Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Mediapad X1 dpi is way to big!

OP omniphil

27th August 2014, 05:59 PM   |  #11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by realeze

Many apps, including Google+ and Now Launcher, will not install or run.
Also, many text and other graphical elements, such as the included keyboards, are humorously large on the screen.

At 320, the device felt like a phablet. At 400, the device feels like a overly large phone.


Sent from my LG-D803 using Tapatalk

Yes, it's what I suppose,

anyway, I've installed the X1 as a carputer, and I am running Chrome, Poweramp, MusicXMatch, Sygic, Google Apps, etc, etc, etc.without problems.
The included keyboards also have normal size.

It's very strange, because AnTuTu says my tablet is 400 dpi, but all seems normal.

Well, I suppose i'm lucky
27th August 2014, 09:48 PM   |  #12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by loJaume

Yes, it's what I suppose,

anyway, I've installed the X1 as a carputer, and I am running Chrome, Poweramp, MusicXMatch, Sygic, Google Apps, etc, etc, etc.without problems.
The included keyboards also have normal size.

It's very strange, because AnTuTu says my tablet is 400 dpi, but all seems normal.

Well, I suppose i'm lucky

Can you share pics and details of your carputer installation? I am thinking of ways to do the same...
28th August 2014, 11:43 AM   |  #13  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by realeze

Can you share pics and details of your carputer installation? I am thinking of ways to do the same...

Yes.
You can find some images in this Thread
You can see the tablet is well integrated with car. I used Huawei Mediapad X1 because I had some size limitations, and this one is the smallest 7" tablet I've found.

I used CarHome Ultra as frontend, and some apps for multimedia (Poweramp, MusicXmatch, Google Play Music), GPS car navigation (Sygic, Google Navigation), OBD2 (DashCommand), etc, etc, etc.
I connected tablet headset output to my car audio AUX input.

The tablet puts automatically on/off when I start engine. I used "Actions" app to automatize WakeUp/Sleep depending on charging state. Tasker app is more powerful, but It was impossible to install.

It's very important to charge the tablet with a 5V-4A regulator like this one in DX. It's important to charge battery quickly!
Also, I used an app -don't remember the name- to put tablet in lowest consumption to minimize battery drain when is sleeping.


Well, if you do the same, show us the project, ...and luck!
Last edited by loJaume; 28th August 2014 at 11:48 AM. Reason: add info
The Following User Says Thank You to loJaume For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th August 2014, 06:04 AM   |  #14  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Back to 4.2.2
No kidding, that 400 dpi in 4.4.2 is WAY to large. Thought I could live with it, but can't. It's perfect in 4.2.2, so back I went!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes