Browse Your Files with Ease using MK Explorer

Google has made quite an effort in perfecting the powerful and multi-faceted OS that we know as … more

How to Fix the Nexus Available Storage Bug – XDA TV

Is your Nexus device only showing half of the available storage as it should? Many … more

Don’t Forget About Birthdays with Birthday Reminder

A person’s birthday is, without a doubt,one of the most important days in his … more

Don’t Fear Flashing with I Don’t Want You!

The XDA message boards are full of various modifications, with many of these helping … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

help with adb commands for s-off and perm root

OP commandocon

31st May 2014, 03:55 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Well let me first off say i'm feeling really dumb atm.
Just bought my wife the new m8 , I've already s-offd and perm rooted mine but for some reason im having trouble getting the commands to work for hers .
im using a mac btw but like ive said i did successfully do this on this exact setup


adb reboot <–important!!!!
adb wait-for-device push firewater /data/local/tmp <<<<<<<<
adb shell
su
chmod 755 /data/local/tmp/firewater
/data/local/tmp/firewater


do i actually put the data local tmp part in or am i supposed to be putting in my local directory where i have the file on my computer
when i adb devices , i can see my device, so it is connected
in adb when i " adb reboot" it does reboot my phone
but when i try to push the firewater file it does not push , i get this

cannot stat 'firewater': No such file or directory

firewater file is in my adb folder on my desktop and its the right size etc etc .

thanks in advance if anyone can tell me what im doing wrong!!!!
31st May 2014, 04:27 AM   |  #2  
wtoj34's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Antonio, TX
Thanks Meter: 156
 
636 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by commandocon

Well let me first off say i'm feeling really dumb atm.
Just bought my wife the new m8 , I've already s-offd and perm rooted mine but for some reason im having trouble getting the commands to work for hers .
im using a mac btw but like ive said i did successfully do this on this exact setup


adb reboot <–important!!!!
adb wait-for-device push firewater /data/local/tmp <<<<<<<<
adb shell
su
chmod 755 /data/local/tmp/firewater
/data/local/tmp/firewater


do i actually put the data local tmp part in or am i supposed to be putting in my local directory where i have the file on my computer
when i adb devices , i can see my device, so it is connected
in adb when i " adb reboot" it does reboot my phone
but when i try to push the firewater file it does not push , i get this

cannot stat 'firewater': No such file or directory

firewater file is in my adb folder on my desktop and its the right size etc etc .

thanks in advance if anyone can tell me what im doing wrong!!!!

Have you already temp rooted her phone with weak sauce?

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
31st May 2014, 04:32 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by wtoj34

Have you already temp rooted her phone with weak sauce?

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk

yes i have temp root and su installed
31st May 2014, 04:34 AM   |  #4  
wtoj34's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Antonio, TX
Thanks Meter: 156
 
636 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by commandocon

yes i have temp root and su installed

Hmm. Are you copy pasting the messages? Make sure you don't have any spaces in wrong places. Maybe try a factory reset on said device. Just confirming firewater and adb are in the same directory?

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
31st May 2014, 04:37 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
yeah theyre in the same folder
31st May 2014, 02:10 PM   |  #6  
markanthonyjohn's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag New Jersey
Thanks Meter: 5
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by commandocon

yeah theyre in the same folder

Click on weaksauce to make sure it is still working and you may have to click on a prompt and then try ADB again after that.
31st May 2014, 04:36 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Figured out what it was at about 12 midnight, I had to add in the directory then put the data/local/ tmp/ etc after that.
So problem is all solved thank god was justa long night of trying commands
22nd September 2014, 03:29 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Salisbury, MA
Thanks Meter: 20
 
114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
where you add the directory?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes