Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[i9505] Bad Wi-Fi?

OP bladez

19th May 2014, 03:12 PM   |  #1  
bladez's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
155 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Hello. I have a problem that I'd like help with.

I have a problem with internet connection on my SG4. Specifically only Wi-Fi.

For once, Samsung Apps/Hub says "No network connection" when I open them up and it doesn't connect, but if I turn Wi-Fi off and use 3G, it works. Same with WhatsApp, which is acting very weird. In a group chat I try to download a video someone sent, and it says "Download failed. Try again later.", but if I turn off Wi-Fi and again, use 2/3G, it starts the download of that video without any problems.

The Wi-Fi itself is not a problem I think. Other than those 2 apps and all Samsung connections, everything else works on Wi-Fi. YouTube (though sometimes it also loses connection), Twitter works excellently, DropBox, SpeedTest, Tumblr.... everything else works just fine.

It's also sometimes disconnecting/connecting randomly from my Wi-Fi connection. And it used to be a perfect connection before I tried flashing latest ROMs.

My phone's info:
ROM: Goldeneye v30
AP: I9505XXUFND7
CP: I9505XXUFNC4
CSC: I9505VFGFND2
Bootloader: I9505XXUFNC4
Knox warranty void: 0x1

My Wi-Fi router: Linksys WRT54G2
19th May 2014, 03:15 PM   |  #2  
RubbaBand's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Benghazi
Thanks Meter: 226
 
404 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Donate to Me
More
Try to wipe data & cache
or try to flash another modem
19th May 2014, 03:40 PM   |  #3  
bladez's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
155 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RubbaBand

Try to wipe data & cache
or try to flash another modem

I tried few different modems, like XXUEMK8 and XXUFNC9, both without and with NON-HLOS but they had the same exact problem. And this problem was at the very beginning on a clean install.

Could the modem be the problem? If so, how many times can I try to flash the modem? Can I ruin the NAND memory by flashing too much?
19th May 2014, 03:51 PM   |  #4  
RubbaBand's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Benghazi
Thanks Meter: 226
 
404 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Donate to Me
More
No you can flash as much as you can
But if you have a backup of your previous system try to restore it
18th September 2014, 06:38 PM   |  #5  
gizz68erz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Schwetzingen
Thanks Meter: 3
 
103 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Could You find a Solution? I have the same issue since months and I have no idea anymore
18th September 2014, 06:48 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Netherlands
Thanks Meter: 303
 
1,929 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by gizz68erz

Could You find a Solution? I have the same issue since months and I have no idea anymore

Try switching your modem, update your router, try a different router, factory reset, update your rom.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
connection, goldeneye, wifi
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes