FORUMS

Which Lockscreen Security Type Do You Use?

From pattern locks to the controversial face unlock, there are a number of different ways you … more

Xposed 3.0 Alpha 3 Released

A new alpha for the Xposed framework is out and brings several bug fixes. You’ll only need to flash … more

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (Apr 18 – 25)

Here in the digital XDA newsroom, we spend our days pouring over an average of … more

Sunday Debate: Custom ROMs vs. Modular Tweaks

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Mods and ROMs. Come with your opinions and feel free to … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Help for a beginner to know if I can buy a USA phone that works in Europe

20th May 2014, 12:02 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Vitoria-Gasteiz
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Hi,

First of all, I want to apologize me if this is a repeat thread, but I had taken a look in forum and I donít find anything about this.

Second Iím really new in this of Android, ROMsÖ and maybe Iím asking stupid things that anyone must now.

I want the model 32GB but it is only available in the USA or Asia, not in Europe, could I buy it in the USA, and later change to a Europe ROM or something like this so it can works properly here in Europe, I mean the 4G and anything else it doesnít work here in Europe with a American model phone.

I see in some Europe online shops that the 32GB model is coming soon, but it is coming since months, and I need a phone and want this one.

In the HTC web page put:

3G:
EMEA: 850/900/1900/2100 MHz with HSPA+ up to 42 Mbps
Asia: 850/900/1900/2100 MHz with HSPA+ up to 42 Mbps
AT&T: 850/1900/2100 MHz with HSPA+ up to 21 Mbps
Sprint: 850/1900/2100 MHz with HSPA up to 14.4 Mbps
Verizon: 850/900/1900/2100 MHz with HSPA+ up to 14.4 Mbps
TMUS: 850/AWS/1900/2100 MHz with HSPA+ up to 42 Mbps
4G - LTE:
EMEA: 800/900/1800/2600 MHz
Asia: 700/900/1800/2100/2600 MHz
AT&T: 700/850/AWS/1800/1900/2600 MHz
Sprint: FDD 800/1900 MHz , TDD 2600 MHz
Verizon: 700/AWS/1800/2600 MHz
TMUS: 700/AWS MHz
EMEA means Europe?

If so, looks like it have to work, no?
EMEA: 800/900/1800/2600 MHz
Sprint: FDD 800/1900 MHz , TDD 2600 MHz
Verizon: 700/AWS/1800/2600 MHz
Am I rigth?

Thanks a lot for your help.
 
 
20th May 2014, 02:57 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
EMEA: Europe, Middle East and Asia.

I may be mistaken but I think an American phone should work in Europe without a new ROM. It will need to be SIM unlocked if it's SIM locked.
20th May 2014, 04:26 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Vitoria-Gasteiz
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Thanks for your answer.

I think also it must work, but my doubt was about if the frequency has anything to see with the ROMs or it is only hardware matters.

Maybe I have to know also in which brands work my telephone company?

SIM unlocked is the same as Factory unlocked?

Thanks
20th May 2014, 04:45 PM |#4  
Onem8's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 96
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepillogrillo

Thanks for your answer.

I think also it must work, but my doubt was about if the frequency has anything to see with the ROMs or it is only hardware matters.

Maybe I have to know also in which brands work my telephone company?

SIM unlocked is the same as Factory unlocked?

Thanks

Why a 32gb ? 16gb is enough, just put a 128gb microsd card in ^^
20th May 2014, 08:57 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Flag Vitoria-Gasteiz
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onem8

Why a 32gb ? 16gb is enough, just put a 128gb microsd card in ^^

Hi,

Maybe not, I mean with one or two games, music from the Spotify, and an amount of apps, maybe is not enough, and until I have read there is a problem to send/use apps from SD card with this version of Android, or maybe as I'm pretty new in this world I have understood everything in the other way.

How many GB are really useful in the 16GB model with the Android?

Thanks for your answer.
Last edited by pepillogrillo; 20th May 2014 at 09:08 PM.
20th May 2014, 09:49 PM |#6  
Onem8's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 96
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepillogrillo

Hi,

Maybe not, I mean with one or two games, music from the Spotify, and an amount of apps, maybe is not enough, and until I have read there is a problem to send/use apps from SD card with this version of Android, or maybe as I'm pretty new in this world I have understood everything in the other way.

How many GB are really useful in the 16GB model with the Android?

Thanks for your answer.

9/10gb is free.. But if you unlock/custom rom, the system write protection is off
21st May 2014, 10:33 PM |#7  
OP Junior Member
Flag Vitoria-Gasteiz
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onem8

9/10gb is free.. But if you unlock/custom rom, the system write protection is off

So, let me see if I understood you correctly.

If I root the phone, and later unlock the ROM I can use the SD card to storage apps, music, .... without connect it to a PC?

Other question, what is unlock? Is it the S-off?

Thanks a lot for your help.
21st May 2014, 10:45 PM |#8  
Onem8's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 96
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepillogrillo

So, let me see if I understood you correctly.

If I root the phone, and later unlock the ROM I can use the SD card to storage apps, music, .... without connect it to a PC?

Other question, what is unlock? Is it the S-off?

Thanks a lot for your help.

Yes..

Unlock ( your bootloader ) is mean you can flash a recovery to install custom roms/kernel and mods( but for some mods you need s-off "haman/kardon").
S-off means that you can flash different radio/hboot/firmware, install your own splash screen. Remove the red text warning... remove your tampered banner. Not relock but lock your phone for waranty.. etc.

I was also scared.. coming from my 32gb HTC One X, but now i have 16gb internal sdcard and 32gb external sd-card. And it's enough 4 me.

Here some links :
http://android-revolution-hd.blogspo...rminology.html
http://android-revolution-hd.blogspo...eed-s-off.html
Last edited by Onem8; 21st May 2014 at 10:51 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Onem8 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th October 2014, 09:59 AM |#9  
goRt's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 27

EMEA: Europe, Middle East and Asia.

I may be mistaken but I think an American phone should work in Europe without a new ROM. It will need to be SIM unlocked if it's SIM locked.

EMEA is actually Europe, Middle East and AFRICA!
Otherwise why have an asia specific version of the phone?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes