Official MEGA Layers Overlays Collection

The Layers Overlays is getting more popular every day and is a nice alternative to … more

Why Your Smartphone Needs Infrared Sensors

Is it useful? Yes. Is it fun? Even more so! As of now, infrared or thermal vision solutions on … more

Giefroot Root Tool For Locked Z3, Z3 Compact

Check out this tool to root Xperia Z3 or Z3 Compact regardless of the locked bootloader. It … more

Five Free Icon Packs to Rule Them All

Android’s charm as an operating system is multi-faceted, and that’s after downplaying it … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Wifi Issues - won't turn on until reboot

OP mcall_r

21st May 2014, 05:45 PM   |  #1  
mcall_r's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Glasgow
Thanks Meter: 16
 
189 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
I am having issues with the Wifi on my Z2

I stay connected to a Wifi access point fine, but as soon as I move out of the Wifi area and then try to turn on Wifi again, it wont turn on until I either go into airplane mode, or turn the device off and on again.

I have Location based wifi disabled, stamina disabled, wifi optimization disabled and scanning always available disabled.


Anyone else having these same issues?

I haven't tried a hard reset or a firmware fix yet.

My bootloader is also permo-locked
21st May 2014, 07:44 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
141 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Try to forget your network and pair again.
29th May 2014, 06:43 AM   |  #3  
mcall_r's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Glasgow
Thanks Meter: 16
 
189 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
Forgot network and paired again. When the wifi is on, it will stay on. But when I turn off, whether manually or via the "location based wifi" setting, it won't start again if it has been off for a long period of time.

Has nobody else had this issue?

Sent from my D6503 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
29th May 2014, 09:23 AM   |  #4  
DeGozaru's Avatar
Senior Member
London, UK
Thanks Meter: 50
 
179 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcall_r

I am having issues with the Wifi on my Z2

I stay connected to a Wifi access point fine, but as soon as I move out of the Wifi area and then try to turn on Wifi again, it wont turn on until I either go into airplane mode, or turn the device off and on again.

I have Location based wifi disabled, stamina disabled, wifi optimization disabled and scanning always available disabled.


Anyone else having these same issues?

I haven't tried a hard reset or a firmware fix yet.

My bootloader is also permo-locked

Hey man, I've got the same problem.

It only happens occasionally, but the WiFi doesn't turn back on until I restart the phone.

Everything you have turned off, I have turned on.
29th May 2014, 03:10 PM   |  #5  
BanziBaby's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 75
 
343 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
I had the same issue with the 3 branded firmware .55 & also with the Taiwan firmware .69 Flashed the UK unbranded .55 firmware & never had the issue since.
29th May 2014, 04:44 PM   |  #6  
mcall_r's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Glasgow
Thanks Meter: 16
 
189 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BanziBaby

I had the same issue with the 3 branded firmware .55 & also with the Taiwan firmware .69 Flashed the UK unbranded .55 firmware & never had the issue since.

Can I flash the unbranded firmware if my bootloader is locked and my device is sim locked to EE?

Sent from my D6503 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
29th May 2014, 06:56 PM   |  #7  
BanziBaby's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 75
 
343 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
AFAIK you should be able to do that with no issues, look in the Stock FTF thread to find the UK unbranded .55 firmware

17.1.A.2.55
Germany - unbranded - 1281-4640 - LINK1
Germany - o2 - 1281-4650 - LINK1
Hungary - T-Mobile - 1282-1405 - LINK1, LINK2
Russia (generic) - unbranded - 1281-1985 - LINK1
UK (generic) - unbranded - 1282-0226 - LINK1, LINK2 <--- One you want.
3rd June 2014, 10:46 PM   |  #8  
markshane's Avatar
Member
Flag Dubai
Thanks Meter: 14
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Hi, same issue here with my Z2. I'm on .402 and still face this same issue

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk
3rd June 2014, 11:28 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
128 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
I have had this once or twice and a reboot is the only solution

I'm on branded 3 in the UK! bloody hate branded crap!!
16th September 2014, 10:15 PM   |  #10  
edika's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Same problem for me. No branded Italian phone with. 55 firmware. Someone has found a solution to this issue?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes