Quo Vadis, Open {Source, Standards, World}? w/ Jan Wildeboer – XDA:DevCon 2014

Open Source was a big topic at this years XDA:DevCon … more

Android 5.0 Leaked for the Samsung Galaxy Note 3

Android Lollipop is still making its way to many new devices. Firmware updates have been … more

Learn to Sync Files Between Android And PC with Unison

Dropbox and similar cloud services are great if youre planning to keep your files … more

OnePlus Indian Ban Lifted, Android One Expanding – XDA TV

Android 5.0.1 Lollipop is available for the Nvidia SHIELD Tablet! That and … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

LG L9 P769 runs on any GSM network

OP adosin

23rd April 2014, 03:47 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Tallahassee
Thanks Meter: 8
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
More
LG L9 P769 has the ability to run on any GSM Network. T-Mobile, MetroPCS, AT&T...etc.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tmp_Screenshot_2014-04-23-09-42-321045593165.jpg
Views:	206
Size:	58.2 KB
ID:	2703735  
23rd April 2014, 05:36 PM   |  #2  
OP Junior Member
Flag Tallahassee
Thanks Meter: 8
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
More
Running currently on AT&T
Running AntonX's custom tweaked cm11 KK4.4 on p769 with micro sim AT&T Gophone acct.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tmp_Screenshot_2014-04-23-11-31-49-994371596.png
Views:	163
Size:	73.3 KB
ID:	2703937   Click image for larger version

Name:	tmp_Screenshot_2014-04-23-11-33-13-534621522.png
Views:	158
Size:	103.4 KB
ID:	2703938  
28th April 2014, 05:35 PM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
So how to do this?

Sent from my LG-P769 using xda app-developers app
28th April 2014, 08:26 PM   |  #4  
Ilxaot's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Parrish
Thanks Meter: 696
 
1,287 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Yeahhh what exactly was the point of this if you don't show us how?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
4th August 2014, 12:12 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Flag Tallahassee
Thanks Meter: 8
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
More
Thumbs up
Sorry guys I was just clarifying the question of whether or not it would run on any GSM network.

To do so you just need simply to unlock the phone by purchasing an unlock code online. There are numerous sites that sell and email the code to you within a 24 hr period. I just Googled unlock "LG Optimus L9 P769" (just enter your model). I purchased the unlock code for $7.

Then once your phone is unlocked just purchase sim card from GSM provider you would like to use. Insert sim into phone (find sim slot under battery) and activate phone with new service provider.

*There are two variants of the p769. T-Mobile and MetroPCS. Make sure you get the correct model info from your phone.
The Following User Says Thank You to adosin For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st August 2014, 07:04 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Mineral Wells
Thanks Meter: 21
 
182 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by adosin

Sorry guys I was just clarifying the question of whether or not it would run on any GSM network.

To do so you just need simply to unlock the phone by purchasing an unlock code online. There are numerous sites that sell and email the code to you within a 24 hr period. I just Googled unlock "LG Optimus L9 P769" (just enter your model). I purchased the unlock code for $7.

Then once your phone is unlocked just purchase sim card from GSM provider you would like to use. Insert sim into phone (find sim slot under battery) and activate phone with new service provider.

*There are two variants of the p769. T-Mobile and MetroPCS. Make sure you get the correct model info from your phone.

except on a bootloader that is locked you will have to change the apn settings.. which wont be easy, you have to modify a file by yourself..
4th September 2014, 01:48 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Flag Tallahassee
Thanks Meter: 8
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobra11Murderer

except on a bootloader that is locked you will have to change the apn settings.. which wont be easy, you have to modify a file by yourself..

I also have p769 with locked bootloader running kuma82's custom ROM for locked BL. Of which I've never had to manually add APN's. However I have had to add APN to unlocked BL version with custom ROM and doing so is actually quite simple.
Last edited by adosin; 4th September 2014 at 01:52 PM. Reason: mistake

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes