Updated Android Lollipop Preview Images – XDA TV

The Android Lollipop Preview Images are now available! That and much more news is … more

Get a Complete Set of Logs with Andy Log

The importance of proper logging is undeniable. No, we’re not talking about lumberjack work. … more

Try Some Android Lollipop Applications on Your Device

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been officially announced and lucky users of Google Nexus 5 … more

AutoCon Manages Your Connections to Perserve Battery Life

As we’ve talked about in the past, battery life is still somewhat of a sore … more
Post Reply

[Q] Activate & Unlock International GSM for Unactivated Sprint Galaxy S5

OP ignaciogh

8th July 2014, 11:38 PM   |  #11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 598
 
911 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
A) There is NO unlock code (dunno why you guys keep calling it a code...)
B) The unlock is done OTA
C) So far, no one has figured it out
D) You can activate the phone abroad using some clever tricks in DFS cdma tool, but this does nothing for GSM/unlock.

Also where did you hear it was stored in nv ram? Not discrediting you, but I've done FULL backups of nv items up to 65535 and restored them to another phone without any success. Unless it's in one of the handful of locked nv items...

Sent from my SPH-L720 using XDA Free mobile app
23rd July 2014, 07:57 PM   |  #12  
ezeuba's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lagos
Thanks Meter: 84
 
291 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecs87

A) There is NO unlock code (dunno why you guys keep calling it a code...)
B) The unlock is done OTA
C) So far, no one has figured it out
D) You can activate the phone abroad using some clever tricks in DFS cdma tool, but this does nothing for GSM/unlock.

Also where did you hear it was stored in nv ram? Not discrediting you, but I've done FULL backups of nv items up to 65535 and restored them to another phone without any success. Unless it's in one of the handful of locked nv items...

Sent from my SPH-L720 using XDA Free mobile app

Perhaps you can take a look at this [GUIDE] SUCCESS!!! SIM-Unlock Sprint XT1056 (Sim-CRACK) and see what can be done, if at all possible. Just a thought...
The Following User Says Thank You to ezeuba For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th July 2014, 02:41 AM   |  #13  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Talking SMG900P sim unlock work around
Hello,

I have managed to unlock my SM900P (Sprint Galaxy S5) to use my Verizon sim. I only have 3G capabilities at the moment, unless someone knows how to activate the 4G or LTE. I will post what I did to get my Verizon sim to work. The phone is rooted and has the MOAR rom installed.

Here are the tools that I used (AND BIG THANKS to all the developers that helped)

BusyBox Free
SuperSu
Shortcut Master

Please be patient with me. I am about to go through my phone and post the settings I made step by step.
31st July 2014, 03:54 AM   |  #14  
Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Thumbs up
I just created a bounty thread for SIM unlock Sprint Galaxy S5(SM-G900P). Support it, if you are interested. That might help things to get little speed up.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/spri...l-sim-t2832927
7th September 2014, 06:56 PM   |  #15  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by KTrainESO

Hello,

I have managed to unlock my SM900P (Sprint Galaxy S5) to use my Verizon sim. I only have 3G capabilities at the moment, unless someone knows how to activate the 4G or LTE. I will post what I did to get my Verizon sim to work. The phone is rooted and has the MOAR rom installed.

Here are the tools that I used (AND BIG THANKS to all the developers that helped)

BusyBox Free
SuperSu
Shortcut Master

Please be patient with me. I am about to go through my phone and post the settings I made step by step.

Hi, is your unlock mode only for verizon or other carriers?

Please can you show me how you did it?


Thanks,

Mathias
21st September 2014, 07:14 AM   |  #16  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2014
Sprint Galaxy S5
Quote:
Originally Posted by ignaciogh

Hello everyone!

Im Argentinian and bought by accident a Sprint Galaxy S5 (no contract) on Amazon instead of buying a factory unlocked version.

The thing is I live in Argentina and it seems I have to activate the phone with Sprint in order to use it.

IŽd like to know:
1) what is this activation process? is it really necesary? I ovbiously cant do it from Argentina.
2) i need to use the phone with an argentinian carrier, gsm. is there any process to allow it? Currently the phone says "Invalid SIM Card".

Thanks in advance!


No puedo ayudarte pero tengo, exactamente, el mismo problema que tu.
Pudiste resolverlo o sigues con ello.
Agradeceria mucho tu respuesta !
Saludos.
TONI REBES
Principado de ANDORRA
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
galaxy s5, samsung, sprint, unactivated, unlock
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes