FORUMS

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

The Atlas of XDA

A few weeks ago, we asked you “How Does Your Location Affect Your Life As A Power User?”. In the days that … more

New Snapdragons: Some Context & Contrast

It hasn’t been a good year for Qualcomm so far. Every device featuring the Snapdragon 810 … more

Google To Launch Next Gen Android One On July 14

The first gen of Android One devices to be launched in India in September 2014 were … more

E980 Keeps booting into CWM Recovery

2 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By LGPRO, Junior Member on 22nd June 2014, 09:45 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I have the stock rom/kernel installed on my phone after being on CM11 for a while. The process worked fine and I have been on stock LG for about 2 weeks. This morning, I turned on my phone and it came up with a notification saying I can update the phone to a newer version. I clicked okay and it turned off into Clockwork Mod Recovery. It didn't update, and after waiting about 3 minuted I just went ahead and clicked on re-boot device. It showed the LG logo and then did the color rotation on the home button. Then it showed up Clockwork Mod Recovery again. So after rebooting and clearing user data, cache, and dalvik cache. The phone still boots into recovery. Please help!
Last edited by LGPRO; 22nd June 2014 at 10:45 PM. Reason: Errors
 
 
22nd June 2014, 10:49 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 200
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LGPRO

I have the stock rom/kernel installed on my phone after being on CM11 for a while. The process worked fine and I have been on stock LG for about 2 weeks. This morning, I turned on my phone and it came up with a notification saying I can update the phone to a newer version. I clicked okay and it turned off into Clockwork Mod Recovery. It didn't update, and after waiting about 3 minuted I just went ahead and clicked on re-boot device. It showed the LG logo and then did the color rotation on the home button. Then it showed up Clockwork Mod Recovery again. So after rebooting and clearing user data, cache, and dalvik cache. The phone still boots into recovery. Please help!

flash twrp, reboot(say yes when prompted to fix root). If still in bootloop after that you will need to flash a rom.
22nd June 2014, 11:55 PM |#3  
fix-this!'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag midwest
Thanks Meter: 495
 
More
same thing happened to me, was up all night trying to fix it. the solution was to use lgflashtool and flash back to a totally stock rom and start over. sure hope it doesn't happen again.
23rd June 2014, 12:37 AM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fix-this!

same thing happened to me, was up all night trying to fix it. the solution was to use lgflashtool and flash back to a totally stock rom and start over. sure hope it doesn't happen again.

Do you have a link to where I can download lgflashtool, that can work with my E980?
23rd June 2014, 01:10 AM |#5  
fix-this!'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag midwest
Thanks Meter: 495
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LGPRO

Do you have a link to where I can download lgflashtool, that can work with my E980?

Its in the lg g pro general section.
23rd June 2014, 10:34 PM |#6  
zamajalo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 80
 
More
I've tried to revert rooted 4.1.2 with CWM via LG Mobile Support tool, but I got completely unexpected result - phone was updated to KitKat, so you can try that variant too.

Never install OTA updates when using custom recovery, unless you want trouble. OTA needs stock recovery.
24th June 2014, 01:36 AM |#7  
Trotter516's Avatar
Member
Flag Cleveland, Tennessee
Thanks Meter: 16
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LGPRO

I have the stock rom/kernel installed on my phone after being on CM11 for a while. The process worked fine and I have been on stock LG for about 2 weeks. This morning, I turned on my phone and it came up with a notification saying I can update the phone to a newer version. I clicked okay and it turned off into Clockwork Mod Recovery. It didn't update, and after waiting about 3 minuted I just went ahead and clicked on re-boot device. It showed the LG logo and then did the color rotation on the home button. Then it showed up Clockwork Mod Recovery again. So after rebooting and clearing user data, cache, and dalvik cache. The phone still boots into recovery. Please help!

Been there, did that. I rooted and used FreeGee immediately after getting my OGP. Got a software update the next morning... BAM!

This is what you are looking for:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2302660
24th June 2014, 02:42 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 181
 
More
Flash TWRP via your current rewcovery then follow post #9 here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=53631232

Be sure to install the recovery I mention.

I really hate this bootloop issue and am really sad to see all these posts about people bricking their phones or getting bootloops etc.
I'm not saying that people are stupid or careless, it's just that we need a whole new set of recoveries, tools, etc for Kitkat and don;t have what's needed without causing problems.
I really wish I was a developer. I'd create all this stuff myself if I could.
Last edited by spexwood; 24th June 2014 at 02:50 AM.
25th August 2014, 02:20 PM |#9  
hawkwind212's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Falls Church,VA
Thanks Meter: 180
 
Donate to Me
More
I solved my issue just by flashing cwm on top of my old recovery, which is another cwm. Just glade that I didn't have to use the lg flashtools.
27th August 2014, 06:21 PM |#10  
hettab's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
fix
1 . dowload this rom fom the link
http://forum.xda-developers.com/opti...x-pro-t2823312
2 . put it on your externel sdcard
3 . wipe and flash the rom , it has aroma instaler
4 .shose you model at the end shose the stock recovery ,
5. power off the phone off
6 .inter download mode , volume down , home buton , power
7 . the phone will ask you if you want to factory reset say yes
the phone will reboot
use freegee for new recovery , and if i was you i will stick whit that rom
clic thanks if that help
if you dont want to lose you data tray skiping etap 6 and see how it go
Last edited by hettab; 27th August 2014 at 06:27 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes