Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,408 Members 53,437 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] ViperOne M8 won't boot

Tip us?
 
jlaprevote
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: May 2014
Default [Q] ViperOne M8 won't boot

I've got the Sprint HTC One M8. Bootloader unlocked, rooted, S-off, CWM recovery.

I'm trying to flash ViperOne M8 and done just about everything I can think of but without any luck. It completes install, but upon reboot, it boots back to the bootloader. At that point, I'm able to get into recovery but can't boot into ROM.

I've been trying ViperOne 1.6.0, and currently downloading an older version to see if that'll work.

I tried Android Revolution HD and InsertCoin. Both worked fine, so I know I'm able to flash custom ROMs just fine, but not ViperOne. Any ideas?
 
chobungus
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 27
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlaprevote View Post
I've got the Sprint HTC One M8. Bootloader unlocked, rooted, S-off, CWM recovery.

I'm trying to flash ViperOne M8 and done just about everything I can think of but without any luck. It completes install, but upon reboot, it boots back to the bootloader. At that point, I'm able to get into recovery but can't boot into ROM.

I've been trying ViperOne 1.6.0, and currently downloading an older version to see if that'll work.

I tried Android Revolution HD and InsertCoin. Both worked fine, so I know I'm able to flash custom ROMs just fine, but not ViperOne. Any ideas?
I was having problems with some ROMs as well and I was able to fix it by doing an "advanced wipe" in TWRP and wiping the cache, dalvik, data and system. The default wipe in TWRP does not wipe system.

Not sure if CWM does this or if you have similar options, but you might want to make sure you wipe system.
HTC One M8 (VZW) S-Off
Current ROM: Paranoid
TWRP v2.7.0.2
 
jlaprevote
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by chobungus View Post
I was having problems with some ROMs as well and I was able to fix it by doing an "advanced wipe" in TWRP and wiping the cache, dalvik, data and system. The default wipe in TWRP does not wipe system.

Not sure if CWM does this or if you have similar options, but you might want to make sure you wipe system.

Yeah, I've tried wiping everything multiple ways. I actually tried to switch recovery from CWM to TWRP so I could do their advanced wipe, but it wouldn't work.

I attempted to change to TWRP using fastboot (adding TWRP to fastboot folder, and using the "fastboot flash recovery" command), but when I did that, nothing happened. Command prompt went to the next line without any confirmation or error.
 
chobungus
Old
(Last edited by chobungus; 30th May 2014 at 06:38 PM.)
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 27
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlaprevote View Post
Yeah, I've tried wiping everything multiple ways. I actually tried to switch recovery from CWM to TWRP so I could do their advanced wipe, but it wouldn't work.

I attempted to change to TWRP using fastboot (adding TWRP to fastboot folder, and using the "fastboot flash recovery" command), but when I did that, nothing happened. Command prompt went to the next line without any confirmation or error.
Hmm that's odd. Did you try using adb sideload? If that doesn't work I guess I would redownload the ROM (or maybe an older version), make sure to verify the md5, and try installing again.

Sorry I can't be of much help! Good luck!
HTC One M8 (VZW) S-Off
Current ROM: Paranoid
TWRP v2.7.0.2
 
jlaprevote
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: May 2014
Update: Resolved!

Tried previous versions of ViperOne with no luck.

Tried to flash TWRP again and I was able to do so just fine. Flashing with TWRP successfully installed ViperOne! Very happy with it.
 
Vancer
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 279
Join Date: Mar 2008
Hmm... I have the Sprint M8 H/K edition and having the same problem ??

Using TWRP and did advanced wipe (cache, dalvik, data and system)

Also tried flashing both "stock" version and "viper" version in the aroma options and still same thing... goes through the flash process and then just boots into HBOOT???

I downloaded twice and also checked the md5 so that's not the issue
 
Vancer
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 279
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlaprevote View Post
Update: Resolved!

Tried previous versions of ViperOne with no luck.

Tried to flash TWRP again and I was able to do so just fine. Flashing with TWRP successfully installed ViperOne! Very happy with it.
Which version of TWRP did you use to resolve your issue?

Thanks!
 
RockStar2005
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 223
Join Date: May 2014
Default Please help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlaprevote View Post
Update: Resolved!

Tried previous versions of ViperOne with no luck.

Tried to flash TWRP again and I was able to do so just fine. Flashing with TWRP successfully installed ViperOne! Very happy with it.
Can you explain again what you did?

I'm trying to restore a TWRP backup that included ViperOne M8, but it just gets stuck in boot (never see desktop). It doesn't reset to HBOOT, but again, just stays on boot screen forever. Both ViperOne M8 TWRP backups I have don't work, but when I flash a pre-ViperOne M8 backup, it works. But now I'm back to like a month ago. I don't understand why my ViperOne M8 backups don't work, but the pre-VM8 one does.

Please help, if you can!

Thank You,

RockStar2005
 
wase4711
Old
#9  
wase4711's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3,548
Posts: 8,694
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Outside of Chicago

 
DONATE TO ME
does your current firmware match the firmware on the nandroid backup you are trying to restore?

remember, If you upgraded your firmware to 4.4.3, and you are restoring a nand that was made with 4.4.2 firmware, you could have issues
HTC One M8
LG Flex
HTC One Maxx
Samsung Note2
Samsung Note
Samsung S3
HTC Evo 3d
HTC Evo 4g
Samsung G2
IBones 3,4
Palm Treo
PPC 6700
HP IPAQ
Moto StarTac's, several
BlackBerry's, several
and on and on...



ASKING FOR THANKS IN YOUR SIGNATURE IS SO LAME - IF YOU DESERVE ONE, YOU'LL GET ONE..
 
RockStar2005
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 223
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by wase4711 View Post
does your current firmware match the firmware on the nandroid backup you are trying to restore?

remember, If you upgraded your firmware to 4.4.3, and you are restoring a nand that was made with 4.4.2 firmware, you could have issues
It turns out the version I had of TWRP was corrupted. I'm going to delete it. So I guess I'm good now.

Thank You,

RockStar2005

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


MediaTek Releases Full Kernel Source for First Android One Devices

Those who might have thought that MediaTek wouldnever release working … more

Submitting a Patch to Gerrit – Featuring XplodWild – XDA Developer TV

Not every developer specializes in every area of … more

Learn How to Make a Live Wallpaper all by Yourself

Stillimages can bebeautiful, but some of you prefer to see animations on your screens. … more

Google Play Services Updated to Version 6.1

In addition to Android operating system proper, Google is focusing hard on giving the developers … more