FORUMS

What Are the Best Looking Apps on Android?

As more developers are updating their apps with Material Design elements, we’re … more

Cyngn Explained: Who’s Cyanogen, What’s Cyanogen OS?

While Cyanogen, Inc has been the source of many headlines lately, there … more

Verizon Moto X 2014 Receives Root On Kitkat 4.4.4

The Verizon Moto X 2014 has finally received root, albeit only on Kitkat 4.4.4 … more

Android 5.1.1 Released, Google Cell Service – XDA TV

Android Lollipop 5.1.1 has been released. That and much more news is covered … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

WARNING: There are NO Telus stock firmware files!!!

30th June 2014, 04:44 AM |#1  
TRusselo's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Flag Edmonton
Thanks Meter: 2,816
 
Donate to Me
More
Just a WARNING to any telus users of the S4.

There are NO real stock firmware files if you ever wanted/needed Telus stock firmware.

www.sammobile.com
and
www.samsung-updates.com

both *show* stock firmware for Telus, but all files I have downloaded are actually BELL firmware.

upon further inspection, the *bell* firmware and *telus* stock odin files on those sites share the same file size and md5.

Just incase some noob who has never used either phone asks.... NO THEY DONT RUN THE SAME STOCK FIRMWARE.

I have confirmed this issue with samsung-updates.com, and it is an error on SAMSUNG's server side, or an error by the carrier??

I have confirmed that this is an issue for all 3 stock firmwares for the telus S4:
I337MVLUFNE1 4.4.2
I337MVLUFNC1 4.4.2
I337MVLUEMK6 4.3

If any Telus user needs to flash stock for warranty purposes, you are SOL.

If you are a telus user WITH A STOCK phone. Please let us know. We will help you pull a dump file, and we can create a stock firmware image.

thanks for reading
 
 
4th July 2014, 11:03 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Have you tried to change the csc when the bell firmware is loaded?
5th July 2014, 01:10 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
The file's the same for Bell Rogers Telus etc
5th July 2014, 03:50 PM |#4  
TRusselo's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Flag Edmonton
Thanks Meter: 2,816
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiru

Have you tried to change the csc when the bell firmware is loaded?

Flashing the "telus" firmware as a whole from sammobile or samsung updates, includes the necessary CSC files. And CSC files will not affect the pre-installed carrier apps. there is an obvious issue if you have a telus phone with bell applications pre-installed, and no telus applications.

Quote:
Originally Posted by htcplussony

The file's the same for Bell Rogers Telus etc

Rogers is affected by this issue as well? I really hope you are not stating that they are *supposed* to be the same. I will come to your house and slap you.
5th July 2014, 10:01 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRusselo

Flashing the "telus" firmware as a whole from sammobile or samsung updates, includes the necessary CSC files. And CSC files will not affect the pre-installed carrier apps. there is an obvious issue if you have a telus phone with bell applications pre-installed, and no telus applications.

When I changed the csc from Koodo to Rogers... The phone resetted and then I had all the Rogers pre installed software show up. I didn't download the Rogers firmware.
9th October 2014, 09:30 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Richmond, BC
Thanks Meter: 75
 
More
This issue still remains on the latest NI2 firmware I downloaded and loaded yesterday. Only Bell pre-installed apps were loaded on my Telus S4.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes