Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,147 Members 48,661 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] D802T How do I root and install custom recovery?

Tip us?
 
xxDeltaIV
Old
#51  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by keyman91 View Post
So much misinformation in this thread. I suggest you guys to have a read of this post I made on WP.

It is NOT possible to run stock Australian D802T firmware on the phone with custom recovery. There's something about our system files that make the phone unable to boot when you flash the patched kernel so that's why AutoRec will not work if you're on a D802T firmware. If you want complete stock with recovery then you will have to flash a D802 KDZ onto your phone and then use AutoRec.



Did you read the instructions carefully? You have to flash the KK D802 baseband/modem in order to get it to work. The Cloudy ROMs will not work on our D802T modems. Of course, if you flash the D802 modem, you will most likely lose the LTE TD band which is unique to our Australian G2s.
I'd be willing to try again, where are the instructions?
 
Deadfly180
Old
#52  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Sep 2014
Default If Any one still wants to root LG G2 D802T(Australian)

I have being searching on how to root my d802t but because it is different to the international mode (d802) it can easily be rooted using towelroot. But unfortunately it is important to install a custom recovery.

But I have a solution

1. Download the open European d802 KDZ here:
http://storagecow.eu/Xda/LG%20G2/Sto...D80220B_00.kdz
2. Flash the KDZ using this tutorial here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2432476 (do not touch phone or pc until 100% complete)
3. On your phone download towelroot from here:
https://towelroot.com/tr.apk
4. Open towelroot and click makeitrain. (if your device does not restart you are rooted, but if you want to check download root checker from the playstore here: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...krim.rootcheck
5.On your phone download autorec (make sure you select the d802, not the d802t this will brick your phone) link: https://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=23329332407585963
6. Open the app and run it after that you should be rooted and have a custom recovery.
Notes: You may lose 4g connectivity (make a backup first ,sorry i am not going to tell you how to do that because i don't know how.
You Will want to copy or backup your apn settings.
I am not responsible for any damage that may occur following these instructions. But it is relatively safe.

I Hope this helps. i might post a video if anyone is still confused.
 
keyman91
Old
#53  
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 46
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Melbourne
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxDeltaIV View Post
I'd be willing to try again, where are the instructions?
The instructions are in his thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2783192

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cloudyfa View Post
Installation
  • Full Wipe (Dalvik, Cache, System & Data)
  • Flash KitKat baseband
  • Install the CloudyG3
  • Choose your variant in Aroma
  • Enjoy
 
xxDeltaIV
Old
#54  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by keyman91 View Post
The instructions are in his thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2783192
I've already tried this, did this work for you? cause if it did i'll try again.
 
keyman91
Old
(Last edited by keyman91; 11th September 2014 at 03:40 PM.)
#55  
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 46
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Melbourne
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxDeltaIV View Post
I've already tried this, did this work for you? cause if it did i'll try again.
Ok, I can't find the post anymore but I was certain I read it in this thread and someone was trying to preserve their D802T modem whilst flashing a Cloudy ROM at the same time.

Only reason I can think of why you can't boot up is if you didn't flash the D802 KK modem as the same thing happened to me. But assuming you followed the instructions by wiping and installing the modem then it should work for you. I have a D802T Australian model too and it has worked fine for me in the past.

EDIT- I just had a read of your thread here and you made no mention of flashing the modem. So if you're game enough to give it another try, try doing it again but flash the D802 KK modem first.
 
xxDeltaIV
Old
#56  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by keyman91 View Post
Ok, I can't find the post anymore but I was certain I read it in this thread and someone was trying to preserve their D802T modem whilst flashing a Cloudy ROM at the same time.

Only reason I can think of why you can't boot up is if you didn't flash the D802 KK modem as the same thing happened to me. But assuming you followed the instructions by wiping and installing the modem then it should work for you. I have a D802T Australian model too and it has worked fine for me in the past.

EDIT- I just had a read of your thread here and you made no mention of flashing the modem. So if you're game enough to give it another try, try doing it again but flash the D802 KK modem first.
You're right, I didn't flash the modem, I'll try again and report back with my findings. Also quick question, did you lose your 4G connectivity after flashing the modem?
 
keyman91
Old
#57  
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 46
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Melbourne
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxDeltaIV View Post
You're right, I didn't flash the modem, I'll try again and report back with my findings. Also quick question, did you lose your 4G connectivity after flashing the modem?
No, 4G works perfectly fine but like I said it my previous post, you'd probably lose the LTE TD (extra frequency band only used by Optus at the moment) capability that's unique to our Australian G2s.
 
xxDeltaIV
Old
#58  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by keyman91 View Post
No, 4G works perfectly fine but like I said it my previous post, you'd probably lose the LTE TD (extra frequency band only used by Optus at the moment) capability that's unique to our Australian G2s.
Ahh, Damn I use OPTUS 4G.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes