Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,143 Members 54,532 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Convert Verizon M8 to International...Is it possible?

Tip us?
 
mukeshd
Old
#21  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 26
Join Date: Jan 2012
this shouldn't pose a problem if someone is using it outside Verizon band i.e. global mode right?

Sent from my HTC6525LVW
 
AmbitiousDonut
Old
#22  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 23
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Vienna / Paris
Quote:
Originally Posted by mukeshd View Post
this shouldn't pose a problem if someone is using it outside Verizon band i.e. global mode right?

Sent from my HTC6525LVW
Did you ever end up with a longer explanation as to why this wouldn't work? I too live outside the US but have a VZW m8. I won't be using CDMA here. Ever.
Is it the hardware in it (CDMA receiver) that makes this conversion impossible even if I were to flash the international RUU and firmware on to it? so far, I've just used the international ROMs and it's been mostly fine. It got my data working on my tiny, crappy, provider here too when it wouldn't in stock global mode from VZW.
 
Shadow Death
Old
#23  
Shadow Death's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 327
Posts: 1,163
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Killeen, TX
I don't understand why it wouldn't be possible considering it is a global phone that supports volte.


HTC One M8 - NuSenseSIX RC 1.2
Galaxy Nexus (Second Owner) - Whatever rom I feel like.
HTC Thunderbolt (Dead)
 
motumbo
Old
#24  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 262
Join Date: Aug 2010
I just flashed arhd 8.1 and now my phone works perfectly in gsm networks all over Latin America including LTE. So if you are planning to use your phone in a gsm network don't worry it works perfect at least 3.5G, lte whenever bands are compatible.
 
Dark Reality
Old
#25  
Dark Reality's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 200
Posts: 833
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North Carolina
SIM lock, that's why.

I've been in the smartphone game for 4 years, and I always thought CDMA was CDMA was CDMA and no two ways about it. I knew LTE was GSM, but I thought that was only for data. Now I'm hearing from the US Cellular crowd (they're a regional CDMA operator) that their phones can be SIM unlocked and can be used on AT&T and T-Mobile. As in, voice as well as data. Naturally, I called BS, but supposedly, they're doing it. Thing is, you have to be out of your contract. And then go into the carrier and ask them to unlock the SIM. If you're still on contract, they'll tell you to go pound sand. It used to be illegal to do it at all, but President Obama signed a bill that legalized carrier/SIM unlocking. So now they can do it. Whether they will or not... that might be a problem. But US Cellular, for their faults, is a 'friendly' carrier and they tend to look out for customers... sometimes... so I guess some of their customers are having good luck with that. Sounds like BS; I agree. But that's what they're saying.
HTC One M8 / Verizon / CleanROM
 
SponsOne
Old
#26  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 43
Join Date: Feb 2012
I apologize for the newb question, but I am a little confused. I live in South America and I am looking to have this phone shipped to me from the States.

My question is: If I root it and flash a ROM like Cleanrom, can I use my phone in South America to make calls and send/receive texts? Is it as easy as it was with the S4 where I just had to switch it to global mode in the settings menu and then change the SIM card?

Thank you in advance
 
CHEVYbarracuda1
Old
(Last edited by CHEVYbarracuda1; 10th September 2014 at 09:25 PM.)
#27  
CHEVYbarracuda1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 160
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Podgorica
So im also outside the US but when i was there i got the phone and now i cant update my phone to latest software version, and that bugs me. Tried S-OFF with firewater isnt working so looks like im stuck with 4.4.2. Btw i am so desperate that i wont be getting any software updates..
Sent from my HTC6525LVW using XDA Free mobile app
 
mobilemedic
Old
(Last edited by mobilemedic; 11th September 2014 at 06:34 AM.) Reason: added info
#28  
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 49
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Snowflake
Default my 2 cents

my 2 cents.
I am in Arizona but I use my Vzw M8 on a gsm hspa carrier only. i am on 4.4.4 with soff. I paid my 25.00 to get my phone soff as i couldnt find any other way. I wanted a GPE phone and strip anything vzw related. i have read verizon has different memory areas on this phone and is why you cannot flash a a gsm ruu on it.

first things first. soff fully unlocked (verizon does NOT sim lock these phones) Sunshine 25 bucks

you need a special vzw version of twrp 2.7.1.0 so it will flash roms correctly.

backup your phone !

i recomend if you want a pure android experience you use DigitalHigh Gpe for M8vzw rom

set your apns

done

i apologize for crappy typing. using my tablet

hope this helps someone. the right vzw version of twrp was my biggest issue.
 
mashk
Old
#29  
mashk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 100
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Nairobi
I live in Kenya, I'm S-OFF & always flash any ROM I feel like.
Its very easy to do it n works wonders.

Sent from my unknown using XDA Free mobile app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes