5,815,061 Members 37,908 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] GPS does not work entirely

Tip us?
 
koutheir
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2011
Sign [Q] GPS does not work entirely

Hello,

First of all, I need to say I searched for weeks to solve this issue. I found no other way than posting a question. I hope someone could help me solve it. I checked the logs using "aLogcat" but nothing is relevant to the GPS. Any kind of help is welcome, I am not asking for a full step-by-step guide

* Issue: GPS cannot find my location, even when kept for long periods under clear sky (20 minutes). I tried "Faster GPS" and "GPS Status" apps to debug the thing, but useless. I simply can't get a fix.

* Infos:
Device: SGH-I337M
OS: Android 4.4.2 (Samsung Stock ROM)
Baseband: I337MVLUFNE1
Kernel: 3.4.0-1529758
Build: KOT49H.I337MVLUFNE1
Location: France

* /etc/gps.conf
##################################################
ENABLE_WIPER=1
LPP_PROFILE=0
DEFAULT_AGPS_ENABLE=TRUE
A_GLONASS_POS_PROTOCOL_SELECT=0
SUPL_VER=0x10000
CAPABILITIES=0x37
NTP_SERVER=fr.pool.ntp.org
INTERMEDIATE_POS=1
XTRA_SERVER_1=(a link to xtra1 (dot) gpsonextra (dot) net (slash) xtra2.bin
XTRA_SERVER_2=(a link to xtra2 (dot) gpsonextra (dot) net (slash) xtra2.bin
XTRA_SERVER_3=(a link to xtra3 (dot) gpsonextra (dot) net (slash) xtra2.bin
ERR_ESTIMATE=0
DEBUG_LEVEL=4
CURRENT_CARRIER=common
NMEA_PROVIDER=0
##################################################

Thank you
 
kevinco1
Old
#2  
kevinco1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 203
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Ever since I upgraded to KitKat months ago I've had the same problem. Location is found, but satellite will never fix which means no turn by turn navigation.

I've downloaded every GPS app that exists, calibrated the compass countless times...and still nothing. In that time, I've installed and run at least 10 different ROMs and odined to stock as well.

I'm thinking it's a hardware problem and might exchange my phone for a replacement S4. Searched for GPS/KitKat/S4 problem, but never found anything significant.
AT&T Galaxy S4 SGH-I337
[AOSP] S4 Pure Nexus Edition
Safestrap 3.72
 
koutheir
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinco1 View Post
Ever since I upgraded to KitKat months ago I've had the same problem. Location is found, but satellite will never fix which means no turn by turn navigation.

I've downloaded every GPS app that exists, calibrated the compass countless times...and still nothing. In that time, I've installed and run at least 10 different ROMs and odined to stock as well.

I'm thinking it's a hardware problem and might exchange my phone for a replacement S4. Searched for GPS/KitKat/S4 problem, but never found anything significant.
Normally, the GPS should be able to fix satellites even without Data (In Airplane mode) and without AGPS data also. But I get zero fixes whatever I try. I am trying to keep the "hardware possibility" a last resort. I am trying to find a software solution to a software triggered problem (the upgrade, it seems...).
 
kevinco1
Old
#4  
kevinco1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 203
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by koutheir View Post
Normally, the GPS should be able to fix satellites even without Data (In Airplane mode) and without AGPS data also. But I get zero fixes whatever I try. I am trying to keep the "hardware possibility" a last resort. I am trying to find a software solution to a software triggered problem (the upgrade, it seems...).
The fact that I have done everything possible and it still will not fix to any satellite makes me convinced this is a hardware problem.

However, since this only started when I first upgraded to KitKat (didn't take any OTAs) I'm holding out hope there is some type of fix that we're overlooking.

Any additional help or advice from anyone else would be much appreciated, thanks in advance!
AT&T Galaxy S4 SGH-I337
[AOSP] S4 Pure Nexus Edition
Safestrap 3.72
 
koutheir
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2011
I finally resolved my issue

Current situation: GPS fixes 8 satellites out of 25 even between high buildings.

Short solution: set the right CSC for your device.
Advice: Always set the right CSC for your device, even if you happen to mess with it (which is arguably your own right as you own the device...).

Long solution:
- Backup your data and your apps. During the procedure, the device !!!WILL PERFORM A FACTORY RESET!!!
- Root your device.
- Open a terminal emulator on the device.
- Type the following commands (let the terminal application gain root access when you get prompted):
$ su
# am start -a android.intent.action.MAIN -n com.sec.android.Preconfig/com.sec.android.Preconfig.Preconfig
- You will get a window with a list of CSC codes. Select the one corresponding to your device and stock firmware, and push the button INSTALL.
- The device will reboot, and !!!WILL PERFORM A FACTORY RESET!!!
- That's all folks.
- (Now go mess up things again, and again...)
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to koutheir For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
MAD12
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 22
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by koutheir View Post
I finally resolved my issue

Current situation: GPS fixes 8 satellites out of 25 even between high buildings.

Short solution: set the right CSC for your device.
Advice: Always set the right CSC for your device, even if you happen to mess with it (which is arguably your own right as you own the device...).

Long solution:
- Backup your data and your apps. During the procedure, the device !!!WILL PERFORM A FACTORY RESET!!!
- Root your device.
- Open a terminal emulator on the device.
- Type the following commands (let the terminal application gain root access when you get prompted):
$ su
# am start -a android.intent.action.MAIN -n com.sec.android.Preconfig/com.sec.android.Preconfig.Preconfig
- You will get a window with a list of CSC codes. Select the one corresponding to your device and stock firmware, and push the button INSTALL.
- The device will reboot, and !!!WILL PERFORM A FACTORY RESET!!!
- That's all folks.
- (Now go mess up things again, and again...)
Thanks Bro. Appreciate your help.
Sent from my INSANE Galaxy S4

 
HAVOK83
Old
#7  
HAVOK83's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 132
Join Date: Jun 2012
ive been having gps issues as well and attempted to fix by using the android terminal csc but nothing comes up after i enter those lines..
 
HAVOK83
Old
#8  
HAVOK83's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 132
Join Date: Jun 2012
Anybody?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using XDA Free mobile app
 
oldfart758
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 26
Join Date: Dec 2011
Smile GPS Fix

Quote:
Originally Posted by koutheir View Post
Hello,

First of all, I need to say I searched for weeks to solve this issue. I found no other way than posting a question. I hope someone could help me solve it. I checked the logs using "aLogcat" but nothing is relevant to the GPS. Any kind of help is welcome, I am not asking for a full step-by-step guide

* Issue: GPS cannot find my location, even when kept for long periods under clear sky (20 minutes). I tried "Faster GPS" and "GPS Status" apps to debug the thing, but useless. I simply can't get a fix.

* Infos:
Device: SGH-I337M
OS: Android 4.4.2 (Samsung Stock ROM)
Baseband: I337MVLUFNE1
Kernel: 3.4.0-1529758
Build: KOT49H.I337MVLUFNE1
Location: France

* /etc/gps.conf
##################################################
ENABLE_WIPER=1
LPP_PROFILE=0
DEFAULT_AGPS_ENABLE=TRUE
A_GLONASS_POS_PROTOCOL_SELECT=0
SUPL_VER=0x10000
CAPABILITIES=0x37
NTP_SERVER=fr.pool.ntp.org
INTERMEDIATE_POS=1
XTRA_SERVER_1=(a link to xtra1 (dot) gpsonextra (dot) net (slash) xtra2.bin
XTRA_SERVER_2=(a link to xtra2 (dot) gpsonextra (dot) net (slash) xtra2.bin
XTRA_SERVER_3=(a link to xtra3 (dot) gpsonextra (dot) net (slash) xtra2.bin
ERR_ESTIMATE=0
DEBUG_LEVEL=4
CURRENT_CARRIER=common
NMEA_PROVIDER=0
##################################################

Thank you


Install SELinuxModeChanger app from google play and change the permission from enforcing to permissive. Should fix your gps problem.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Change the Style of Your Notifications with HeadsUp

Head Up notifications is one of these upcoming features that Android developers hid deep … more

Google Play Store to Show Price Ranges for In-App Purchases

Google recently announced a change to Google Play Store policy that requires … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: How to Shut Up Your Phone – XDA Developer TV

So many different applications want to send us notifications that … more

Add Some Power to First Generation Snapdragon CPUs

Some older devices still remain very popular. Phones like theHTC Desire, Sony Ericsson … more