FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

So I've managed to remove the whole OS...

20 posts
Thanks Meter: 2
 
By Jayanyway, Junior Member on 16th May 2014, 08:14 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
16th May 2014, 06:22 PM |#11  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by exad

Looks like an AT&T model to me.
Something that is not clear to me: Did you convert your phone to GPE or not? The partiton sizes are different so, if you did a GPE conversion you would need to convert your firmware partitions back.

If you didn't convert to GPE, you should just be able to restore a CWS__001 backup from the stock backups thread in the general section, flash stock recovery and download/install the OTA.

Yes, I have an AT&T HTC One M8. As far as I know, I never converted to GPE. Here's a history of what I've done as far as flashing goes.

Unlocked bootload, rooted, went S-Off, flashed Android Revolution, flashed Viper ROM, went back to Android Revolution then tried to go back to stock and broke my phone. Now I'm back on Android Revolution. I did a whole bunch of factory resets/dalvik wipes and such so maybe that's why it looks confusing?
 
 
16th May 2014, 08:13 PM |#12  
exad's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 1,471
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by exad

If you didn't convert to GPE, you should just be able to restore a CWS__001 backup from the stock backups thread in the general section, flash stock recovery and download/install the OTA.



Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Free mobile app
16th May 2014, 08:44 PM |#13  
Junior Member
Flag Vienna
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Same Problem?
Hey folks!

I have the same question I think and I don't want to open a new thread.

I flashed SinlessRom over ViperOne without converting to GPe and now I'm stuck in a bootloop...
Can I restore a CWS__001 backup from the stock backups thread, flash stock recovery and I'm good to go?

Edit: Ok, my m8 is working now after flashing ViperOne, because it fixed the partitions
Edit2: There is still no information about the os when I'm booting into the bootloader
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dd.JPG
Views:	84
Size:	54.3 KB
ID:	2747524  
Last edited by Daesh_; 16th May 2014 at 10:50 PM.
28th July 2014, 01:15 PM |#14  
Lintux_'s Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Vienna
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Does nobody know, why there is no firmware version?
23rd August 2014, 04:49 PM |#15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 109
 
More
Missing OS in HBOOT resolution
Finally got the answer I was looking for!

Download the modified TWRP from here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=54054835

You are going to have to flash your current firmware first before installing it for the OS info to show up again in HBOOT. You can use the Flashify app to install it or else just do it the PC/ADB way using command prompt like I did. It totally worked for me, so go ahead and try it!!

If you have questions on how to flash anything, lemme know.

RockStar2005
Last edited by RockStar2005; 23rd August 2014 at 07:28 PM.
23rd August 2014, 07:51 PM |#16  
HTCNerdYoda's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mettmann
Thanks Meter: 90
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lintux_

Does nobody know, why there is no firmware version?

Deleted.

Sorry didn't see your post @RockStar2005
Last edited by HTCNerdYoda; 23rd August 2014 at 08:13 PM.
23rd August 2014, 08:19 PM |#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 109
 
More
Disregard this message!!
Last edited by RockStar2005; 1st September 2014 at 06:28 PM.
1st September 2014, 06:33 PM |#18  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 109
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTCNerdYoda

Deleted.

Sorry didn't see your post @RockStar2005

Yoda,

Hey........ disregard my previous message. That version of TWRP DOES work (fixing "Blank OS" issue), HOWEVER........ I created a new backup using it and then tried to restore it over the weekend........... IT DIDN'T WORK! I think something is corrupted with it. So anyone who clicked on that link and got that version of twrp, delete it and ANY BACKUPS YOU CREATED WITH IT immediately. They are corrupted and useless.

Fortunately though, I was able to find a fully-operational version of TWRP over the weekend that has no issues and it too fixes the "Blank OS" problem too. Here you go:

http://themikmik.com/showthread.php?...CIAL)-v2-7-0-4 (Control + F this: "Downloads TWRP Recovery 2.7.1.0 (DH) | Mirror (AFH) - build date: July 13, 2014". I downloaded from the Mirror link.)

Don't worry about it saying Sprint...... the dev CONFIRMED it works for all variants/carriers. So after creating a new backup using the standard twrp, I went back to stock recovery, re-flashed my most recent firmware (2.22.401.5), and then switched over to that new version of twrp........ created a new backup and then restored it using that new version. Worked like a charm!! And the "blank OS" issue........... gone! I highly recommend it!!

So please delete that old twrp and any backups you created using it, and you should be good to go!

P.S. My thanks to Midasgalp and also Captain Throwback!!

RockStar2005
Last edited by RockStar2005; 1st September 2014 at 06:37 PM.
2nd September 2014, 02:05 PM |#19  
HTCNerdYoda's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mettmann
Thanks Meter: 90
 
More
Thanks.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Free mobile app
2nd September 2014, 02:21 PM |#20  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 109
 
More
Thanks.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Free mobile app[/QUOTE]

Anytime buddy!

RockStar2005
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes