Post Reply

[GUIDE] how to root Boost S3 4.4.2

OP 6th_Hokage

19th June 2014, 05:09 AM   |  #1  
6th_Hokage's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Los Osos
Thanks Meter: 560
 
1,079 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
you can root the stock 4.4.2

first step make sure your on 4.4.2

second step download Towel Root http://towelroot.org/

third step place Towel Root in sdcard or internal storage

fourth step with any file manager find and install Towel Root

fifth step root

sixth step go to play store and download https://play.google.com/store/apps/d....supersu&hl=en and also https://play.google.com/store/apps/d....busybox&hl=en let super user update the binary

seventh step flash any recovery you want personally i went with Philliz Touch

eighth step if you want flash a custom rom now if not enjoy your rooted stock 4.4.2
Last edited by 6th_Hokage; 3rd September 2014 at 10:56 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to 6th_Hokage For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th July 2014, 03:33 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
153 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
work on ND8 rom? sprint phone?
14th July 2014, 05:31 PM   |  #3  
6th_Hokage's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Los Osos
Thanks Meter: 560
 
1,079 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tekone

work on ND8 rom? sprint phone?

i want to say yes but towel root does come with a warning that it might brick your device.....but i want to say yes since most things that can be done to the ND8 can be done to the NDC and also in reverse order.....so try it and report back it will be good to know if it works on both bootloaders
The Following User Says Thank You to 6th_Hokage For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd September 2014, 10:18 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Thumbs up Sprint S3 Android 4.4.2 ND8-It works!
I just used this method to root my Sprint S3 running Android 4.4.2 and ND8, since my USB port is on the fritz, and it worked successfully. I have root, and was able to do a full apps backup with Titanium Backup, and gained root access in ES File Explorer. Next, download and install a custom backup. Thanks, great job, and could not have been made easier to do!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to churninern For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th September 2014, 06:39 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
oops
Rooted the phone in one click. Unfortunately, I lost all data (no 3G or 4G connection). Did I goof? I'm looking in the stickies and can't seem to find an answer. I'd appreciate any help I can get.
The Following User Says Thank You to henhun For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th September 2014, 07:12 AM   |  #6  
6th_Hokage's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Los Osos
Thanks Meter: 560
 
1,079 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by henhun

Rooted the phone in one click. Unfortunately, I lost all data (no 3G or 4G connection). Did I goof? I'm looking in the stickies and can't seem to find an answer. I'd appreciate any help I can get.

ND8 or NDC? have you tried updating your profile/PRL?
The Following User Says Thank You to 6th_Hokage For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th September 2014, 07:40 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6th_Hokage

ND8 or NDC? have you tried updating your profile/PRL?

Ya know. People keep talking about ND8 and ND___. I have no idea what that means. I know I should be embarrassed.
UPDATE: FIGURED IT OUT, BASEBAND VERSION. GOTCHA. IT IS NDC.

I was JUST coming back to update my post. I DID update the PRL and restarted my phone. That seems to have done the trick. Thank GOD I got my data connection back!! It worked. Even though I found the info somewhere else, thank you so much for the quick reply. PRL update fixes the problem. You're awesome.
Last edited by henhun; 5th September 2014 at 07:48 AM. Reason: update
The Following User Says Thank You to henhun For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th September 2014, 07:58 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Donate to Me
More
I used it before i had a custom recovery. And on reboot i wouldnt have root. After i ran it root checker told me i was rooted then reboot killed. I installed philz and all was ok

Sent from my SPH-L710 using XDA Free mobile app
5th September 2014, 10:04 PM   |  #9  
6th_Hokage's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Los Osos
Thanks Meter: 560
 
1,079 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbnorton0524

I used it before i had a custom recovery. And on reboot i wouldnt have root. After i ran it root checker told me i was rooted then reboot killed. I installed philz and all was ok

Sent from my SPH-L710 using XDA Free mobile app

many users of basically the same phone report different things with every root method out there. If it worked for you that's great tell other users what you did for it to work and if it didn't work, then ask for help and you will get help; some people don't have success with any method while others do with all of the methods.....my phone falls under every method.....

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes