Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Disable HTC M7 capacitive buttons?

OP ShaheenXE

4th May 2014, 01:48 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
London
Thanks Meter: 15
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Hey guys, is there any easy way to disable the M7s capacitive buttons? As I'm using the onscreen keys. P.S I'm using ViperOne 6.1.0.

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Free mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1399160890440.jpg
Views:	154
Size:	52.3 KB
ID:	2724230  
4th May 2014, 11:59 AM   |  #2  
ZeroInfinity's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Brighton & Hove
Thanks Meter: 8,359
 
3,653 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
So you want to completely disable all function of capacitive buttons?

If so, using a file explorer (I recommend ES File Explorer), navigate to /system/usr/keylayout and find two files named "himax-touchscreen.kl" and "snyaptics-rmi-touchscreen.kl"

open up those files as text and put a hash symbol (#) to every line of those files

Example, in himax-touchscreen.kl, it should look like this in the end:

Code:
#key 102 HOME
#key 158 BACK
Save it and do the same for the other file. Reboot and the capacitive buttons should stop functioning now. If you want to get the capacitive buttons back, just remove the # symbols on those files and reboot
The Following User Says Thank You to ZeroInfinity For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th May 2014, 02:07 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
London
Thanks Meter: 15
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Hey, I tried to do this method but, it just wouldn't save and also I couldn't find the himax file, I have enabled show hidden files, help would be appreciated

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Free mobile app
4th May 2014, 02:16 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
London
Thanks Meter: 15
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Sent from my HTC One using XDA Free mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1399205755431.jpg
Views:	146
Size:	93.2 KB
ID:	2724928  
4th May 2014, 02:17 PM   |  #5  
ZeroInfinity's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Brighton & Hove
Thanks Meter: 8,359
 
3,653 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Did you mount system?

Enable root mode in ES File Explorer and mount system first, then do the edits

EDIT: What ROM are you on? If you can't find himax-touchscreen, skip that and just do the synaptics one and report back if it worked

Also, is that what your snyaptics-rmi-touchscreen.kl shows by default? It looks like you just copied and pasted the stuff I written before If so, you don't need to copy/paste, just add the "#" symbol in front of every line
Last edited by ZeroInfinity; 4th May 2014 at 02:37 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ZeroInfinity For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th May 2014, 09:41 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
London
Thanks Meter: 15
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
It worked thanks for the help

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Free mobile app
26th May 2014, 12:40 AM   |  #7  
gordonpn's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal, QC
Thanks Meter: 78
 
268 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaheenXE

Hey guys, is there any easy way to disable the M7s capacitive buttons? As I'm using the onscreen keys. P.S I'm using ViperOne 6.1.0.

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Free mobile app

Are the onscreen buttons a feature of ViperOne? Do they work well?

Edit: Nevermind, I answered my own question by trying it out myself.
Last edited by gordonpn; 26th May 2014 at 02:55 AM.
18th September 2014, 08:36 PM   |  #8  
xdracco's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Long Beach
Thanks Meter: 32
 
170 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeroInfinity

EDIT: What ROM are you on? If you can't find himax-touchscreen, skip that and just do the synaptics one and report back if it worked

running google play edition. the only file that exists is snyaptics-rmi-touchscreen.kl and commenting out the two keys does the trick.

thanks!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes