FORUMS

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Optimize Battery Life with This Useful App

Battery life is an important aspect of your smartphone, especially if you use it for more … more

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

Type Password to Decrypt Storage Data???

3,952 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,142
 
By Simer03, Senior Member on 13th May 2014, 05:42 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
So this started happening last night, after i wanted to make a backup of a rom it said it failed and couldnt mount the /data and then it asked me to type a passwrod to decrypt storage data....i have never had a password enabled for that and nothing i do can get past that unless i format my data completely.... i did that last night, lost all my data but it worked so whatever! however, today i try to do the same thing, make a backup to flash a new rom and backup failed and here we are again! DOes anyone know what is going on? Or how to set the damn password myself?? I dont wanna keep doing this! HELP!
Last edited by Simer03; 13th May 2014 at 05:51 PM.
 
 
13th May 2014, 05:49 PM |#2  
grentuu's Avatar
Senior Member
Just outside of Manchester UK
Thanks Meter: 230
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simer03

So this started happening last night, after i wanted to make a backup of a rom it said it failed and couldnt mount the /data and then it asked me to type a passwrod to decrypt storage data....i have never had a password enabled for that and nothing i do can get past that unless i format my data completely.... i did that last night, lost all my data but it worked so whatever! however, today i try to do the same thing, make a backup to flash a new rom and backup failed and here we are again! DOes anyone know what is going on? I dont wanna keep doing this! HELP!

More info required. What are you flashing? (ROM)

This sounds similar to the RUU Google Play Edition which changes the partition sizes. When you try to flash a sense rom it sees the partition sizes have changed an assumes it is unauthorised so brings up the password to decrypt message. - this is a security measure. It doesn't matter that you haven't set a password up.

This method works to avoid the decrypt storage message.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2733523
13th May 2014, 05:55 PM |#3  
Simer03's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,142
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by grentuu

More info required. What are you flashing? (ROM)

This sounds similar to the RUU Google Play Edition which changes the partition sizes. When you try to flash a sense rom it sees the partition sizes have changed an assumes it is unauthorised so brings up the password to decrypt message. - this is a security measure. It doesn't matter that you haven't set a password up.

This method works to avoid the decrypt storage message.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2733523

so for more details, last night i was on Philz recovery, i was on ARHD 5.0 and i simply wanted to go from that to Liquid Smooth, an aosp rom, and bam, thats when it started happening and so i thought it was the recovery img, so i am using TWRP now.....but today, i tried going from Liquid to Slim rom, but before i could make a backup it said it couldnt mount the data which is weird because i had literally just backed up my apps with Titanium backup onto my internal storage....

will your method work permanently? Even going from a aosp to aosp?
Last edited by Simer03; 13th May 2014 at 05:58 PM.
13th May 2014, 06:18 PM |#4  
grentuu's Avatar
Senior Member
Just outside of Manchester UK
Thanks Meter: 230
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simer03

so for more details, last night i was on Philz recovery, i was on ARHD 5.0 and i simply wanted to go from that to Liquid Smooth, an aosp rom, and bam, thats when it started happening and so i thought it was the recovery img, so i am using TWRP now.....but today, i tried going from Liquid to Slim rom, but before i could make a backup it said it couldnt mount the data which is weird because i had literally just backed up my apps with Titanium backup onto my internal storage....

will your method work permanently? Even going from a aosp to aosp?

The key part is the stock recovery wipe as this resets the partition info. From there you can restore what you want
13th May 2014, 06:27 PM |#5  
Simer03's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,142
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by grentuu

The key part is the stock recovery wipe as this resets the partition info. From there you can restore what you want

i formatted the internal storage via TWRP, it seems to work but could it be an app doing it, do you think? im just baffled as to why it happened twice in the past 12 hours
29th August 2014, 11:53 PM |#6  
MacFett's Avatar
Senior Member
Miskatonic
Thanks Meter: 21
 
Donate to Me
More
I'm having this problem too.

I was using Philz touch recovery to restore my stock nandroid to see if the location issues I was having was device or CM11 specific. I got the /data message the OP posted, but did not think anything of it as I did not really care about any data as the device was virtually untouched from purchase.

I am not able to boot into fastboot or recovery. Adb does not see the device. When I boot it connected to my PC via usb I can see this for a short period before the window closes on it's own.

Click image for larger version

Name:	HTC One boot CD-ROM.PNG
Views:	133
Size:	27.3 KB
ID:	2917354

Device is Verizon branded

[UPDATE]A friend pointed out that if you use the stock "Close apps and reboot" option it is a slower boot. Once you select that hold power and volume down and you can get into fastboot. From there I was able to get into recovery and reflash CM11. Can not get my stock nandroid to work though.
Last edited by MacFett; 30th August 2014 at 12:16 AM. Reason: Added more information
6th September 2014, 08:54 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I also have a problem
impossible:
1 - unlock bootloader
2 - enter to stock recovery
3 - install ruu

what to do ?? how to revive the phone ??
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes