Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,968 Members 43,043 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

E980 Keeps booting into CWM Recovery

Tip us?
 
LGPRO
Old
(Last edited by LGPRO; 22nd June 2014 at 10:45 PM.) Reason: Errors
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jun 2014
Unhappy E980 Keeps booting into CWM Recovery

I have the stock rom/kernel installed on my phone after being on CM11 for a while. The process worked fine and I have been on stock LG for about 2 weeks. This morning, I turned on my phone and it came up with a notification saying I can update the phone to a newer version. I clicked okay and it turned off into Clockwork Mod Recovery. It didn't update, and after waiting about 3 minuted I just went ahead and clicked on re-boot device. It showed the LG logo and then did the color rotation on the home button. Then it showed up Clockwork Mod Recovery again. So after rebooting and clearing user data, cache, and dalvik cache. The phone still boots into recovery. Please help!
 
luisoman2000
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 165
Posts: 821
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by LGPRO View Post
I have the stock rom/kernel installed on my phone after being on CM11 for a while. The process worked fine and I have been on stock LG for about 2 weeks. This morning, I turned on my phone and it came up with a notification saying I can update the phone to a newer version. I clicked okay and it turned off into Clockwork Mod Recovery. It didn't update, and after waiting about 3 minuted I just went ahead and clicked on re-boot device. It showed the LG logo and then did the color rotation on the home button. Then it showed up Clockwork Mod Recovery again. So after rebooting and clearing user data, cache, and dalvik cache. The phone still boots into recovery. Please help!
flash twrp, reboot(say yes when prompted to fix root). If still in bootloop after that you will need to flash a rom.
Pantech Burst
Rooted and Gizmolord 3.0 (sold!)


Xperia Ion
Running Aoba_PureBlack_Ultimate Privacy(sold! Really miss it though)

Lg Optimus G(AT&T) (Sold 3 of em so far)
Running EG8 Rom

Samsung Galaxy S
(loaner from a friend-returned)

BLU Dash 4.0 (JB 4.2 version)
Loaned it to my bro while he fixes his S3

Lg Optimus G Pro(finally!!)
Running LG G3 Optimus V4.5 GPRO by Bountyman
 
fix-this!
Old
#3  
fix-this!'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 299
Posts: 2,198
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: midwest
same thing happened to me, was up all night trying to fix it. the solution was to use lgflashtool and flash back to a totally stock rom and start over. sure hope it doesn't happen again.
 
LGPRO
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by fix-this! View Post
same thing happened to me, was up all night trying to fix it. the solution was to use lgflashtool and flash back to a totally stock rom and start over. sure hope it doesn't happen again.
Do you have a link to where I can download lgflashtool, that can work with my E980?
 
fix-this!
Old
#5  
fix-this!'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 299
Posts: 2,198
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: midwest
Quote:
Originally Posted by LGPRO View Post
Do you have a link to where I can download lgflashtool, that can work with my E980?
Its in the lg g pro general section.
 
zamajalo
Old
#6  
zamajalo's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 30
Join Date: Jun 2014
I've tried to revert rooted 4.1.2 with CWM via LG Mobile Support tool, but I got completely unexpected result - phone was updated to KitKat, so you can try that variant too.

Never install OTA updates when using custom recovery, unless you want trouble. OTA needs stock recovery.
 
Trotter516
Old
#7  
Trotter516's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 17
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Cleveland, Tennessee
Quote:
Originally Posted by LGPRO View Post
I have the stock rom/kernel installed on my phone after being on CM11 for a while. The process worked fine and I have been on stock LG for about 2 weeks. This morning, I turned on my phone and it came up with a notification saying I can update the phone to a newer version. I clicked okay and it turned off into Clockwork Mod Recovery. It didn't update, and after waiting about 3 minuted I just went ahead and clicked on re-boot device. It showed the LG logo and then did the color rotation on the home button. Then it showed up Clockwork Mod Recovery again. So after rebooting and clearing user data, cache, and dalvik cache. The phone still boots into recovery. Please help!
Been there, did that. I rooted and used FreeGee immediately after getting my OGP. Got a software update the next morning... BAM!

This is what you are looking for:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2302660
 
spexwood
Old
(Last edited by spexwood; 24th June 2014 at 02:50 AM.)
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 129
Posts: 533
Join Date: Feb 2011
Flash TWRP via your current rewcovery then follow post #9 here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=53631232

Be sure to install the recovery I mention.

I really hate this bootloop issue and am really sad to see all these posts about people bricking their phones or getting bootloops etc.
I'm not saying that people are stupid or careless, it's just that we need a whole new set of recoveries, tools, etc for Kitkat and don;t have what's needed without causing problems.
I really wish I was a developer. I'd create all this stuff myself if I could.
 
hawkwind212
Old
#9  
hawkwind212's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 79
Posts: 245
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Falls Church,VA

 
DONATE TO ME
I solved my issue just by flashing cwm on top of my old recovery, which is another cwm. Just glade that I didn't have to use the lg flashtools.
 
hettab
Old
(Last edited by hettab; Yesterday at 06:27 PM.)
#10  
hettab's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 63
Join Date: Oct 2010
Default fix

1 . dowload this rom fom the link
http://forum.xda-developers.com/opti...x-pro-t2823312
2 . put it on your externel sdcard
3 . wipe and flash the rom , it has aroma instaler
4 .shose you model at the end shose the stock recovery ,
5. power off the phone off
6 .inter download mode , volume down , home buton , power
7 . the phone will ask you if you want to factory reset say yes
the phone will reboot
use freegee for new recovery , and if i was you i will stick whit that rom
clic thanks if that help
if you dont want to lose you data tray skiping etap 6 and see how it go

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes