Post Reply

[Q] Lg g2, or other options ?

17th May 2014, 01:03 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Hi guys, I am new here.
I'm looking to buy a new high end smartphone and the budget is pretty low..
I was thinking about buying a used G2 on ebay from Sprint ( Prices are like from 220 to 250 !! o: )
Can I buy the Lg g2 from Sprint and have it unlocked with this thread : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2655133
Is it going to be easy ? Will I be able to connect it to MetroPCS ?
Thanks

PS: Do you have any other suggestions ?
17th May 2014, 04:48 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Buffalo
Thanks Meter: 44
 
146 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renecito

Hi guys, I am new here.
I'm looking to buy a new high end smartphone and the budget is pretty low..
I was thinking about buying a used G2 on ebay from Sprint ( Prices are like from 220 to 250 !! o: )
Can I buy the Lg g2 from Sprint and have it unlocked with this thread : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2655133
Is it going to be easy ? Will I be able to connect it to MetroPCS ?
Thanks

PS: Do you have any other suggestions ?

As much as I like the G2 it is fairly locked down and unless you are directly on sprint itself (not an mvno) I wouldnt buy it. I think maybe the new One Plus One or the Nexus is a better option for those kinds of things. Others may argue with me but if you arent locked in a contract then a more global phone might be a better idea.
17th May 2014, 06:06 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigpappa

As much as I like the G2 it is fairly locked down and unless you are directly on sprint itself (not an mvno) I wouldnt buy it. I think maybe the new One Plus One or the Nexus is a better option for those kinds of things. Others may argue with me but if you arent locked in a contract then a more global phone might be a better idea.

I am not buying the phone with a contract, I am buying from ebay without a contract..
18th May 2014, 04:35 AM   |  #4  
rogconnect's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sin City
Thanks Meter: 473
 
990 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renecito

I am not buying the phone with a contract, I am buying from ebay without a contract..

I brought this phone last week from Genco. It was a opened box resealed item for $230 taxed and shipped. I received it on Monday. This phone look new to me. I was lucky to get this one and only on their store website.I'm with T-Mobile $30 prepaid and I trying to switch to Ting. They checked and I was told that my phone imei was cleaned, but couldn't activate it. This model is too new. So I did the build.pro mod and running stock 4.4.2. It was working fine for me on T-Mobile SIM. And then yesterday I decided to try CloudyPro II 2.1.
I chose the LS-980 Variants, surprising my phone work out of the box with my T-Mobile SIM.
Check my screenshot. It have the METROPCS LTE APN built -in. Maybe you can try this ROM when you get it. Love this phone after 3 years with NOTE 1

Sent from my LG-LS980 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-17-23-10-53.png
Views:	130
Size:	188.2 KB
ID:	2749819   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-17-23-12-36.png
Views:	123
Size:	119.5 KB
ID:	2749820  
Last edited by rogconnect; 18th May 2014 at 04:42 AM.
18th May 2014, 05:42 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogconnect

I brought this phone last week from Genco. It was a opened box resealed item for $230 taxed and shipped. I received it on Monday. This phone look new to me. I was lucky to get this one and only on their store website.I'm with T-Mobile $30 prepaid and I trying to switch to Ting. They checked and I was told that my phone imei was cleaned, but couldn't activate it. This model is too new. So I did the build.pro mod and running stock 4.4.2. It was working fine for me on T-Mobile SIM. And then yesterday I decided to try CloudyPro II 2.1.
I chose the LS-980 Variants, surprising my phone work out of the box with my T-Mobile SIM.
Check my screenshot. It have the METROPCS LTE APN built -in. Maybe you can try this ROM when you get it. Love this phone after 3 years with NOTE 1

Sent from my LG-LS980 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Oh cool thank you so much !
So, I just flash the ROM and the SIM will work ?
5th June 2014, 08:38 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Im pretty sure a lot of ppl are going to be seeling their G2 once the G3 comes out, i would wait for this opportunity since phones will usually drop their price temporarily to bring in the new stuff.
18th June 2014, 05:10 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
LG G2 is the best quality/price
23rd June 2014, 06:59 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renecito

Hi guys, I am new here.
I'm looking to buy a new high end smartphone and the budget is pretty low..
I was thinking about buying a used G2 on ebay from Sprint ( Prices are like from 220 to 250 !! o: )
Can I buy the Lg g2 from Sprint and have it unlocked with this thread : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2655133
Is it going to be easy ? Will I be able to connect it to MetroPCS ?
Thanks

PS: Do you have any other suggestions ?

You can use the following thread to GSM unlock it:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2775238


I have bought a brand new sealed Sprint LG G2 from CL for $200 and have it unlocked using the above thread and am currently running it on T-Mobile.

One thing:
->You must root the phone using ioroot2.5
->You must install the autorec which will install TWRP 2.7.x[The TWRP app from Google Play won't work on Sprint G2]
->Then you will install the ROM.

In case you need any help with any of the steps, you can ask me b/c I have installed this ROM just tonight
28th September 2014, 07:20 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Thanks ! I was able to find the At&t G2 unlocked on ebay for $250 !

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Sprint G2 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank