Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,836 Members 41,385 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Changing my Verizon N3 Theme

Tip us?
 
shaggy_kobain
Old
(Last edited by shaggy_kobain; 16th June 2014 at 07:46 PM.) Reason: Unsure if I am asking correctly
#1  
shaggy_kobain's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 245
Posts: 313
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Tampa
Default [Q] Changing my Verizon N3 Theme

I was just curious to know if I could take the Wi-Fi and LTE indicator from one theme and add it to another? I like the indicators from Bobcats theme, but am using Blak X for my theme and its just white bars.

I did look around for answers, and couldn't find anything that seemed to match what I was asking. Any help or direction would be appreciated, and clearly I am new to this, otherwise I wouldn't have wasted anyone's time if this was asked differently and answered.

Just some guidance is all I'm looking for.

Thanks-
 
Train88
Old
#2  
Train88's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 3,119
Posts: 620
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Greenville, SC

 
DONATE TO ME
Wow... nobody has answered yet? Yes, you can. They are simply png's in systemui, but it can only be used for personal uses

Team BlackOut... or Back Out
The Following User Says Thank You to Train88 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
neopolotin75
Old
#3  
neopolotin75's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 240
Posts: 1,068
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Indianapolis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Train88 View Post
Wow... nobody has answered yet? Yes, you can. They are simply png's in systemui, but it can only be used for personal uses

Team BlackOut... or Back Out
I've seen build prop edits that semi worked. So I should be able to pull the pngs from another system ui zip it up and flash?
The Following User Says Thank You to neopolotin75 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Train88
Old
#4  
Train88's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 3,119
Posts: 620
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Greenville, SC

 
DONATE TO ME
Have you ever used 7zip? You will have to do it on a computer, but you don't even have to unzip your rom or decompile the systemui.apk. Right click on the zip, choose open archive with 7zip, then navigate within the folders to systemui and simply replace the pngs. You will need to make sure they are named exactly the same though

Team BlackOut... or Back Out
The Following User Says Thank You to Train88 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Train88
Old
#5  
Train88's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 3,119
Posts: 620
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Greenville, SC

 
DONATE TO ME
Btw, you could also use root explorer too, but I've never used it before so not sure how people go about doing it that way

Team BlackOut... or Back Out
The Following User Says Thank You to Train88 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
shaggy_kobain
Old
(Last edited by shaggy_kobain; 13th September 2014 at 12:27 AM.)
#6  
shaggy_kobain's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 245
Posts: 313
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Tampa
Quote:
Originally Posted by Train88 View Post
Wow... nobody has answered yet? Yes, you can. They are simply png's in systemui, but it can only be used for personal uses

Team BlackOut... or Back Out
Quote:
Originally Posted by neopolotin75 View Post
I've seen build prop edits that semi worked. So I should be able to pull the pngs from another system ui zip it up and flash?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Train88 View Post
Have you ever used 7zip? You will have to do it on a computer, but you don't even have to unzip your rom or decompile the systemui.apk. Right click on the zip, choose open archive with 7zip, then navigate within the folders to systemui and simply replace the pngs. You will need to make sure they are named exactly the same though

Team BlackOut... or Back Out
Quote:
Originally Posted by Train88 View Post
Btw, you could also use root explorer too, but I've never used it before so not sure how people go about doing it that way

Team BlackOut... or Back Out

Yeah, nobody answered lol.. till now. Thanks @Train88 and @neopolotin75 for your replies and guidance.

@Train88 I tried using root explorer early on and kinda fumbled stuff up in there. I did see using 7zip before and finally had the time to dl it to the pc.

@neopolotin75 I appreciate the offer, I just wanted the guidance. If you have the time, I'd appreciate it, if not no worries.

All of these themer's do so much already and produce such amazing work, I wanted to just know/learn how to do simple mods to my ROM without the burden of someone having to do it for me.

Thanks again

Team BlackOut rocks BTW
The Following User Says Thank You to shaggy_kobain For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes