Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,110 Members 42,252 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

S5 G900L LTE problem in Europe zone

Tip us?
 
ramsesxv
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 16
Join Date: May 2014
Default S5 G900L LTE problem in Europe zone

Hi, i have an S5 model G900L but i live in europe and seems it use different band frequency (850 instead of 800?) for LTE.

I'm able to get gms 2G/3G network but not 4G also if i have a 4G LTE enabled plan from my provider.

So i tryed to flash with odin g900f firmware on my g900L it fail for secure check.
I flashed it with mobile from device and SD odin and it worked. but device wont boot and redirect on download skin for odin for boot failure.

I also tryes to flash only modem part of firmware. phone boot but no 4g yet.

I hear the chip support all LTE frequency so it should be a parameter/soft problem.

There is any exploit for enable or costumize LTE frequency of my G900L for my geographic zone (europe)?

My device is rooted and with cwm recovery 6.0.48 working.
 
craigcrawford1988
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 76
Join Date: May 2010
Correct me if I'm wrong, but frequencies are a hardware capability, not software. So the hardware you have is not capable of supporting that frequency.
 
ramsesxv
Old
(Last edited by ramsesxv; 7th May 2014 at 09:20 PM.)
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 16
Join Date: May 2014
I'm not sure LTE (modem) chip is integrate into Snapdragon 801 processor. Every model T-F-L-I-A etc have same hardware chip "Gobi" should be MDM9625 model.

Chip is able to work with multi-band so if frequency are not fixed into something like an eprom of gobi for each model i guess it just work with drivers/firmware loaded on device boot.

I found a file in root>dev> __properties__

and found a different modem model
"MSM8974PRO"

with all specs and was a row interesting about gms band

Code:
  ril.skt.network_regist_status      „              baseband       
G900LKLU1AND2                                                                               gsm.version.baseband                     operator       8    H     numeric   22201
gsm.version.baseband operator 8 match with korean skt operator maybe i should switch it to 5 (european LTE band).

I wish to try replace some file from stock g900F firmware but have few issue to extract system.img.ext4 on wndows.

so i can't test if replacing firmware ans some setting file want let me able to connect on a different LTE band
 
atomcrochu
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 8
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chateauneuf les Martigues
Hello All,
I have the same phone, SM-G900L and it works properly in France, 2G, 3G and LTE without problem.
 
ramsesxv
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 16
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by atomcrochu View Post
Hello All,
I have the same phone, SM-G900L and it works properly in France, 2G, 3G and LTE without problem.
hi

i want to ask did you have this warning every time at phone start?



and about 2G,3G and LTE are you able to switch data mode from "mobile network" menu?

Mine G900L not show me switch option


can you post a screen of your menu is look like this?

 
atomcrochu
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 8
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chateauneuf les Martigues
Yes, I get the same screen each time I start the phone and like you, i'm not able to find the menu to switch networl option.
I will take the screen captures asap. But for me i can get the LTE without problem.
 
malek999
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: May 2014
Do you mean guys that if I bought a galaxy s5 model SM-G900F I can flash it with another model frimeware like SM-G9008V or SM-G900I and the 4g frequencies will will work fine after the flash???
 
Space182
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jan 2010
Hi all,
I am having the same issue with my G900L (on Baseband G900LKLU1AND2) in the UK - 3G is fine but no 4G (SIM is 4G ready). I am getting the same prompts that ramsesxv posted as screen shots. Ramsesxv have you found a fix? Does anyone else have any ideas please?
 
bimmerboii
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 76
Posts: 674
Join Date: Feb 2010
I just got my s5 g900L. I too had problems with LTE. But I found a fix from another post.

Dial 319712358
Code 0821

Click on Data Setting, pref and click auto.

That should fix your LTE problem

Sent from my SM-G900L using Tapatalk
Sign up here for FREE 2GB Dropbox Cloud Storage and get an additional 500mb space!
Sign up here for FREE 15GB Copy Cloud Storage and get at additional 5gb space!
The Following User Says Thank You to bimmerboii For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Chuffbabt
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Sep 2014
Default More SM-G900L Info Please

Quote:
Originally Posted by bimmerboii View Post
I just got my s5 g900L. I too had problems with LTE. But I found a fix from another post.

Dial 319712358
Code 0821

Click on Data Setting, pref and click auto.

That should fix your LTE problem

Sent from my SM-G900L using Tapatalk
Hi Bimmerboii,

I also have an unlocked SM-G900L which I picked up in Hong Kong and use on the 3-mobile network in the UK. I have changed the Data Setting to Auto and will wait to see if it can pick up a 4G network when I am next in London.

Could you help with some of the additional settings please? The Phone is LG-Uplus branded and is set by them to always be in roaming mode when I am in the UK. If possible I would like to make the UK my home network. Under Data Setting there is a submenu called Roaming Realm. Entering this opens a dialogue box with Cancel and OK buttons. Would you know what to enter here to set the United Kingdom as my home country?

Many thanks,
Chuffbabt

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes