Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,949 Members 43,571 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[FIX/WORKAROUND] Applying RUU.exe causing fastboot-htc.exe has been stopped.

Tip us?
 
darkarvan
Old
(Last edited by darkarvan; 7th September 2014 at 05:43 PM.)
#1  
darkarvan's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 162
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default [FIX/WORKAROUND] Applying RUU.exe causing fastboot-htc.exe has been stopped.

Hey xda,

i recently turned my HTC One into a Google Play Edition with the Conversion RUU Zips and just wanted to get back to WWE Stock and used a RUU from HTC for this, but everytime and on multiple devices I was getting the error:

"fastboot-htc.exe has stopped working..." and the whole program just crashed. (the phone wasnt bricked, even after many times.)

at the Beginning of flashing the RUU.

I solved it by flashing a Combined TWRP Custom Firmware Package from this thread (use Combined, NoWipe ZIP's with same version of ruu) and then repeat the RUU.. and this time it worked. (List of all Firmware)
I select the version that the RUU was going to flash (for example at mine: 4.19.401.9 for the same RUU version)
[* also with unlocked bootloader and S-OFF, no need to change that!]

Maybe the RUU doesnt like the GPE Firmware, but this was the solution.


Cheers.
The Following User Says Thank You to darkarvan For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
qz465
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Feb 2011
Thanks! Worked like a charm.
 
ishahxeb
Old
#3  
ishahxeb's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 25
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkarvan View Post
Hey xda,

i recently turned my HTC One into a Google Play Edition with the Conversion RUU Zips and just wanted to get back to WWE Stock and used a RUU from HTC for this, but everytime and on multiple devices I was getting the error:

"fastboot-htc.exe has stopped working..." and the whole program just crashed. (the phone wasnt bricked, even after many times.)

at the Beginning of flashing the RUU.

I solved it by flashing a Combined TWRP Custom Firmware Package from this thread (use Combined, NoWipe ZIP's with same version of ruu) and then repeat the RUU.. and this time it worked. (List of all Firmware)
I select the version that the RUU was going to flash (for example at mine: 4.19.401.9 for the same RUU version)
[* also with unlocked bootloader and S-OFF, no need to change that!]

Maybe the RUU doesnt like the GPE Firmware, but this was the solution.


Cheers.
Man....
You just saved my 300 US$

Hats off to you.

Regards,
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes