Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more

Project Ara Smartphone Will Run Modified Android L with Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and … more

Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more

Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more
Post Reply

EMobile Nexus 5 Sim Data Connection - JAPAN

14th February 2014, 10:59 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
KANSAI
Thanks Meter: 2
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Hopefully this thread may help a lot of others out there and save all some time. Here in Japan the carrier staff are notoriously useless when it comes to technical help. Even the technical staff.

So bought a new unlocked Nexus 5 from EMobile Japan with a 4G-S sim piggy-backing the Softbank network. Staff stated the sim should work in any unlocked phone (now stating he said it would not lock, but says it is not IMEI specific). Anyway here's the deal when using the sim in a Docomo unlocked Samsung Note 3

* Voice calls okay
* DATA does not work.
* Have tried many different APNS including those below, but no joy.
* The Nexus 5 itself can use any sim.

Can anyone shed any light on the above? Have tried to speak to EMobile technical support but they were no help. Here are some links in Japanese on the subject.

http://decoy284.net/2013/12/22/em01l...-other-device/
http://detail.chiebukuro.yahoo.co.jp...l/q13118062853
http://apostrophea.com/2013/11/nexus5106shsim.php


Japanese APN list: http://b00111.blogspot.jp/2011/07/simapnsimsimsim.html

Also seen some talk about "The USIM-specific ID/pass". Does anyone know of this?
The Following User Says Thank You to duttyskank For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th May 2014, 01:54 AM   |  #2  
fake_japanese_guy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 神奈川県 川崎市 川崎区
Thanks Meter: 375
 
287 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by duttyskank

Hopefully this thread may help a lot of others out there and save all some time. Here in Japan the carrier staff are notoriously useless when it comes to technical help. Even the technical staff.

So bought a new unlocked Nexus 5 from EMobile Japan with a 4G-S sim piggy-backing the Softbank network. Staff stated the sim should work in any unlocked phone (now stating he said it would not lock, but says it is not IMEI specific). Anyway here's the deal when using the sim in a Docomo unlocked Samsung Note 3

* Voice calls okay
* DATA does not work.
* Have tried many different APNS including those below, but no joy.
* The Nexus 5 itself can use any sim.

Can anyone shed any light on the above? Have tried to speak to EMobile technical support but they were no help. Here are some links in Japanese on the subject.

http://decoy284.net/2013/12/22/em01l...-other-device/
http://detail.chiebukuro.yahoo.co.jp...l/q13118062853
http://apostrophea.com/2013/11/nexus5106shsim.php


Japanese APN list: http://b00111.blogspot.jp/2011/07/simapnsimsimsim.html

Also seen some talk about "The USIM-specific ID/pass". Does anyone know of this?

any updates on this??

I have some questions:
- Is the Docomo Phone unlocked?
- Did you try the Emobile Sim on another International LTE phone (other than iPhone)?
8th May 2014, 04:02 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
KANSAI
Thanks Meter: 2
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Hi fake guy. No positive updates. Just some clarification. EMobile Japan uses a type of device filtering (like IMEI filtering) that allows their SIM only to work in devices with certain spec. I.e. Nexus 5 and their Arrows phone. This means you CANNOT get data services in an UNLOCKED phone like my unlocked Docomo Note 3 or my international HTC SV LTE.
I was told that Emobile tech have an engineering code that can remove this, but of course this would never be publicised.

Why they choose to do this when their target users are business people, early adopters and foreigners who want flexibility, and the fact they are losing the tiny market share they.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
10th May 2014, 01:12 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Flag Tokyo
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Phone Emobile 4G-S locked
same here - no ability to connect to data network using emobile 4G-S sim into simfree Xperia Z2....Anyone has an idea as to what is the filter/lock used by Emobile (phone model type etc...) or found a way around it ?
18th August 2014, 07:21 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
eMobile phone SIMs
Quote:
Originally Posted by terracielo

same here - no ability to connect to data network using emobile 4G-S sim into simfree Xperia Z2....Anyone has an idea as to what is the filter/lock used by Emobile (phone model type etc...) or found a way around it ?

I don't have a huge amount of experience trying to use eMobile phone SIM cards for data, but I can tell you that SIM cards sold for an eMobile feature flip phone work in the Sony Mini Smart Phone that eMobile was selling just fine.

Also, I took a data only SIM for a GL06P and put it in a NEC Aterm router and it works just fine.

In my experience they don'T filter by phone IMEI or anything like that, it's just that they use band 9, which isn't supported by a lot of hardware. For example, I have an unlocked DoCoMo Xperia Z1 and it works with other SIM cards fine, but it doesn't work with eMobile just because of the frequency support.
18th August 2014, 07:50 AM   |  #6  
OP Member
KANSAI
Thanks Meter: 2
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Thanks Shiruba. That may be another possibility, but I visited my EMobile, sorry Y!Mobile (rolling my eyes ) shop last week, and they said a customer reported success in getting data with the Nexus 5 sim in different handsets. Coincidence as I just had a feeling to check about that time , and sure enough the Japanese blog had updated with this info. They report intermittent success.

http://decoy284.net/2013/12/22/em01l...-other-device/

http://decoy284.net/2014/08/11/nexus...-other-device/

If anyone gets success, please report here for others.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Last edited by duttyskank; 18th August 2014 at 07:53 AM.
18th August 2014, 07:58 AM   |  #7  
OP Member
KANSAI
Thanks Meter: 2
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
@terracielo You want to check again. Seems like the links above have it working on Xperia Z Ultra.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
26th August 2014, 03:44 PM   |  #8  
OP Member
KANSAI
Thanks Meter: 2
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
UPDATE

Checked my sim in HTC one SV. Got 4G. However, no luck in my Samsung Docomo S4 unlocked.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
softbank
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes