FORUMS

Top Forum Discussions

[Q] fastboot boot

273 posts
Thanks Meter: 34
 
By croques, Senior Member on 18th April 2014, 06:04 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I'm using the Google Play Edition v1.3.0 | 4.4.2 | 1.16.1700.16 ROM by HolyAngel

The phone recovery is stock and I want to fastboot into philz modified cwm recovery.

I issue
Code:
fastboot boot philz_touch_6.25.5-m8.img
and watch the following go by
Code:
downloading 'boot.img'...
OKAY [  1.252s]
booting...
OKAY [  0.016s]
finished. total time: 1.268s
The phone hangs for about 10 seconds and then boots normally showing the white HTC screen with red text and then the Google splash screen.

How can I get into recovery?
 
 
18th April 2014, 06:48 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by croques

I'm using the Google Play Edition v1.3.0 | 4.4.2 | 1.16.1700.16 ROM by HolyAngel

The phone recovery is stock and I want to fastboot into philz modified cwm recovery.

I issue

Code:
fastboot boot philz_touch_6.25.5-m8.img
and watch the following go by
Code:
downloading 'boot.img'...
OKAY [  1.252s]
booting...
OKAY [  0.016s]
finished. total time: 1.268s
The phone hangs for about 10 seconds and then boots normally showing the white HTC screen with red text and then the Google splash screen.

How can I get into recovery?

If you're trying to flash a recover you should be using:

Code:
fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
Then once it's done, you can always access recovery through the bootloader. There's an option there.
If you are having problems with accessing Recovery, I would recommend doing

Code:
fastboot erase cache
Seems to fix most problems when it comes to trying to get into recovery.
18th April 2014, 07:05 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiann

If you're trying to flash a recover you should be using:

Code:
fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
Then once it's done, you can always access recovery through the bootloader. There's an option there.
If you are having problems with accessing Recovery, I would recommend doing

Code:
fastboot erase cache
Seems to fix most problems when it comes to trying to get into recovery.

To be clear, I do not wish to flash recovery only boot into it temporarily. The method in my post worked just fine with the stock roms.
Code:
fastboot erase cache
didnt have any effect on the boot process. Thanks for trying.
18th April 2014, 11:17 PM |#4  
grentuu's Avatar
Senior Member
Just outside of Manchester UK
Thanks Meter: 230
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by croques

I'm using the Google Play Edition v1.3.0 | 4.4.2 | 1.16.1700.16 ROM by HolyAngel

The phone recovery is stock and I want to fastboot into philz modified cwm recovery.

I issue

Code:
fastboot boot philz_touch_6.25.5-m8.img
and watch the following go by
Code:
downloading 'boot.img'...
OKAY [  1.252s]
booting...
OKAY [  0.016s]
finished. total time: 1.268s
The phone hangs for about 10 seconds and then boots normally showing the white HTC screen with red text and then the Google splash screen.

How can I get into recovery?

Understand what you are trying to do but never tried it.

Does the phone meet all the normal requirements to run a custom recovery? (root/su etc)

You say it worked with stock roms. Where these rooted?
Last edited by grentuu; 18th April 2014 at 11:24 PM.
19th April 2014, 01:41 AM |#5  
Senior Member
the City of Sin
Thanks Meter: 34
 
More
Correct me if I'm wrong but I think the booting into recovery command has been disabled..just like the M7 where j came from and to my knowledge the newer bootloaders disabled that ..so you couldn't just boot into recovery you'd have to flash it.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using xda app-developers app
19th April 2014, 02:55 AM |#6  
graffixnyc's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Flag New York City
Thanks Meter: 6,007
 
Donate to Me
More
Booting into recovery was not disabled on the m8. I have done it many times. It didn't work on the m7. The reason why it's not working on a gpe is the boot offsets are different. If you were on a sense rom it would work just fine. For the GPE when I did the conversion I had to use an unpublished recovery that allowed me to boot recovery..

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to graffixnyc For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th September 2014, 05:09 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by graffixnyc

Booting into recovery was not disabled on the m8. I have done it many times. It didn't work on the m7. The reason why it's not working on a gpe is the boot offsets are different. If you were on a sense rom it would work just fine. For the GPE when I did the conversion I had to use an unpublished recovery that allowed me to boot recovery..

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk

i've been trying to boot a custom recovery (without flashing) all night, and i'm running into the same issue here.
i have a brand new m8 harmon kardon edition on sprint, and am up to date as of today on all of the OTA updates.
i unlocked my bootloader, turned off fast boot, and rebooted to fastboot USB.
when i issue the command "fastboot boot recovery.img" i can see the loading bar in the top right corner of the phone, and then it reboots and loads normally without loading into a recovery.

all of this to say that i'm trying to create a backup of my own stock recovery, and have thus far had no luck.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes