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Hi! I don't know how it happened, I was customizing the screen buttons behaviour in ReLaunch settings and was very careful doing it. And it worked fine. But now I can't access ReLaunch settings menu when I tap on it, the screen flashes and goes back to previous screen(Relaunch file manager). The same thing happens when I tap on TestCenterService app; It was working fine before; don't know how to fix this; if someone could help please?
Last edited by Dexnet; 10th June 2014 at 03:00 PM.
13th June 2014, 08:29 PM   |  #2  
Renate NST's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Boston
Thanks Meter: 807
 
1,995 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Use ADB and do a logcat.
That will tell you what is screwed up.
20th July 2014, 05:45 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Flag Budapest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
More
Unhappy ReLaunch Settings menu disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dexnet

... I can't access ReLaunch settings menu when I tap on it, the screen flashes and goes back to previous screen(Relaunch file manager). The same thing happens when I tap on TestCenterService app; It was working fine before...


Hi, I have the very same problem as mentioned: "Can't access ReLunch settings and TestCenterService". I tried a couple of things to fix it: e.g. I reinstalled ReLaunch v.1.3.8 and Nook Touch Mod Manager v.0.4.0 , I reset the button's functions to default, nothing helped...

Following Renate's advice, I used ADB and did a logcat. Unfortunately, I have no idea what is the reason. I would appreciate it very much to get some more help to understand what could happen and how to cure ReLaunch of my nook Simple Touch.... I attached the created logcat, and its alphabetically ordered version, too (logcat.7z).

Best regards, Balint.
(Budapest, Hungary)
Attached Files
File Type: 7z logcat.7z - [Click for QR Code] (7.8 KB, 1 views)
Last edited by bjuh; 20th July 2014 at 09:18 AM. Reason: to give more info
20th July 2014, 11:44 AM   |  #4  
Renate NST's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Boston
Thanks Meter: 807
 
1,995 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Sorry, I don't see any unhandled intents or exceptions in your logcat.
It seems to mean that the problem is completely internal to the application.
I have no experience with this application.
21st July 2014, 06:04 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Flag Budapest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
More
Info 2 ReLaunch Settings missing
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renate NST

Sorry, I don't see any unhandled intents or exceptions in your logcat.
It seems to mean that the problem is completely internal to the application.
I have no experience with this application.

Thank you very much for answernig so quick.

One more info, that yesterday I installed ADW.Launcher, and it has a Settings menu icon (I was happy).
However it neither works! Instead it returns a message, that no Settings apk is available in this device...

Have a nice week, best regards, Balint
21st July 2014, 11:21 AM   |  #6  
Renate NST's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Boston
Thanks Meter: 807
 
1,995 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjuh

no Settings apk is available in this device...

Oh, well that is simple enough.
Do you see the Settings icon in the "application drawer"?
Does it do anything?
Can you ADB shell in and see:
Code:
# ls -l /system/app/Set*
-rw-rw-rw- root     root      2084682 2012-12-22 13:04 Settings.apk
-rw-rw-rw- root     root        39973 2012-12-22 13:04 SettingsProvider.apk
(Your dates, sizes and permissions could be different but you should see both.)
22nd July 2014, 03:49 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Flag Budapest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
More
Question still nook settings...
Hi,
thank you again for your message.
I am still needed a little more help.

In the "application drawer" I do not have a Settings icon, instead on the ADW Config palette there is one. If I tap on it, it returns:
"Application is not installed on your phone"

All the files in my app dir have same rights like these:
-rw-r--r-- root root 1620660 2008-08-01 14:00 Settings.apk
-rw-r--r-- root root 34031 2008-08-01 14:00 SettingsProvider.apk

I tried to change, however I couldn't:
# pwd
/system/app
# chmod 666 Settings.apk
chmod 666 Settings.apk
Unable to chmod Settings.apk: Read-only file system
# cd ..
cd ..
# pwd
pwd
/system
# ls -l
ls -l
drwxr-xr-x root root 2000-01-01 05:39 lost+found
drwxr-xr-x root root 2000-01-01 05:39 etc
-rw-r--r-- root root 1248494 2008-08-01 14:00 recovery-from-boot.p
drwxr-xr-x root root 2014-07-04 00:44 app
drwxr-xr-x root root 2000-01-01 05:39 assets
drwxr-xr-x root shell 2014-07-04 00:25 bin
-rw-r--r-- root root 2279 2014-07-04 00:44 build.prop
...

(You might see, I am not a Lx expert, although I have some practice in C, LabVIEW, etc.)
Best regards, Balint
Last edited by bjuh; 22nd July 2014 at 10:25 PM. Reason: more info
23rd July 2014, 12:17 PM   |  #8  
Renate NST's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Boston
Thanks Meter: 807
 
1,995 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
/system is normally mounted read-only
To modify anything you will have to remount it.

ADW "Settings" button does this:
Code:
I/ActivityManager( 1055): Starting activity: Intent { act=android.settings.SETTINGS flg=0x10200000 c
mp=com.android.settings/.Settings }
If you can't see Settings in the drawer then something is screwed up.
You should run a logcat and see what exactly the error is.
You can also try:
Code:
C:\>adb shell am start -n com.android.settings/.Settings
23rd August 2014, 08:32 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Flag Budapest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
More
Plug Nook settings
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renate NST

/system is normally mounted read-only
To modify anything you will have to remount it.

ADW "Settings" button does this:

Code:
I/ActivityManager( 1055): Starting activity: Intent { act=android.settings.SETTINGS flg=0x10200000 c
mp=com.android.settings/.Settings }
If you can't see Settings in the drawer then something is screwed up.
You should run a logcat and see what exactly the error is.
You can also try:
Code:
C:\>adb shell am start -n com.android.settings/.Settings


Dear Renate, thanks for all your help. Finally, I gave up fixing my Nook's system.
I re-installed my backed up system then rerouted it. Now everything works again normally.
Best regards, Balint (from Budapest, Hungary)
24th August 2014, 02:50 AM   |  #10  
thenookieforlife3's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Washington D.C.
Thanks Meter: 136
 
435 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjuh

Dear Renate, thanks for all your help. Finally, I gave up fixing my Nook's system.
I re-installed my backed up system then rerouted it. Now everything works again normally.
Best regards, Balint (from Budapest, Hungary)

I wonder what actually happened.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nook Touch General by ThreadRank