Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,862 Members 44,244 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[How To][Video] Root + PhilZ Recovery Galaxy S5!

Tip us?
 
MadRocker
Old
#21  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Biker1 View Post
This may be of assistance:
It's a thread about the KNOX Warranty, etc.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2477209&page=7

I read the thread about using TR to Root NF6 after you have NE6.
Seems to work.
I had ANCH which I Towelrooted.
I then Odin'd NE6 Samsung Full Stock Tar and Towelrooted.
I then installed SuperSU.
KNOX Counter is still at 0x0
I'll wait on NF6. Towelroot may be able to root NF6 in time.
Okay you want root on the NF6 firmware without tripping knox then use this method.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2790292

Someone will take it and rewrite it into a easy guide / step by step. At least this way you get rid of the spam that comes on the phone, get root and is able to adjust the dns settings to compensate for internet issues with apps / facebook and skype.
The Following User Says Thank You to MadRocker For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
soyimparable
Old
#22  
soyimparable's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 32
Join Date: Apr 2014
Thanks , works good for me

Enviado desde mi SM-G900T
Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S5 SM-G900T using XDA developers premium
 
ctaranto
Old
#23  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 18
Join Date: Aug 2010
Thanks. I used TowelRoot and updated to NF6 using the instructions in the other thread. I prefer to use PhilZ Recovery and Alliance ROM, but would like to keep the warranty (at least for now). Worked like a treat on all the phones.
 
morketh
Old
(Last edited by morketh; 13th July 2014 at 12:41 AM.)
#24  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Feb 2008
I have already rooted my GS5 (tmobile) and after rooting when I press Power button + Home Button + Volume up, my screen now looks like this:
how do I install philz recovery when I am at that screen?
http://i1.ytimg.com/vi/UvD6ZCENlJA/maxresdefault.jpg
 
Biker1
Old
(Last edited by Biker1; 13th July 2014 at 01:46 AM.) Reason: Link added
#25  
Biker1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,249
Posts: 3,379
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by morketh View Post
I have already rooted my GS5 (tmobile) and after rooting when I press Power button + Home Button + Volume up, my screen now looks like this:
http://i1.ytimg.com/vi/UvD6ZCENlJA/maxresdefault.jpg

how do I install philz recovery when I am at that screen?
Take a look here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2201860
And here:
http://www.howtoroot.mobi/2014/04/in...ry-sm.html?m=1

Download the proper PhilZ Recovery for your S5, which should be in the link below. You'll find all the info you need in Phil3759's thread. Any questions regarding Philz Recovery can be asked in this thread also:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2706253

It's been awhile for me, but I've used Odin to install PhilZ and other Custom Recoveries.
Read the above and any other tutorials just to see if there is anything anyone ran into which may create an issue and what to do during the process if you run into an issue.

I'd back up your Internal sd just in case you have to do a wipe data/factory reset.
Sometimes there is a few minutes between the Boot screen and installation.
Sometimes you may run into a bootloop and need to do a wipe in stock recovery.
The above are issues I've run into Sometimes on my previous S4.
This doesn't mean you'll have issues though.
But that's why it's good to read other feedback to see if there may be issues, and if there are, what steps you take to resolve them. Better to know beforehand just incase.
But things should be good to go.
Your extSdCard should be fine.
T-Mobile S5 (SM-G900T)
Sprint Verizon T-Mobile

NYS/NYC, USA:
Where LAW ABIDING CITIZENS & Their FAMILIES are UNARMED & DEFENSELESS Against ARMED & DANGEROUS CRIMINALS; NYS: 77,490 VIOLENT CRIMES in 2011!
 
cyaclone
Old
#26  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 292
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: CLEARWATER

 
DONATE TO ME
Date fix for backups
Can someone tell me how to fix the date stamped to the current time when doing a backup
Tags
galaxy s5, how to, philz, recovery, root
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes