Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Changing my Verizon N3 Theme

OP Shaggy Kobain

16th June 2014, 05:52 PM   |  #1  
Shaggy Kobain's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Tampa
Thanks Meter: 349
 
380 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
I was just curious to know if I could take the Wi-Fi and LTE indicator from one theme and add it to another? I like the indicators from Bobcats theme, but am using Blak X for my theme and its just white bars.

I did look around for answers, and couldn't find anything that seemed to match what I was asking. Any help or direction would be appreciated, and clearly I am new to this, otherwise I wouldn't have wasted anyone's time if this was asked differently and answered.

Just some guidance is all I'm looking for.

Thanks-
Last edited by Shaggy Kobain; 16th June 2014 at 08:46 PM. Reason: Unsure if I am asking correctly
11th September 2014, 05:28 AM   |  #2  
Train88's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag Greenville, SC
Thanks Meter: 4,730
 
847 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Donate to Me
More
Wow... nobody has answered yet? Yes, you can. They are simply png's in systemui, but it can only be used for personal uses

Team BlackOut... or Back Out
The Following User Says Thank You to Train88 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th September 2014, 04:34 PM   |  #3  
neopolotin75's Avatar
Senior Member
Indianapolis
Thanks Meter: 244
 
1,069 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Train88

Wow... nobody has answered yet? Yes, you can. They are simply png's in systemui, but it can only be used for personal uses

Team BlackOut... or Back Out

I've seen build prop edits that semi worked. So I should be able to pull the pngs from another system ui zip it up and flash?
The Following User Says Thank You to neopolotin75 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th September 2014, 04:40 PM   |  #4  
Train88's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag Greenville, SC
Thanks Meter: 4,730
 
847 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Donate to Me
More
Have you ever used 7zip? You will have to do it on a computer, but you don't even have to unzip your rom or decompile the systemui.apk. Right click on the zip, choose open archive with 7zip, then navigate within the folders to systemui and simply replace the pngs. You will need to make sure they are named exactly the same though

Team BlackOut... or Back Out
The Following User Says Thank You to Train88 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th September 2014, 03:24 PM   |  #5  
Train88's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag Greenville, SC
Thanks Meter: 4,730
 
847 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Donate to Me
More
Btw, you could also use root explorer too, but I've never used it before so not sure how people go about doing it that way

Team BlackOut... or Back Out
The Following User Says Thank You to Train88 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th September 2014, 04:32 PM   |  #6  
Shaggy Kobain's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Tampa
Thanks Meter: 349
 
380 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Train88

Wow... nobody has answered yet? Yes, you can. They are simply png's in systemui, but it can only be used for personal uses

Team BlackOut... or Back Out

Quote:
Originally Posted by neopolotin75

I've seen build prop edits that semi worked. So I should be able to pull the pngs from another system ui zip it up and flash?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Train88

Have you ever used 7zip? You will have to do it on a computer, but you don't even have to unzip your rom or decompile the systemui.apk. Right click on the zip, choose open archive with 7zip, then navigate within the folders to systemui and simply replace the pngs. You will need to make sure they are named exactly the same though

Team BlackOut... or Back Out

Quote:
Originally Posted by Train88

Btw, you could also use root explorer too, but I've never used it before so not sure how people go about doing it that way

Team BlackOut... or Back Out


Yeah, nobody answered lol.. till now. Thanks @Train88 and @neopolotin75 for your replies and guidance.

@Train88 I tried using root explorer early on and kinda fumbled stuff up in there. I did see using 7zip before and finally had the time to dl it to the pc.

@neopolotin75 I appreciate the offer, I just wanted the guidance. If you have the time, I'd appreciate it, if not no worries.

All of these themer's do so much already and produce such amazing work, I wanted to just know/learn how to do simple mods to my ROM without the burden of someone having to do it for me.

Thanks again

Team BlackOut rocks BTW
Last edited by Shaggy Kobain; 13th September 2014 at 01:27 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Shaggy Kobain For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes