Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,786,823 Members 41,905 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[SOFTWARE] [GUIDE]***Odin Back To Stock*** Retail Verizon S5 NCG and NE9 Firmware

Tip us?
 
ghostlion
Old
(Last edited by ghostlion; 22nd August 2014 at 02:53 AM.) Reason: clarity
#141  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jan 2013
Phone Odin Failure (following this guide)

Hi all,

My first time posting in a while. I had my Verizon GS5 4.4.2 rooted with towel root which like many people, had problems with the latest OTA update.

I unrooted, and factory reset my phone to be able to attempt the latest firmware update via Kies3, but that also failed.

With that, i figured I'd give ol' Odin a try to flash to stock (since factory reset wasn't working) and this failed.

<ID:0/004> Added!!
<ID:0/004> Odin v.3 engine (ID:4)..
<ID:0/004> File analysis..
<ID:0/004> SetupConnection..
<ID:0/004> Initialzation..
<ID:0/004> Set PIT file..
<ID:0/004> DO NOT TURN OFF TARGET!!
<ID:0/004> Get PIT for mapping..
<ID:0/004> Firmware update start..
<ID:0/004> SingleDownload.
<ID:0/004> aboot.mbn
<ID:0/004> NAND Write Start!!
<ID:0/004> sbl1.mbn
<ID:0/004> rpm.mbn
<ID:0/004> tz.mbn
<ID:0/004> sdi.mbn
<ID:0/004> NON-HLOS.bin
<ID:0/004> boot.img
<ID:0/004> recovery.img
<ID:0/004> system.img.ext4
<ID:0/004> FAIL! (Auth)
<ID:0/004>
<ID:0/004> Complete(Write) operation failed.
<OSM> All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 1)

(i have an odin screenshot but i still have less than 10 posts)

and finally, here's the error screen message after the odin failure

ODIN MODE
Product name: SM-G900V
Current Binary: Samsung Official
System Status: Official
Activation Lock (kk): OFF
qualcomm Secureboot: Enable (CSB)
AP SWERV: S1, T1, R1, A1, P1
UDC Start
Secure check fail: System

Firmware upgrade encountered an issue. Please use software repair assistant and try again

** I have also tried software repair assistant which mysteriously crashes half way through.
*** Using the stock .tar posted here

Any help would be wonderful. If i wasn't thorough enough, please tell me what might assist in helping me diagnose this. This turned out to be one hell of a PITA for the sake of wanting that annoying "software update" notification to go away.

~ all the best

GL
 
Misterxtc
Old
#142  
Misterxtc's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 791
Posts: 875
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Syracuse, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostlion View Post
Hi all,

My first time posting in a while. I had my Verizon GS5 4.4.2 rooted with towel root which like many people, had problems with the latest OTA update.

I unrooted, and factory reset my phone to be able to attempt the latest firmware update via Kies3, but that also failed.

With that, i figured I'd give ol' Odin a try to flash to stock (since factory reset wasn't working) and this failed.

<ID:0/004> Added!!
<ID:0/004> Odin v.3 engine (ID:4)..
<ID:0/004> File analysis..
<ID:0/004> SetupConnection..
<ID:0/004> Initialzation..
<ID:0/004> Set PIT file..
<ID:0/004> DO NOT TURN OFF TARGET!!
<ID:0/004> Get PIT for mapping..
<ID:0/004> Firmware update start..
<ID:0/004> SingleDownload.
<ID:0/004> aboot.mbn
<ID:0/004> NAND Write Start!!
<ID:0/004> sbl1.mbn
<ID:0/004> rpm.mbn
<ID:0/004> tz.mbn
<ID:0/004> sdi.mbn
<ID:0/004> NON-HLOS.bin
<ID:0/004> boot.img
<ID:0/004> recovery.img
<ID:0/004> system.img.ext4
<ID:0/004> FAIL! (Auth)
<ID:0/004>
<ID:0/004> Complete(Write) operation failed.
<OSM> All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 1)

(i have an odin screenshot but i still have less than 10 posts)

and finally, here's the error screen message after the odin failure

ODIN MODE
Product name: SM-G900V
Current Binary: Samsung Official
System Status: Official
Activation Lock (kk): OFF
qualcomm Secureboot: Enable (CSB)
AP SWERV: S1, T1, R1, A1, P1
UDC Start
Secure check fail: System

Firmware upgrade encountered an issue. Please use software repair assistant and try again

** I have also tried software repair assistant which mysteriously crashes half way through.
*** Using the stock .tar posted here

Any help would be wonderful. If i wasn't thorough enough, please tell me what might assist in helping me diagnose this. This turned out to be one hell of a PITA for the sake of wanting that annoying "software update" notification to go away.

~ all the best

GL
Make sure you are on a Windows PC and make sure the md5 is good. Use the pit file and the tar file in Odin. Also you could try entering recovery mode, wipe cache and factory reset. I just used this file today with no problems so I know there is nothing wrong with the file. I've seen this before but I'm not sure what causes it.
 
ghostlion
Old
(Last edited by ghostlion; 22nd August 2014 at 04:22 AM.)
#143  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misterxtc View Post
Make sure you are on a Windows PC and make sure the md5 is good. Use the pit file and the tar file in Odin. Also you could try entering recovery mode, wipe cache and factory reset. I just used this file today with no problems so I know there is nothing wrong with the file. I've seen this before but I'm not sure what causes it.
So the pit file also failed in combination with the tar. I should've clarified that I do in fact use a Windows PC.

Apparently I can't boot into recovery anymore either. Using the key combination brings me back to the same firmware upgrade error screen.

I don't doubt that the .tar is clean and good to go.

Thanks for the leads, i definitely thought those options might work.

GL

**EDITS**

So I got the pit to flash properly, which opened up recovery mode again (this was inaccessible prior to flashing the pit). I cleared the cache and wiped the data/factory reset

I get the following error in recovery mode at the bottom of the screen, below a very dead looking android mascot which the words "no command" under it

E:failed to mount /system (Invalid argument)

# Manual Mode #
-- Appling Multi-CSC...
E:failed to mount /system (Invalid argument)
can't mount '/system' (Invalid argument)

went ahead and tried flashing the stock image again after that

its still failing here: <ID:0/004> system.img.ext4

(again i'm not on a mac or virtual machine)



GL
 
Misterxtc
Old
#144  
Misterxtc's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 791
Posts: 875
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Syracuse, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostlion View Post
So the pit file also failed in combination with the tar. I should've clarified that I do in fact use a Windows PC.

Apparently I can't boot into recovery anymore either. Using the key combination brings me back to the same firmware upgrade error screen.

I don't doubt that the .tar is clean and good to go.

Thanks for the leads, i definitely thought those options might work.

GL
Did you try turning off the thone and then hold down the vol up, home and power buttons until it says rebooting to recovery in blue at the top of the screen? You could also give Kies a try but that might be useless because you can't boot the phone. Also try these files and see if it makes a difference.

EDIT: Someone had a problem flashing in Windows 8 but it worked in 7 for them. I'm on 8.1 and have zero problems.
 
ghostlion
Old
(Last edited by ghostlion; 22nd August 2014 at 08:44 AM.)
#145  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misterxtc View Post
Did you try turning off the thone and then hold down the vol up, home and power buttons until it says rebooting to recovery in blue at the top of the screen? You could also give Kies a try but that might be useless because you can't boot the phone. Also try these files and see if it makes a difference.

EDIT: Someone had a problem flashing in Windows 8 but it worked in 7 for them. I'm on 8.1 and have zero problems.
Sorry, I actually updated in my previous post. I'm starting to feel like I should move this somewhere else. I'm trying the alternative links you sent. This is all...quite painful haha. but at least the pit's workin'

**UPDATE**

So the full .tar(s) on that page are corrupted (they aren't recognized by odin and they don't extract).
Other files from that page will flash successfully, but its not very useful since it seems the system file is what needs to be flashed. Long story short, my phone is still out of commission. Also does anyone have the samsung verizon repair assistant installs? Verizon's page is useless (won't load) and i uninstalled everything, in order to reinstall...blah...blah...it wouldn't complete past 83% no matter what I did, but its worth another shot on a different machine .
 
Misterxtc
Old
#146  
Misterxtc's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 791
Posts: 875
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Syracuse, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostlion View Post
Sorry, I actually updated in my previous post. I'm starting to feel like I should move this somewhere else. I'm trying the alternative links you sent. This is all...quite painful haha. but at least the pit's workin'

**UPDATE**

So the full .tar(s) on that page are corrupted (they aren't recognized by odin and they don't extract).
Other files from that page will flash successfully, but its not very useful since it seems the system file is what needs to be flashed. Long story short, my phone is still out of commission. Also does anyone have the samsung verizon repair assistant installs? Verizon's page is useless (won't load) and i uninstalled everything, in order to reinstall...blah...blah...it wouldn't complete past 83% no matter what I did, but its worth another shot on a different machine .
I'm not sure what's going on on your end. I just downloaded the NCG Full Stock tar from Beans page and it loaded fine in Odin. Download the zip file and extract the tar file then load the tar in Odin. After you extract the tar from the zip do not decompress the tar file, just load it in Odin in the AP slot. Make sure your MD5 of the zip file matches. It sounds like you are getting a bad download for whatever reason.
 
ghostlion
Old
#147  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misterxtc View Post
I'm not sure what's going on on your end. I just downloaded the NCG Full Stock tar from Beans page and it loaded fine in Odin. Download the zip file and extract the tar file then load the tar in Odin. After you extract the tar from the zip do not decompress the tar file, just load it in Odin in the AP slot. Make sure your MD5 of the zip file matches. It sounds like you are getting a bad download for whatever reason.
So after scouring the internet for several hours without sleeping, i've managed to come across a verizon stock image posted here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2728128

This worked just fine. I think what was happening was, the version posted here (which is great I'm sure) wouldn't check sum in Odin, and thusly fails. I don't know why the version i posted above works, but it works after nearly 12 hours of download, trying different machines, etc etc.
 
Misterxtc
Old
#148  
Misterxtc's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 791
Posts: 875
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Syracuse, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostlion View Post
So after scouring the internet for several hours without sleeping, i've managed to come across a verizon stock image posted here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2728128

This worked just fine. I think what was happening was, the version posted here (which is great I'm sure) wouldn't check sum in Odin, and thusly fails. I don't know why the version i posted above works, but it works after nearly 12 hours of download, trying different machines, etc etc.
That's strange because it's the same file. Someone did have a problem with the AFH link and used my 2nd one witch is on MediaFire that worked fine. Maybe I'll reupload the one on AFH. Go figure..... anyway I'm glad you found one that works for you. Go get some sleep now...
 
paulnmch72
Old
#149  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Aug 2014
hi everyone, i have a question. i am new to this and had a verizon s5 stuck in retail mode and i used the info i found on here to get it back to stock by using odin and downloading the firmware and it works but now when i try to go in the reboot mode and do a factory reset it tells me it doesnt allow it and it is blocked. has anyone else had this same problem or is it something that is supposed to happen. thanks for the help.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes