The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

How to Root Android Wear 5.0.1 Lollipop Devices – XDA TV

The Lollipop update for Android Wear devices has hit the market and people are … more

Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Help for a beginner to know if I can buy a USA phone that works in Europe

OP pepillogrillo

20th May 2014, 01:02 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Vitoria-Gasteiz
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Hi,

First of all, I want to apologize me if this is a repeat thread, but I had taken a look in forum and I donít find anything about this.

Second Iím really new in this of Android, ROMsÖ and maybe Iím asking stupid things that anyone must now.

I want the model 32GB but it is only available in the USA or Asia, not in Europe, could I buy it in the USA, and later change to a Europe ROM or something like this so it can works properly here in Europe, I mean the 4G and anything else it doesnít work here in Europe with a American model phone.

I see in some Europe online shops that the 32GB model is coming soon, but it is coming since months, and I need a phone and want this one.

In the HTC web page put:

3G:
EMEA: 850/900/1900/2100 MHz with HSPA+ up to 42 Mbps
Asia: 850/900/1900/2100 MHz with HSPA+ up to 42 Mbps
AT&T: 850/1900/2100 MHz with HSPA+ up to 21 Mbps
Sprint: 850/1900/2100 MHz with HSPA up to 14.4 Mbps
Verizon: 850/900/1900/2100 MHz with HSPA+ up to 14.4 Mbps
TMUS: 850/AWS/1900/2100 MHz with HSPA+ up to 42 Mbps
4G - LTE:
EMEA: 800/900/1800/2600 MHz
Asia: 700/900/1800/2100/2600 MHz
AT&T: 700/850/AWS/1800/1900/2600 MHz
Sprint: FDD 800/1900 MHz , TDD 2600 MHz
Verizon: 700/AWS/1800/2600 MHz
TMUS: 700/AWS MHz
EMEA means Europe?

If so, looks like it have to work, no?
EMEA: 800/900/1800/2600 MHz
Sprint: FDD 800/1900 MHz , TDD 2600 MHz
Verizon: 700/AWS/1800/2600 MHz
Am I rigth?

Thanks a lot for your help.
20th May 2014, 03:57 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
609 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2004
EMEA: Europe, Middle East and Asia.

I may be mistaken but I think an American phone should work in Europe without a new ROM. It will need to be SIM unlocked if it's SIM locked.
20th May 2014, 05:26 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Vitoria-Gasteiz
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Thanks for your answer.

I think also it must work, but my doubt was about if the frequency has anything to see with the ROMs or it is only hardware matters.

Maybe I have to know also in which brands work my telephone company?

SIM unlocked is the same as Factory unlocked?

Thanks
20th May 2014, 05:45 PM   |  #4  
Onem8's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 95
 
249 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepillogrillo

Thanks for your answer.

I think also it must work, but my doubt was about if the frequency has anything to see with the ROMs or it is only hardware matters.

Maybe I have to know also in which brands work my telephone company?

SIM unlocked is the same as Factory unlocked?

Thanks

Why a 32gb ? 16gb is enough, just put a 128gb microsd card in ^^
20th May 2014, 09:57 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Flag Vitoria-Gasteiz
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onem8

Why a 32gb ? 16gb is enough, just put a 128gb microsd card in ^^

Hi,

Maybe not, I mean with one or two games, music from the Spotify, and an amount of apps, maybe is not enough, and until I have read there is a problem to send/use apps from SD card with this version of Android, or maybe as I'm pretty new in this world I have understood everything in the other way.

How many GB are really useful in the 16GB model with the Android?

Thanks for your answer.
Last edited by pepillogrillo; 20th May 2014 at 10:08 PM.
20th May 2014, 10:49 PM   |  #6  
Onem8's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 95
 
249 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepillogrillo

Hi,

Maybe not, I mean with one or two games, music from the Spotify, and an amount of apps, maybe is not enough, and until I have read there is a problem to send/use apps from SD card with this version of Android, or maybe as I'm pretty new in this world I have understood everything in the other way.

How many GB are really useful in the 16GB model with the Android?

Thanks for your answer.

9/10gb is free.. But if you unlock/custom rom, the system write protection is off
21st May 2014, 11:33 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Flag Vitoria-Gasteiz
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onem8

9/10gb is free.. But if you unlock/custom rom, the system write protection is off

So, let me see if I understood you correctly.

If I root the phone, and later unlock the ROM I can use the SD card to storage apps, music, .... without connect it to a PC?

Other question, what is unlock? Is it the S-off?

Thanks a lot for your help.
21st May 2014, 11:45 PM   |  #8  
Onem8's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 95
 
249 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepillogrillo

So, let me see if I understood you correctly.

If I root the phone, and later unlock the ROM I can use the SD card to storage apps, music, .... without connect it to a PC?

Other question, what is unlock? Is it the S-off?

Thanks a lot for your help.

Yes..

Unlock ( your bootloader ) is mean you can flash a recovery to install custom roms/kernel and mods( but for some mods you need s-off "haman/kardon").
S-off means that you can flash different radio/hboot/firmware, install your own splash screen. Remove the red text warning... remove your tampered banner. Not relock but lock your phone for waranty.. etc.

I was also scared.. coming from my 32gb HTC One X, but now i have 16gb internal sdcard and 32gb external sd-card. And it's enough 4 me.

Here some links :
http://android-revolution-hd.blogspo...rminology.html
http://android-revolution-hd.blogspo...eed-s-off.html
Last edited by Onem8; 21st May 2014 at 11:51 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Onem8 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th October 2014, 10:59 AM   |  #9  
goRt's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
323 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 27

EMEA: Europe, Middle East and Asia.

I may be mistaken but I think an American phone should work in Europe without a new ROM. It will need to be SIM unlocked if it's SIM locked.

EMEA is actually Europe, Middle East and AFRICA!
Otherwise why have an asia specific version of the phone?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes